1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Safedisc still pathetic.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Heliotic, Jan 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heliotic

    Heliotic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Do I have any options for getting my Civ 4 CD working other than ripping it to an image and using one of the freely available utilities to make it work? (without even cracking the exe).

    I don't want a 700MB image sitting on my disk if I can help it. The publisher site doesn't even contain the rudimentry 'update your CD firmware' stuff on it, just a link to a post 'If CD2 doesn't work, insert CD1'.

    Good games, guys.
     
  2. Carewolf

    Carewolf Gammelt røvhul

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Copenhagen
  3. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
  4. TerraHero

    TerraHero Terranigma Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    718
    if you want to get banned, be my guest. :)
     
  5. Sadan01

    Sadan01 Conical Flask

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    No you can't link to a site - it is against the forum rules to do so. If you are having problems with the CD and specifically, your CD/DVD drive, then I'd suggest to do what Carewolf said. I can't say anymore than that.

    I don't know if this will help but may be worth a go: Safedisk support

    Other than that, make sure you don't have any imaging tools already installed and active on the system. They are the most problematic when it comes to copy protection.
     
  6. Ipggi

    Ipggi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Personly I hate copy protection on my game titles. It it does nothing to stem the tide of piracy, it only punishes the consumers who actually purchase the software and it automatically assumes we are the criminals. It forces people who bought the game to keep the CD/DVDs in the drives everytime they wish to play the game. Not only does this increase the chance of damaging the original disc it is also a big inconvenience.

    It doesnt stop the piracy of the games or even slows it down (just look at any P2P network or shonky market stall). But I guess its probably the publishers who insist on the copy-protection rather then the developers.
     
  7. Ryanstein

    Ryanstein Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia

    Agreed, SafeDisk is pathetic. It takes about 5mins for someone to crack it anyway, and it just an inconvenience to people who spent their hard earned $ to buy it. Hell, considering I had to crack it just to get it to work, I should have just downloaded it. :mad: :mad:

    Bah!

    ~Ryanstein
     
  8. Rodatam

    Rodatam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Curitiba-Pr- BRAZIL
    No, this protections hardly do something against piracy
    there is an easy to find program that just break this protection against burning and emulating cds (daemon tools and etc)
    wont tell the name, but its easy to find....

    How to have less piracy?
    Cd-key guided multiplayer, like CS, battlefield2....
     
  9. BomberEscort

    BomberEscort Don't be alarmed; this is a kindness Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Let me preface this by saying that you must own a copy of the original game, I am not a lawyer, I eat beans on Friday's so you don't want to be around me then. With that said...

    Moderator Action: Do *NOT* post links to warez sites! 3 day ban.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
  10. Dida

    Dida YHWH

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,426
  11. Heliotic

    Heliotic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Well, I don't like to crack exe's as a rule, because once you do you can't play online for many games. (most FPS's like to do this)

    What I ended up doing was flashing the firmware on my DVD reader, which miraculously fixed the problem.

    Sadly I had to devise this fix on my own, as 2K has yet to even -respond- to my initial support email. Perhaps they're too busy wallowing in their huge piles of money to read anything.
     
  12. tezster

    tezster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I think I've run into the same problem... I flashed the firmware of my DVD-writer to the latest version (which was the same drive I used to install the game), and now Safedisc won't recognize the CIV disc.

    I find it just a tad bit ironic that I had to go and grab the cracked .exe in order play a game I bought and paid for.
     
  13. nekom

    nekom Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I couldn't get it to run at all on one of my cd-rom drives. It was a bit of an older one though, old quad speed I beleive. Luckily I always have plenty of spares.
     
  14. Crimso

    Crimso ...aaaaaagh!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    The auto-play starts up fine for me, but I still get a message to insert the disc. So I cracked it.
     
  15. Goblin Fanatic

    Goblin Fanatic Warlord

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    My perfectly original and legit game is cracked because my DVD is rather slow and noisy. It's really not a problem to find a crack for the latest version. I'm guessing the mods of this site could be in trouble for not being overzealous like they are, remember how the 'copyright defenders' approach such manners.
    Oh, and my no-DVD cracked game works normally both single and multi, i also didn't have any problems with my particular drive.
     
  16. guyjr

    guyjr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    NJ
    One idea for these game companies would be to issue an official no-dvd patch a year or two after the game is released. Most (I've heard upwards of 90%) of the sales of a game happen in the first month, so they don't stand to lose much by doing something nice like that a year or two down the road, and stand much to gain by pleasing their customers, who wouldn't have to worry about a lost disc 10 years later when they get nostalgic for the old game or two.
     
  17. steelviper

    steelviper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    I'm doubting the admins would be happy having a reference to that web site, regardless of how "indirect". Not that anybody looking for such a thing wouldn't stumble across that place anyway (as much as it is linked to elsewhere).
     
  18. BeefontheBone

    BeefontheBone Windbag of the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,018
    I believe that's caused by the disc not being in the lowest-lettered drive, but I could be wrong.
     
  19. Karl Townsend

    Karl Townsend Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    429
    the reason why i crack all my games cause i cant trust my dvd drive with my cds

    its cracked over 5 cds
     
  20. JG99_Korab

    JG99_Korab King

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    843
    Location:
    Zielona Gora, Poland
    I didn't have any problem with it but I crack all my games just because I am too lazy to put the cd in.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page