1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

saltwater vs. freshwater lakes

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by shenryyr, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. shenryyr

    shenryyr serval

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    San Francisco
    what qualifies a saltwater and a freshwater lake? is it the number of tiles that make up the lake? is it the number of sea tiles? is it automatically saltwater if a river flows into it? curious, I am.
     
  2. DiamondzAndGunz

    DiamondzAndGunz Lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Chicago
    I think that if a body of water contains any ocean/sea tiles, it is saltwater. If it only has coast, it's freshwater. btw, you can check whether it's salt or fresh by rightclicking and checking whether it produces 2 food. if it does, it's fresh.
     
  3. kring

    kring Asst Cook & Bottle Washer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Location:
    Wichita,KS,USA
    It is number of tiles/squares. 21 or 22 makes it non fresh water IIRC.
     
  4. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    kring is right, any body of water up to 21 tiles will be freshwater. Also, it is possible to have freshwater sea.
     
  5. shenryyr

    shenryyr serval

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I had just finished a game with a freshwater lake that had 3 sea tiles, and then I saw this lake which was just a little bigger all around and it was salt. mm, salt.

    thanks for the info!
     
  6. kring

    kring Asst Cook & Bottle Washer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Location:
    Wichita,KS,USA

Share This Page