1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RR6 - I am Legend

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Succession Games' started by r_rolo1, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    They have to be close enough for a city to spread culture for the spread culture mission to be available anyways, I believe.
     
  2. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    You need to have atleast 1 culture point in the city to be able to spread culture in that city via espionage, that is true :( The good news is that this includes culture from espionage missions in other cities, if it gets there :D So, in theory, you can bridge to the core cities of a enemy empire using the espionage culture spread in other cities ;)

    But i have to reckon that settling fast against a AI capitol might be a good way to go as well ;)

    I'll generate a start tonight with Giglamesh of the Sumerians, Monarch/Pangea/Standart/Normal. With some luck we may get Gandhi as neighbour :D
     
  3. Thy_Spellcraft

    Thy_Spellcraft King

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ludwigsburg, Germany
  4. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Added pics and starting save to the opening post...

    Though call on moving or not...
     
  5. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    18,037
    Well how about moving the warrior SE first to see if anything interesting shows up...

    1S is tempting to be on the river.
     
  6. Thy_Spellcraft

    Thy_Spellcraft King

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ludwigsburg, Germany
    Exactly what I was going to suggest! On the other hand: We'll need a lot of early production (agressive settling --> at least two settlers before GW, GW itself and as this is not a no barb game we'll need some military as well..) so the additional hammer from our starting spot would come in very handy.
     
  7. nocho

    nocho Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,861
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Yeah, move warrior 1SE first. However, I'd probably settle in place anyway, the extra hammer is nice and given the scarcity of resources, surely we must have metal or horses, possibly both. I'd hate to lose them by moving our settler.
     
  8. Ad Hoc

    Ad Hoc Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Norwich , England
    definately move the warrior SE, from the start iron, copper or horses in the BFC seem almost a given.
     
  9. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Moved the warrior SE .....
    Spoiler :

    Good to know we have more food in the area, but the question is pretty much the same: settle on spot or move south?
     
  10. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,059
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    my 2c (for what it is worth) ... This city is (relatively) hammer poor and moving South means losing a plains hill in the North, gain a plains hill (the tile you move from) but you lose the 2 hammers in your city tile.

    I would settle on the spot, get the boost from the plains hill city tile and make this a cottage capital.
     
  11. Thy_Spellcraft

    Thy_Spellcraft King

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ludwigsburg, Germany
  12. nocho

    nocho Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,861
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Yeah, in place, always like settling on plain hills. Agree with worker and Thy's proposed tech path. Do we want to try for the GW? Then probably masonry after BW.
     
  13. Tatran

    Tatran Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    4,184
    Lurker's comment :
    Settling on the plains hills won't allow building a levee, unless you're playing the Dutch.
     
  14. LKendter

    LKendter Exterminate, exterminate, exterminate!!! Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    18,037
    This is part of why I wanted a debated to go 1S.
     
  15. Thy_Spellcraft

    Thy_Spellcraft King

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ludwigsburg, Germany
  16. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Well, on spot and 1 S are not that diferent in terms of land barring some resource we can't see now. Setting on spot has definitely some plus and minus. I can definitely live with a riverless capital, but it always gives me shivers to settle both on a forested tile and in a plains hilll ( unless I'm in sore need of early hammers ) and settling on spot fits both :(

    To say the truth , the 2 options are pretty much the same... I would probably prefer to settle on the river, but just because it would assure easier acess and a higher :health: cap. But it is definitely a short bonus :p
     
  17. Thy_Spellcraft

    Thy_Spellcraft King

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ludwigsburg, Germany
    I'm not sure of we really get extra :health: from a river.. As far as I know it would be enough to have access to freshwater. And because of the lake north of our starting spot we have..
     
  18. Ad Hoc

    Ad Hoc Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Norwich , England
    i'd think i'd go one south, i like being on a river for early connecting of resources
     
  19. nocho

    nocho Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,861
    Location:
    Barcelona
    I'd throw up a dice and let fate decide. :)

    I still have a slight preference for in place, because of the extra hammer that gets our worker out sooner. And because of not running the risk of losing those hidden resources we expect to see pop up. With 1 road built we are connected to the river, trade wise. And we start with wheel IIRC.

    But well, moving 1S won't kill the game either. Nor does staying in place. Hence the dice!
     
  20. Nares

    Nares Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Lurker's Comment
    There's a riverside grassland hill hiding in the fog south of the one which is visible.

    Just thought I'd kick the hornets nest.
     

Share This Page