1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Road and river movement bug

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by TiitTiitus, Aug 26, 2018.

  1. TiitTiitus

    TiitTiitus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello!

    I have a road movement bug with Test of Time where units treat roads and rivers as railroads (unlimited movement). I have the TOTPP patch and the official Test of Time English patch downloaded. Can anybody offer their assistance? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. JPetroski

    JPetroski Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,979
    Hi TiitTiitus,

    This is from @tootall_2012 's guide to ToTPP.

    Basically if you go into your rules and either change @COSMIC2 (if it exists) or create it to say the following, it should clear this up for you:

    MovementMultipliers, 1
    RailroadMultiplier, -1
    RoadMultiplier, 1, 3
    RiverMultiplier, 1, 3
    AlpineMultiplier, 1, 3

    Movement multipliers: Allows configuration of the cost of movement along railroads, roads and rivers as well as the movement cost for units with the alpine flag..
    These multipliers are configured using the @COSMIC2 keys 'RailroadMultiplier', 'RoadMultiplier', 'RiverMultiplier' and 'AlpineMultiplier' and can be enabled individually.They take 2 values, the first needs to be set to 1 to enable the multiplier, while the second value determines the movement cost. E.g. setting 'RailroadMultiplier' to 1, 6 means a unit can move 6 tiles along a railroad for 1 movement point. Setting the movement value to 0 means the movement cost of the underlying terrain is used, setting it to -1 means movement is unlimited.
    In game, all enabled movement multipliers are combined into an aggregate movement multiplier (exactly their least common multiple). This number multiplied by the movement rate from @UNITS must be less than 256 for each unit. You'll get a friendly warning when this limit is exceeded.
    Note: the key 'MovementMultipliers' used in previous versions is now deprecated, but the patch still respects it, so scenarios with the old configuration will still work.
     
  3. TiitTiitus

    TiitTiitus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I've added @COSMIC2 with the multipliers to my Rules.txt but road movement is still unlimited. I have the latest TOTPP patch and I'm running it in Windows XP Service Pack 3 mode.
     
  4. JPetroski

    JPetroski Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,979
    Hmm. When you first load up ToTPP, do you have all the options checked? I think there is one for the multiplier. Try unchecking it and seeing what happens and then rechecking it.

    Are you encountering the bug in a scenario build or the regular game?
     
  5. TiitTiitus

    TiitTiitus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    I unchecked the RoadMultiplier modifier and the game works fine now. Thank you!
     
  6. deeves

    deeves Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    This seems to be a bug introduced in the latest @TheNamelessOne ToTPP v0.15.1. Roads don't incur movement cost when "movement multipliers" option is enabled. This bug doesn't happen in v0.14.x or v0.15.0.
     
  7. avien

    avien Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I had to do this as well. At first I thought it was something special about ToT, since I've only played MGE. You can exploit it bigtime though, since explorers and alpine troops get infinite movement. Also I could use enemy roads as railroads which I also exploited, thinking it was meant to be that way (before I discovered infinite movement). Feels a bit bad in retrospect :)
     

Share This Page