1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RoM Latest Version

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. JaeChunDaeSung

    JaeChunDaeSung Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Korea
    Makes sense. The Planned, Socialist (Ideology), and Marxist civics do seem to best represent economic and social aspects of Communism are still present, but I suppose even the government civic is up for further interpretation.

    Maybe this'd be interesting discussion elsewhere...
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,955
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    mae culpa, I forgot that 2.91 came out as a full download. So lets just go back to basics to remove any confusion I may have caused.

    1. Install RoM 2.91 - clean instal do not install it over another version of RoM.
    ---- It should end up in the mods folder of the "program files/Firaxis Games/Sid Meier's Civilization 4/beyond the sword folder" (may vary slightly depending on how you bought civ)
    ---- the folder must be called Rise of Mankind.

    2. install AND over the clean 2.91. Having a previous version of AND installed only works when installing AND patches.
     
  3. WhimpyCiv

    WhimpyCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    OK, I'll try this again.

    Right. I moved 2.9 to a folder called 'Rise of Mankind 2.9," and I do still have an even older version of RoM in a folder called "OldRoM." To the best of my knowledge, I am using the file downloaded from the first post in this thread, probably a few weeks ago.

    The file is "RiseOfMankind2.91.rar." I use a recent version of 7Zip (downloaded on 4/29/2010) to try to unpack it. I extract it to "C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\." I get a 7Zip diagnostic message which says: "Data error in 'Rise of Mankind\Assets\RoMPak0.FPK'. File is broken."

    I try to proceed anyhow. I start up Civ4, go to 'Load a Mod' and choose Rise of Mankind. I get xml errors, starting with:

    "Failed Loading XML file modules\MLF_CIV4ModularLoadingControls.xml."
    "Failed Loading XML file res\Fonts\GameFont_GlobalDefines.xml."
    "LoadXML call failed for res\Fonts\GameFont_GlobalDefines.xml, Current XML file is: xml\PythonCallbackDefines.xml"

    Followed by several others and finally the "...must close..." message.

    Should I try installing AND even though the install of RoM doesn't seem to have worked?

    Thanks for your help. As I said, I would really like to get this latest version installed just to be up-to-date.

    -- WC
     
  4. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,955
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It looks something went wrong when you were downloading 2.91. I would try again.

    Edit: I am trying to download it also as a second check. It is estimated it will take over 1.5 hours! The wonders of broadband!
     
  5. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31,307
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    The game will not start correctly unless your mod folder is called Rise of Mankind and nothing else.
     
  6. WhimpyCiv

    WhimpyCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I beg to differ. I am starting, saving, playing, etc., games with a mod folder titled "Rise of Mankind 2.9" with no problems. I'm quite happy with that version, but want to get it updated so that I encounter no extraneous bugs.

    -- WC
     
  7. WhimpyCiv

    WhimpyCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I am trying that as we 'speak.'

    It is taking quite a long time, but if it works it will be worth it. I will update when it finishes.

    -- WC

    EDIT: OK, downloaded fine. Installing ... installed without error. Applying AND ... no problems. Starting program .. started with no errors. I think I need to go change my pants. :p
     
  8. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Here are update notes for v2.92

    Version 2.92
    --------------

    Mods
    ----
    - Updated: RevDCM 2.721
    - Updated: RevDCM SVN (unreleased 2.8WIP)
    - Updated: Better BtS AI 1.01b
    - Updated: Unofficial patch 1.50+
    - Updated: BULL 1.1 [Build 164]



    Modules
    -------
    - Updated: Vincentz Infinite Projects vanilla patch
    - Updated: many leaderhead buttons
    - Updated: all leader modules' GameInfoSchema and CivilizationSchema files
    - Updated: all modular leaders have now Inquisition memorys
    - Updated: all modular leaders have now BBAI victory strategies
    - Added: Vincentz' Guilds (15 new medieval "corporations")
    - Added: Vincentz' Corporations (6 new)
    - Removed: Industry improvement modules
    - Disabled: Realistic Diplomacy


    Game Defines
    ------------
    - Changed: TECH_COST_FIRST_KNOWN_PREREQ_MODIFIER 8->15 (research is faster for all civs, timeline was bit off)
    - Changed: TECH_COST_KNOWN_PREREQ_MODIFIER 8->15 (research is faster for all civs, timeline was bit off)
    - Changed: BBAI_HUMAN_AS_VASSAL_OPTION to 1, human player can become a vassal of AI player
    - Changed: DCM_BATTLE_EFFECTS to 1 ie. Battle Effects are enabled



    Translations
    ------------
    - Updated: Spanish translation
    - Updated: French translation
    - Updated: German translation


    PythonCallbacks
    ---------------
    - Disabled: USE_IS_VICTORY_CALLBACK (no longer needed)
    - Disabled: onGameUpdate function no longer calls OOSLogger (wasn't working properly and caused OOSes?)


    PlotLSystem
    -----------
    - Fixed: an_Meso_America.nif problem which caused CTDs


    Techs
    -----
    - Fixed: Stone Tools sound for quote
    - Fixed: Mining sound for quote removed (didn't match the quote text)
    - Changed: Calendar no longer center map
    - Changed: Cartography centers map


    Promotions
    ----------
    Following changes should prevent infinite loop problem with some units that were able to get over 100% withdraw chance. Also solves the problem where cavalry units weren't able to get any new promotions

    - Changed: Guerrilla III no longer gives withdraw bonus
    - Changed: Flanking I withdraw chance 15% -> 10%
    - Changed: Flanking II withdraw chance 20% -> 15%
    - Changed: Flanking III withdraw chance 25% -> 15%
    - Changed: Tactics withdraw chance 30% -> 20%
    - Changed: Holy Trinity withdraw chance 20% -> 0
    - Changed: Pharaoh's Propaganda withdraw chance 30% -> 0
    - Changed: Stealth I withdraw chance 10% -> 0
    - Changed: Stealth II withdraw chance 20% -> 0
    - Changed: Stealth III withdraw chance 30% -> 0
    - Changed: Navigation II no longer doubles movement on ocean and coast plots, instead gives +1 movement
    - Changed: Trench I-III buttons
    - Changed: removed all referencies to Battle terrain features


    Units
    -----
    - Changed: Elephant Rider gets +15% attack bonus in forest and jungle
    - Changed: War elephant gets +25% attack bonus in forest and jungle
    - Changed: ACV button
    - Changed: ACV SAM button
    - Changed: Trade Caravan belongs now to Recon unitcombat group (prevents saved games from getting corrupted, possibly fixes rare CTD issues), graphics and button updated
    - Changed: Freight belongs now to Recon unitcombat group (prevents saved games from getting corrupted, possibly fixes rare CTD issues)
    - Changed: Galley can not enter ocean plots
    - Changed: War Galley can not enter ocean plots
    - Changed: Trireme can not enter ocean plots
    - Changed: Siege quinquereme can not enter ocean plots
    - Changed: V1 button
    - Changed: Precision Attack missile button
    - Changed: Guided Missile button
    - Changed: Stiletto boat button
    - Changed: Galley button
    - Changed: T95 button
    - Changed: Biological Warfare Missile button
    - Changed: EMP SAM Infantry button
    - Changed: Halftrack button
    - Changed: Light AA button
    - Changed: Modern Marine button
    - Changed: Paratrooper button
    - Changed: Dragoon button
    - Changed: Foreign Legion button
    - Changed: Navy Seal button
    - Changed: Seaplane Tender button
    - Changed: Spitfire button
    - Changed: JA37 button
    - Changed: T34 button
    - Changed: FW190a button
    - Changed: Hybrid Gunship button
    - Changed: Viking Longboat button
    - Changed: Javelineer button, bonus vs. mounted removed
    - Changed: French marine button
    - Fixed: Redcout combat bonuses vs. archer, melee etc. removed
    - Fixed: Motorcycle no longer has UNITAIs for ATTACK and ATTACK_CITY since the unit is defensive only
    - Fixed: Mi26 no longer has UNITAI ATTACK since the unit is defensive only


    Terrain
    -------
    - Changed: Coast gold yield changed from 2 to 1 (because Lighthouse adds gold for all sea plots)

    Terrain features
    ----------------
    - Changed: All Battle features removed (handled with different method now)
    - Changed: Flood plains food bonus now +1 and +1 from river instead of +3


    Buildingclasses
    ---------------
    - Changed: Ascension Gate now uses Victory threshold VICTORY_SCIENTIFIC (allows the removal of some python checks -> speed optimization)


    Buildings
    ---------
    - Changed: Coal Plant button
    - Changed: Healer's hut button
    - Changed: Shopping District button
    - Changed: Arena button
    - Changed: Design Studio button + graphics
    - Changed: Artesian Well button
    - Changed: Commercial Port button
    - Changed: International Port button
    - Changed: Oil Plant button
    - Changed: Bath House graphics + ethnic variations
    - Changed: Aqueduct texture
    - Changed: Foundry graphics + button
    - Changed: Glassmith graphics + button
    - Changed: Steelmill graphics
    - Changed: Riverport button + graphics
    - Changed: Cannery graphics + button
    - Changed: Museum graphics + button


    National Wonders
    ----------------
    - Changed: Modern Art Theatre button
    - Changed: Labor Union button
    - Changed: Brewery button
    - Changed: National TV Station button
    - Changed: Radio Telescope button
    - Changed: Fertilizer plant graphics + button
    - Changed: Android Factory graphics + button


    Great Wonders
    -------------
    - Changed: World News Network button
    - Changed: Copernicus' Observatory button
    - Changed: Himeji Castle button
    - Changed: Petra button

    Projects
    --------
    - Changed: ITER button


    Python
    ------
    - Disabled: RoMEventManger.py code blocks for Scientific Victory (check already in xml)
    - Disabled: RoMGameUtils.py code blocks for Scientific Victory (check already in xml)


    City Specialists
    ----------------
    - Changed: Android button
    - Changed: Celebrity button
    - Changed: Noble button
    - Changed: Slave button

    Improvements
    ------------
    - Changed: Shaft mine button, -1 Food when discover Explosives, moved to Explosives
    - Changed: Modern Mine button, starts with -1 food penalty
    - Changed: Groundwater well button
    - Changed: Treefarm button
    - Changed: Lumbermill gets +1 gold instead of +1 hammer from Mass Transit, and +1 hammer and +1 gold instead of +2 from Environmental Economics
    - Changed: Workshop gets +1 gold instead of +2 from DNA computing
    - Changed: Farm gets -1 hammer penalty from Machine Tools and -1 hammer penalty from Genemanipulation (specializes to food production)
    - Changed: Mine -1 Food when discover Explosives
    - Fixed: Vertical Farm shadows no longer blink

    Resources
    ---------
    - Changed: Sulphur gets -2 food penalty on the plot

    Gametext
    --------
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/AIAutoPlay_CIV4GameText.xml
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/BUGOptions_RevDCMGameText.xml
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/BUGOptions_RoMGameText.xml
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/BarbarianCiv_CIV4GameText.xml
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/RevUtils_CIV4GameText.xml
    - Fixed: encoding format Assets/XML/Text/RevolutionScreenText_CIV4GameText.xml

    Leaders
    -------
    - Changed: new Better BtS AI victory thresholds added to all leaders

    Civics
    ------
    - Changed: fRevIdxDistanceModifier to iRevIdxDistanceModifier and edited all used float values to integer values

    Build
    -----
    - Changed: removed all Battle feature modifiers

    Mapscripts
    ----------
    - Renamed: Full of resources script so that it isn't the default script when creating custom game

    Game settings
    -------------
    - Changed: Revolutions off by default due to known issues - defect and join rebel options during revolution will cause freeze/crash/bugs. Will be enabled again for v2.93
     
  9. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  10. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
  11. biship

    biship Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    nm, found the .torrent file in another post. Thanks for the update :)
     
  12. JaeChunDaeSung

    JaeChunDaeSung Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Korea
    When I attempt to download 2.92, I get this error message

    "Firefox doesn't know how to open this address, because the protocol (magnet) isn't associated with any program"

    I just downloaded BitTorrent, but I'm still nowhere, am I missing something?
     
  13. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    @JaeChunDaeSung

    utorrent and Vuze (former Azureus) clients do open magnet links when you click them in Firefox. I haven't used BitTorrent client because those others are better.

    You can get the regular .torrent file from this post. It should work on any torrent client.
     
  14. Foby

    Foby Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Please, tell me, where I can get 2.92 MEGA pack version?
    P.S. I am newbie in this community.
     
  15. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    There is no mega pack version, Zappara hasn't finished it yet.
     
  16. Foby

    Foby Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thx. I just thought that i have some problems with eyes)
     
  17. Stewie0416

    Stewie0416 Who Cares?

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    USA
    Hey, sorry about a little bit of necro but my interface keeps getting cluttered up with:
    BugOptions failed writing INI file .../Rise of Mankind/Strategy Overlay &

    BugOptions failed writing INI file .../Rise of Mankind/BUG Main Interface
    It was posted before but nobody could offer a solution. The Mod is playable but it takes up a large portion of my screen and is very annoying.
     
  18. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    You need to run the game as administrator.
     
  19. Caldon

    Caldon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Can anyone help. Just tried to download the latest version 2.92, it opens up limewire but then I get an error that says "invalid magnet option".

    Thanks.

    Edit - N/m, found the link in another post above, reading ftw.
     
  20. Tony.Uk

    Tony.Uk TonyUK

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
    Webpage cannot be found, yet the 2.91 link works OK. Can you fix this please.
     

Share This Page