1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

RiverWorld map

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Custom maps' started by MaisseArsouye, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. MaisseArsouye

    MaisseArsouye gentil petit nuton

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Djiblou
    Hi guys !

    Maybe some people remember I used to make maps for CivIII. After 4 years off-business, I come back with maps for Civ V.

    These maps are about RiverWorld, a SF cycle by Philip Jose Farmer. This is a planet with a single river in a sigle valley, bordered by high mountains and zig-zagging across the whole world. For complete informations, please go to Wikipedia.

    I give you two versions of the map :
    - the "poor" map has quite no ressources, like in the novels.
    - the "random" map has normal random ressources and is easier to play

    Both are 90X59

    I choosed to use coast plots to make the river, so that boats can sail it. And, IMHO, it's closer to the spirit of the novel.

    I hope you'll enjoy it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mango Elephant

    Mango Elephant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,125
    lol that looks like hell to naviagate.
     
  3. wassname

    wassname Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Wow I've been wishing there was a riverworld civ 5 map for a while :).

    When I try to select one of these maps, its say invalid map file tho. Anyone know why this is?
     
  4. wassname

    wassname Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Never mind, it was because I needed to update Civ 5 to the latest version. It's working now!
     
  5. maus

    maus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Kansas
    I was hoping for one of these in Civ4! I played a game on Noble- I turned up the City States to the maximum and set the Civs to 16- there's a lot more land on this map than a usual Standard map, and I probably could have added even more AI civs.

    I like how it changes world exploration and so on, but I have a couple nitpicks-

    There aren't nearly enough luxury resources on the "Random" map. I started three games before starting somewhere within twenty hexes (!) of a luxury. It's a challenge, sure, but it makes expansion difficult without constantly building happiness improvements

    I've read Riverworld, so I know it's supposed to be lots of grassland, but it looks kind of boring in Civ V. Also, there's no fresh water, so no +1 Food boost for freshwater farms- maybe add some little one- or two-hex riverlets every twenty tiles or so on the coast of the main river?

    I like the map, and I hope you keep workin' on it!
     
  6. MaisseArsouye

    MaisseArsouye gentil petit nuton

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Djiblou
    Thanks for comments.

    Actually, the random map should have exactly the same amount of luxury ressources as any other map with the same size. But I could work on a more playable map.
     
  7. maus

    maus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Kansas
    Oh! I figured it out, I think you may have labelled your maps incorrectly. I'd always played the 'random' map, never found many resources besides Wheat, Cow, etc... on a whim, I tried the 'poor' map and started right by some Iron and Wine.

    So, yeah, I think you just need to switch the labels on the two maps.

    EDIT: playing a new game as Inca on the "poor" (actually rich) map with 20 civs and 30 CSes, raging barbarians... still so much land! :goodjob: And plenty of room for Terrace Farms! Started in the Classical Age, and I built Stonehenge, so
    Spoiler :
    it's like Pachacuti woke up amongst 13th-century Incans and Ancient Iceni Britons :lol:
    (minor Riverworld spoiler)
     

Share This Page