1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Save/Load Issues (Length and Crashing)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by PinkHammurabi, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. PinkHammurabi

    PinkHammurabi Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Sewell, NJ (but from Philly!)
    So far I have no problems with the game, save one. Saving and loading take way too long, and sometimes during the loading process the game crashes.

    My computer's specs rocks the socks off of the required/recommended specs and everything else runs fine, so I don't know if it's an issue that needs to be patched or what the deal is.

    Anyone having any similar problems? Potential solutions?
     
  2. pozzumgee

    pozzumgee Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Same issue here. Normally, I can load once fine. If I try to load again later, I get a crash during the loading screen. This occurs right before what I think is the "loading bar" turning into the "begin your journey" button.
     
  3. PinkHammurabi

    PinkHammurabi Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Sewell, NJ (but from Philly!)
    Mine typically crash before it makes it to the Civ Summary page. Sometimes after, but often before that.
     
  4. Maxor127

    Maxor127 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    I crash often while loading a game too. It's probably my biggest issue at the moment. The thing that bothers me about the loading time is that there isn't a progress bar. And I'm surprised they got rid of the tips to read while loading.
     
  5. Ruffin

    Ruffin Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Va., US
    Ditto pozzumgee. Well above specs, updated my video driver, etc. etc. Get a crash my second or third try loading, which is a nuisance. I haven't gotten the hang of the hex map yet so I'm reloading from autosave a lot.

    It's not DEP, at least.
     
  6. Ruffin

    Ruffin Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Va., US
    Weird things here - I have two machines I've been playing on, a pretty good one at work and a brand new one at home. I'm only having this problem on the better one.
    The one it's crashing on:
    Gateway FX6840
    Intel i7 2.80Ghz processor
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    8 GB RAM
    Radeon HD 5770 video card

    The one that runs smooth as silk is a Dell Inspiron desktop with 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 HP, a 2.7GHz Intel processor, and a mid-range graphics card. (Not sitting in front of me, sorry.) The processor is pre- Intel core series.

    Any idea why the higher performance machine is the one locking up and crashing during loads?
     
  7. Chris41336

    Chris41336 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    My game also randomly crashes during loads. It will get to right when it'a about to get off of the loading screen, then i will notice the little globe stop spinning, and then a freeze that I can't even ctrl-alt-delete out of. It only seems to happen the first time I load a game.
     

Share This Page