Russian language questions

NovaKart

شێری گەورە
I started studying Russian again since I'm in Baku and I have some questions. Hope that anyone else studying or wanting to comment can use the thread too.

First of all - apparently there's 3 different words for jacket -

жакет, пиджак, куртка. What's the difference?

Does кроссовки mean tennis shoes and туфли mean dress shoes?

If you want to use the genitive case like Anna's house, Mikheil's house you say дом Анны , дом михаила right? But what if there's a female name that doesn't end in A or a male name that ends in A, such as a foreign name? What's the rule then?

Any advice?

Thanks

I started studying Russian again since I'm in Baku and I have some questions. Hope that anyone else studying or wanting to comment can use the thread too.

AFAIK, the first would be e.g. upper part of a female business suit, second is the same for men and the third is something you would wear when you go to skiing.
Yes, jogging shoes vs slippers.

жакет, пиджак, куртка

generic, blazer, winter jacket

кроссовки, туфли

generic/sneakers, sandals

I'm pretty awful with grammar but I'm pretty sure that male names which end in 'a' (e.g. Sasha) retain the 'a'; "Дом Саша", but I have no idea about 'a' less female names.

I see, so курорт is something you could wear on a cold day but the others are part of a business suit?

And what about туфли? Are they just something you wear formally or at home? I thought тапочки were slippers like for home use.

So what is the name for sandals/slippers, sneakers and ordinary shoes and dress shoes?

Пиджак - usually part of formal business suit, male or female.
Жакет - short female variant.
Куртка - casual clothing (http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Файл:Safari-Jacket.JPG)

Does кроссовки mean tennis shoes
Rather sport shoes.

and туфли mean dress shoes?
Yes, exactly.