1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Roadspam

Discussion in 'Civ - Ideas & Suggestions' started by Underseer, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. Underseer

    Underseer King

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    OK, first let me say that I very much appreciate that I no longer have to mess around with laying roads myself. That does indeed reduce tedium.

    However, letting a brainless bot decide where to put the roads can have some pretty hilarious consequences. Sorry for not taking a screenshot, but I'm sure you've all seen it by now: roads everywhere, all looking like the scribbling of a crazed toddler on a sugar high.

    Makes me smile every time.
     
  2. blasto

    blasto Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    I appreciate the autolaying of the traders but I think removing the option to manually lay a road if you wanted to is an oversight. There are times I want/need a road that isn't specifically just for city connecting and now you can't do it.
     
  3. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    England
    You can, with military engineers.

    But I do agree that traders taking the straight line approach is messy. They should take the quickest route (fewest movement points), taking into account existing roads. This is specially a problem now that you can use roads in enemy territory and that Cavalry ignore ZoC. Lets fast late game units run absolutely amock
     
    ilker likes this.
  4. blasto

    blasto Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Ah, I missed that, thanks.
     
  5. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,668
    Right, good joke they made with that one. First off, you need to build the encampment and buildings to even build the engineer, then it costs a ****-load of production to actually build the engineer, and then he only has two charges. lolwut?

    I think the auto-roads was a good idea on paper, but it works horribly in actuality. Road spaghetti is horrible, and somehow still manages to actually not put the road where you want it. Plus the fact that you need to occupy all your traders with crap trade-routs just because you want the roads is completely counterproductive to the gameplay. And don't get me started on the roads-autoupgrade-within-but-not-outside your territory.

    For this feature to work, what we need is some sort of trade route planner. Instead of the trade route going from A to B, I should be able to connect a certain number of cities with the total distance being limited by era. So if route has a maximum distance of 40 hexes or whatever, I should be able to say: Start in A, go to B, then go to C, and end in D. Outcome of traderoute should increase with number of cities it passes through.
     
    Chinese American likes this.
  6. zagosya

    zagosya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    wait, they don't? what?
     
  7. kaspergm

    kaspergm Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,668
    When you enter a new era, roads within your own territory will upgrade automatically, while roads outside your territory (in neutral lands) won't upgrade. This means you'll have to re-trace the road if you want to avoid patches of older roads along your newer roads.
     
    zagosya likes this.
  8. blasto

    blasto Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    There isn't a maintenance cost anymore right? That was my main complaint before when automated workers went crazy with roads.
     
  9. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,318
    Nothing like siege towers attached to cavalry and tanks amirite :p?
     
  10. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,471
    What's wrong with lots of roads? I think there should be a lot more road spaghetti. That's what the world looks like, you know.

    Getting full movement bonus from roads in enemy territory is a bit questionable though.
     
    Chinese American likes this.
  11. Xur

    Xur Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    I'm all for realism when it makes sense, but killing off road-spaghetti was the best thing about civ5 in my opinion. I'd be happy to see traderoutes prioritising existing roads a bit better. I like my roads neat... I'm weird like that.
     
  12. Chinese American

    Chinese American Hamtastic Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Chinatown, USA
    yep seeing all the roads everywhere makes the map look a lot more impressive and reflects the majestic progress of your civ. the detriment of Civ 5 keeps removing immersion and grandeur of your empire
     
  13. ilker

    ilker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
  14. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    10,812
    What gets me is roads will happily choose to go through a city state I am not allied with. The road is great for my trader but my still is hard to reach to defend quick over those hills and rivers for my pointed stick chaps.

    I live near heathrow in the UK, do you know how many roads there are?
     
    Underseer likes this.
  15. Underseer

    Underseer King

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Yeah, that can be annoying.
     

Share This Page