1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Roads? Where we're going, we don't need... roads.

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Theov, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Hi.
    I was tired of building roads everywhere just to add the +1 commerce.
    I also think it makes every empire look the same, as it's just a spiderweb of roads and rails.

    "Why don't all tiles have one more commerce to begin with" I thought "...and make roads solely for faster travel and for trade networks." Still a vital part of the empire. Defending the roads that connect now becomes a part of the strategy.

    With workers being less important, I think a large part of the edge that the human player has over the AI goes away. And I think it makes Republic a bit less effective also. I think this balances the game really well and want to try it out.

    So... I tried to edit it in the editor (just +1 commerce for every terrain that would have +1 if it would have a road; take away the commerce bonus of a road), but I ended up with workers that couldn't build roads at all. :confused:

    It can't be that hard to do, but I don't see it.

    Does anyone know how to do this??
     
  2. Fortis1

    Fortis1 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sukhum, Abkhazia
    As far as I know, if terraform bonus from improvement is set to 0 for certain terrain, then you cannot build this improvment on this type of terrain at all.
     
  3. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Gender:
    Male
    Theov, the setting in the editor if a terrain holds commerce or if it doesn´t, is crucial for the ability if that terrain can carry a road or if it does not.

    The first I know who described how to handle the question if a sort of terrain can hold a road was Ozymandias -who today has birthday- in his famous thread FUBAR Editor Documentation :

    Assigning a “Road/Commerce” value of “0" means that a road cannot be built in that tile type - and especially note that the regular and LM terrains can have different values!

    So a setting to remove the ability of holding a road from a type of terrain and adding plus 1 commerce to that terrain isn´t possible, as you must set the commerce for that terrain to zero to forbid the option that this terrain can hold a road.

    Such a setting in my eyes isn´t useful for Civ 3 games with random maps, but it can be very useful to use these settings for fixed maps that in this way can be "programmed" to have special city graphics by using a version of the "Industrial Sprawl"-graphics you can find in the Civ3PTW\Scenarios-folder. To diferentiate between normal terrain that can hold roads and landmark-terrain that isn´t able to hold roads (or the other way around) can also be very useful to install "microzones" in that fixed map, allowing certain cities or regions to produce special units or buildings by only allowing these cities to have Access to certain combinations of strategic/luxury resources. I did such a map for SOE (Storm over Europe).

    Spoiler :


     
  4. Gray Wolf

    Gray Wolf Winter Wolf

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Ravenswood
    Civinator,

    Is the "HQ" an example of what you called the 6th culture group?
     
  5. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,286
    Gender:
    Male
    No, the HQ (=Headquarter) is one of the special startegic resources of SOE (allowing to construct different Special Units in the microzones. In the Stalingrad-screenshot the zone inside the blue lines is a microzone.
     
  6. Gray Wolf

    Gray Wolf Winter Wolf

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    Ravenswood
    Wow, that's sort of cool. It's a resource but doesn't look like a resource... pretty smart.
     

Share This Page