1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MODCOMP] Rockdrums2RocknRoll Soundtrack overhaul mod

Discussion in 'C2C mod mods' started by Sword_Of_Geddon, Mar 28, 2018.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,554
    Location:
    Poland
    @Toffer90 @MattCA apparently python fails when there is too many songs in Assets\Sounds\soundtrack
    It worked before...
    Code:
    File:        d:\modstuff\caveman2cosmos_git\sources\CvPython.h
    Line:        327
    Expression:  bOK
    ====================================================================
    MESSAGE:
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CvEventInterface.onEvent
    ====================================================================
    PYTHON CALLSTACK:
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    <string>.py (10): write
    ====================================================================
    DLL CALLSTACK:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    git\sources\cvpython.h (327): Cy::call<bool>
    git\sources\cvdllpythonevents.cpp (318): postEvent
    git\sources\cvdllpythonevents.cpp (453): CvDllPythonEvents::reportWindowActivation
    7C3416B8 (MSVCR71): (filename not available): _crtLCMapStringA
    2C245C89 (module-name not available): (filename not available): (function-name not available)
    So it seems like its code refactoring bug.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2020
  2. MattCA

    MattCA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    From the beginning of the call stack:

    cvdllpythonevents.cpp and cvpython.h havn't been touched since bill. That's the start of the call stack anyways. It's working ok at that point. One thing bill did to those files was to add the python call stack to FAssert. Very helpful.


    7C3416B8 (MSVCR71): (filename not available): _crtLCMapStringA
    I think MSVCR71 is a precompiled library for the dll which means we can't mess around with that code.

    2C245C89 (module-name not available): (filename not available): (function-name not available)
    No idea what that is obviously, but it must be something we don't have the source files for.

    <string>.py is a python library module. You can find it in your civ4 folder -> assets -> Python -> System
    I just took a look and only half of it is readable to me but it does say this. No idea what it means.

    Warning: most of the code you see here isn't normally used nowadays.
    Beginning with Python 1.6, many of these functions are implemented as
    methods on the standard string object. They used to be implemented by
    a built-in module called strop, but strop is now obsolete itself.

    I've also never seen any code for loading music. I assume it's not in the dll or python.
    The only thing I know how to modify are cvdllpythonevents.cpp and cvpython.h but that's not the broken part.

    Maybe Alberts2 can help you. That or try cantacting the library providers for info. Microsoft for MSVCR71.
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,554
    Location:
    Poland
    Problem is that suddenly there are multiple failures, that end up with with interface not loading.
    As if something started to fail after @billw2015 changes.
    It loads fine if you delete any 15 music files (it loaded fine without deleting any files before).
    Maybe @alberts2 can look where it fails?
    It seems to be Windows 7 bug.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2020
  4. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    The modmod works fine for me on windows 10, so you're probably right in that it is a windows compatibility issue we are seeing here.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,554
    Location:
    Poland
    It appears it's Windows 7 bug.
    You need to enable Windows Vista compatibility, I added warning to my first post.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2020
  6. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm using Windows 10, and when I changed the compatibility settings the picture of the booting window stays around and blocks everything underneath.
    Startup Problem.png
    Edit: And the UI is still broken when I start a game.
     
  7. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    Don't use compatibility mode for BtS if you have windows 10.

    Your issue is something else, very likely something wrong with your BtS, C2C or modmod install.

    Do you have BtS from CD, steam, or gog?
    Are you using v40.1 or SVN, if SVN what revision number?
    What's the full folder path to your C2C installation?
     
  8. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I have BtS from steam, using the beta original release.
    SNV Revision 11171
    D:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos
     
  9. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    Ok, nothing wrong with your path.
    Perhaps you need to reinstall BtS on steam, or do a "verify file integrity check" on it. (full BtS reinstall should be the last thing you try when all else fails.)
    Been long since you did an SVN clean up command on your local SVN repository? (this command would delete any and all modmods or personal changes if you have that in there)

    How did you install this modmod, did you fetch the big rar file from the opening post and the small patch provided by raxo some posts after the opening post?
     
  10. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I keep a separate folder for the SVN repository, and then delete and paste a fresh copy when I update. Doing the cleanup command changed nothing.
    The big rar file with the mp3s I downloaded on the 1st of March, and the small patch with the xml files I downloaded yesterday.
     
  11. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Startup Problem 2.png There still appears to be a problem with starting a new game in that the starting paragraph window doesn't appear, the music doesn't play, and other errors popping up, but the game appears to be playable now on SVN Revision 11172 with the modmod installed.
     
  12. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    Try setting your Civ4BeyondSword.exe file to "run as administrator". The error message in your screenshot is often seen when the game has trouble writing the BUG settings to ini files due to OS permission levels.
    right click the file, select properties and see under the compatibility tab.
     
  13. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I set the run as admin on and I'm still getting the errors.
    Also WorldBuilder's broken. Worldbuilder Problem.png
     
  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    I would need to see some logs to debug your issue further.
    You can turn on python logging in "\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CivilizationIV.ini"
    loggingenabled = 1
    hidepythonexceptions = 0

    That way you can help us in helping you.
    The error log of interest is: \Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs\PythonErr.log

    PythonDbg.log can sometimes be of interest, PythonErr2.log is pretty much never helpful.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2020
  15. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm getting an error trying to upload the log file. It says that extension isn't allowed.
     
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    rename it to .txt or zip it with 7z.
     
  17. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Here is the file.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    Do you have two CvWorldBuilderScreen.py files?
    One in ...\Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Python\Screens
    And another in ...\Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Python\Screens\Worldbuilder

    Delete the one in ...\Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Python\Screens

    Question:
    Are you sure you deleted all files in "\Civilization IV Complete\Civ4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos" before copying the mod from your SVN repository folder?
    Are you sure you also did this after you did an SVN clean up command (with all boxes checked)?

    The log indicate something is wrong with your installation of C2C itself.
    That you have an old file that shouldn't be there which is overwriting the new one.

    Edit: The UserSettings folder is fine not to delete between versions (most of the time).
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2020
  19. Brinderan

    Brinderan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    There was only on CVWorldbuilderScreen.py file.
    I make sure to delete everything.
    I did a fresh install after doing a clean up command with everything checked.
    I get zero errors without the modmod installed, and the errors appeared again with the modmod Installed.
     
  20. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Location:
    Norway
    That is weird, this modmod doesn't have python modifications does it?
    Are you using any other modmods with python modifications?
    Do you have any files in "...\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\MODS" ?
    It should be empty.
     

Share This Page