1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

SBB : storyboard builder

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Utility Programs' started by Steph, Jan 19, 2003.

?

So, how do you find the tool?

Poll closed Feb 18, 2003.
  1. Excellent

    32 vote(s)
    86.5%
  2. Good

    3 vote(s)
    8.1%
  3. Average

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Poor

    2 vote(s)
    5.4%
  1. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I will post in this thread StoryBoard Builder (SBB).
    The name is no longer CIV3_SBB, as I realized it could be used for other games as well.

    Don't forget : this version should work on Windows NT, 2000 and XP. It should not work on Windows 98 (or perhaps with ME).

    I will add the Windows 98 version tomorrow.

    I will also upload the user's manual as a separate file, so you don't need to download it everytime there's an updated version.

    The tool is 272ko (zipped). The manual is 2.8 Mo (zipped).
     
  2. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    The software is here SBB version 1.06 software for windows NT, XP, 2000

    And the user's manual hereSBB User's manual version 1.0

    New "Sandris" version. This is a simplified version of SBB, with less option, but a lot easier to use, and it can work on several units or animations successivelly. Generates dozens of animations for dozens of units in one click! Very nice if you are using a script to render several animations automatically.


    Don't hesitate to give me your feedback, so I can improve the tool and/or the manual

    Changes:

    Version 1.06:
    - Got rid of the one pixel magenta line that appeared left and bottom.
    - Now, it automatically add a 2 pixels wide line to the right side of each frame, with the background color (ie: color of the top left pixel). Yes, it means no more Flicster ghost bug!

    Version 1.04 : For single figure storyboard builder, there is a new check box in the "picture info" area. If you check it BEFORE selecting the source file, SBB looks for bmp with name starting at 0001 instead of 0000.
    The "cossack converter" is for my own use.
    The 4th button in the welcome screen is a specific request from Boulboulgadol.

    Version 1.03: The size factor for munit now has a range of [0,200], so you can increase the size and not only reduce it. Warning : don't forget the max size for Flicster is 240x240.

    Version 1.02: Added a new checkbox in the preview "frame". It shows the actual size of the frame. SBB compute this frame size from the size of the first storyboard , and the number of frames. Don't forget : in the current version, all the storyboards must have the same size and the same number of frames!
    So the green square shows the size of the final frame (in the ouput storyboard). Try to reduce the size to see the impact.
    This will help some of you to understand why your units are cropped.

    Version 1.01: Size reduced so it can fit in a 1024x768 screen. Barely. Sorry, I can't have it fit in a 800x600 screen.
     
  3. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  4. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    It's just that the message has been posted before the upload is finished:D
     
  5. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    Sweden
    Finally :)
     
  6. superunknown

    superunknown Fake Plastic Head

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    in the dark
    How is that manual coming..?


    EDIT: just came up as I posted. :p
     
  7. BeBro

    BeBro King of the Krauts

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,924
    Location:
    Germany
    :goodjob:

    Good to see this version. This tool is really soooo useful, saved me lots of time. Keep up the good work :)
     
  8. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,860
  9. computerdude113

    computerdude113 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    I've been messing around with it for a bit and I have a few suggestions. First can you make scrollbars on the side so I don't have to re-size my screen to see the whole program? Second, can you make it so we can change how large the each frame is? This would really help converting the bmp into the pcx for FLICster. Third, which is mostly wishful thinking, can you possibly combine this with FLICster or a version of FLICster so we can do the whole thing with this program? It would be a lot easier to send a storyboard we made strait to a finished product rather than having to go thru PSP and copy and paste it into an existing storyboard and hope that the frames fit together, ect.
    Thanks, o and by the way I do like this program
     
  10. GIDustin

    GIDustin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Just for ___ and giggles, I downloaded it and ran it on win98, and surprisingly, it worked.

    Steph?!

    GIDustin

    Edit: Ok, the program ran, but the storyboard generated messed up. Guess I have to wait till tomorrow . . .

     
  11. Civanator

    Civanator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Gone
    Edit- nvm, but how do i get the "Generate Multi-Figures unit storyboard to show up and be clicked, cause i can't click it, it is greyed out.
     
  12. computerdude113

    computerdude113 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    650
    That happened to me too, and I still can't figgure out why when I go bk into FLICster when I've put the munits iiin the Alpha-blending doesnt work, or only works onpart of the pic
    Can you make the program export pcx instead of bmp, this might be the problem for that.
    Also, can you make the sotryboard is makes have the "box" around the unit so we can line everything up? And I really must reidorate this, we need to know hwo big the frame is and be able to change it! Besides te fact that I can't make the storyboard work, my poor Raptor's tail and head gets cut off at all directions cept for the South direction!
     
  13. Civanator

    Civanator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Gone
    I can't seem to make the fxm work. everytime i try to view it it says

    "Error, Subscript out of range 9"

    edit- I fixed this by cutting and pasting into another existing storyboard, which is a tedious task at remaking the lines if you cut them off. can you please find a way to fix this?
     
  14. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    1)I can't make a scrollbar, but I've reduced the size a bit. It's no OK for 1024x768.
    2)About the frame size, what do you mean exactly? In the single figure unit or the multi figures? I don't understand what you want.
    3) If I had the source code of FLICSTER, I could try. But I don't have it.
     
  15. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    It seems the size is not correct. How any frames did you use?
     
  16. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    You have to select the output file.
     
  17. GIDustin

    GIDustin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    i was just testing on the Archer and Bowman, in vanilla civ3. Each has 15 frames/direction, but I am not sure about their sizes

    GIDustin
     
  18. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    To solve the alpha blending pb, I know Kryten usually change the palette of the pcx storyboard before using the tool. He uses the apha.pal. Then it's OK.
    I can add the box around the units. I will do it for next version.
    About the frame, you must change it before with FLICSTER. When you export the storyboard, change the size of the frame to something big enough, and be sure all the storyboard are the same size if you want to mix different units.
    I usually use a 200x150 frame. Don't forget you need room to put all these units.
     
  19. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    This is because the generate dbmp is a true color bmp. You need to apply the 256 color palette to your pcx storyboard before opening it into FLICSTER, or your get this error message in FLICSTER.
     
  20. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,160
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Another explanation : in CIV 3, the archer is 104x64 pixels, the bowman is 122x91 pixels. When you generate the storyboard with FLICSTER, you ust change the size of the frame so:
    - It is the same for every animation.
    - It is big enough to accomodate every figure.

    Try exporting both storyboard with a 150x120 pixels (at least if you want to fit 6 units).
     

Share This Page