1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SCENARIO: Age of Imperialism; 1895-1924, Deluxe Version

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by El Justo, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. BEERPACK

    BEERPACK General Chaos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    @First, are you joking about liking the brown railroads? I assume since you put ugly in there. I don't think anyone likes that color.
     
  2. rickyson1

    rickyson1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Michigan
    nice el justo,really looking forward to the new version coming out:)


    update on my boers game:



    now at the start of 1915

    since my last post ive taken in a few wars against the germans and austrians in europe: nancy and lyons(the two french citys the germans had),5 of germanys original citys(strassberg,dusseldorf,munchen,dresden,breslau),all of austria-hungarys original citys except two(triest,prag,wien,troppau,krakau)

    also took milan and bologna off the austrians in italy(and the rest of italy off the italians)

    in the asian colonial area took all of the ottomons colonies there,all of persia,and aden/muskat/kandahar/karachi

    wars in europe are slow going,india seems like itll be extremely easy to finish off by comparison(only problem there right now is the terrible road network so need to take a break on that front while i get some roads build)

    i dont like the armoured cars very much,dont really see what you see in them hikaro
    the loss of blitz,extremely high cost(2x as expensive as commandos,3x as expensive as lc!!!!) and inability to attack/move onto any square that doesnt have a road or railroad seems like too much for the +1 attack over commandos

    my military now stands at 1353 units

    69 field gun batterys
    my boer light cavalry corps
    5 renault armoured cars
    238 steam transports
    129 torpedo boats
    2 city guards
    62 maxim machine gun exports
    266 boer infantry
    114 boer commandos
    158 boer light cavalry
    1 naval infantry
    23 civil engineers
    285 7.5 cm GebK247(n) Mt Gun Batterys



    the us military now has 2794(!) units

    16 colonial workers
    a corps
    539 us infantry
    255 us cavalry
    122 gatling guns
    14 steam transports
    36 advanced airships
    5 chlorine gas
    1 nieuport plane
    89 curtiss jn planes
    5 wright flyers
    4 us marines
    30 new york class battleships
    22 virginia class battleships
    5 south carolina class battleships
    3 florida class battleships
    31 nevada class battleships
    1 pennsylvania class battleship
    6 advanced transports
    18 home guards
    112 colonial sentrys
    13 city guards
    978(!) us infantry ww1
    13 colt m18 machine guns
    198 chauchat machine guns
    39 civil engineers
    60 assorted artillery pieces(like 6 different kinds)
    24 mustard gas
    84 ford armoured cars
    4 ft-17 tanks

    :eek:




    current plans are to continue my conquest of europe and india:D
     
  3. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  4. BEERPACK

    BEERPACK General Chaos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I know what you mean rickyson1. My Ford armored cars completely suck and my WW1 infantry are way better. I haven't built one of them. Although, I might let Detroit build one. I only have 957 units and it is 1911 right now. However, I have 257 New York BB and 34 Virginia Class BB (left over, attacking like crazy with them and don't even care if they have low health/ die off).

    One problem I noticed with the scenario is that the computer AI hardly uses their ships to go on offensive. Maybe it is because my New York BB are superior to some of their ships but they hardly attack me even if a ship is very low. They are more concerned with their convoys than having individual attacking ships. Maybe when everyone gets bombers then they will bomb the ships but it would be nice if the AI would use more individual ships or group of ships for attacking. It seemed that they used far more ships to attack other ships in Rocoteh WW2 global scenario. Not sure why this is the case.
     
  5. TsarNikolai

    TsarNikolai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    The Balkans
    @BEERPACK,
    I've played many civs here and the AI sucks all the same. Capital ships, even if superior, are used for convoy duty. They don't even fire back (bombard) when you attack them. The AI simply sets them on autopilot, all the way back home, covering the transports.
    I am frustrated with the armoured cars myself. I build them only for the flavour.
     
  6. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    agreed that the AI uses many of their ships for escort duties; however, i've seen a good deal of AI ships used for naval gunfire support against coastal cities. so it's not across the board in terms of AI crappiness :)

    re the armored cars - note that the stats are like that on purpose. i mean, they were pretty lousy in terms of effectiveness (****** armor, a few guns but small caliber, usually MGs, broke down often, poor terrain capabilities). at the same time though, to have left them out altogether wouldn't have been quite right :p thus we have those lame stats...
     
  7. TsarNikolai

    TsarNikolai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    The Balkans
    I understand completely the issue of the armored cars. I use a few only for the feeling of it, like you would drive a retro-car.
    Actually I've seen a few capital ships (German and British, esp.) used offensively, but mostly they are used by the AI interchangeably with cruisers, which is plain wrong.
     
  8. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    El Justo, I'm working on the Resource Icons in between epicly Pwning the British (Hint: The British Empire's Capital is now Staurt, Australia :D), and was wondering if you could post a screen shot of the actual resources you're using... that would be a HUGE help (I lucked out in guessing that you used the shrunk-down Civ III Factory for Industrialization)... I'll post screenshots later when I get some more done....

    As for the armored cars, I sorta-kinda use them as fast defenders/mopping up units....

    BTW, El Justo, maybe you could have a "FT-17 Tank Export" for the low-end civs... According to my sources, immediately after WWI, HUGE numbers of those tanks were purchased by everyone from Brazil to AFGHANISTAN :lol: If the Afghans could afford those tanks, then I don't see why the Abyssinians or Boers wouldn't either..... Ditto goes for Curtis Jenny's: If General Robert L. Scott (of God Is My Copilot fame) could pick one up for $75 when he was a kid, then I don't see why some ambitious 3rd World countries couldn't do the same.
     
  9. First

    First Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Actually I'm not joking, I really like them.
     
  10. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    As do I, fits in with the gritty, industrial atmosphere of the era :D
     
  11. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    HT-
    scratch the natural ones off the list. i found some ones that will suffice :) however, the country ones are still needed as are the images for the trenchworks and adv trenchworks. i can post an image if need by although you can open the editor and check them out (adv trench isn't on the starting map but the trench is).

    sorry to bust anyone's bubble but the railroads have been recolored :p lots of tweaks have gone down over the last week+ and the railroads (and roads for that matter) have been adjusted some. list is too long to post here but perhaps if time permits, i can post some screens. i must say that the work done on it all has been outstanding. a Big Thanks to Vuldacon for helping us out :clap:
     
  12. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    All I really want is the following:

    a screenshot of what you're using for the Colonialism Resource.... I've got the flags for the countries... Just to clarify, do you want Australia and New Zealand separate or combined? I'm already working on the trenchworks (gotta find the Blank grassland icons I use for Building backgrounds), and I've got the Industrialization done:



    All I did was convert the Firaxis Factory, like whoever made the original Resource did ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  14. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  15. againsttheflow

    againsttheflow unpolitically uncorrect

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    northern CA
    El Justo/Hikaro, I still have a vintage globe icon all cleaned up and ready for a resource pedia icon, which I never got around to because various business. Its only crazier now with finishing school and leaving for Alaska this week, I could still get you the image but I see you've switched to one of Vuldacon's images. He usually makes pedia icons for all of his does he not? I'd ask him.
     
  16. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    If you post the globe, I'd be very happy... I'll try and get the various icons done tomorrow (I had to do some digging for the British Union of South Africa flag, but I got it :D)

    BTW, even though I haven't gotten around to posting it in my story thread yet, I've managed to reduce the British to 7 cities, and they should be wiped out by the end of 1913.... Something that I never thought a minor civ would be able to do... Their few remaining R Class DD's have been making a nuisance of themselves (they sank 3 of my Coastal Defense Gunboats and a transport full of troops), but ever since I took Stuart, they won't be able to build any more... They still can build M Class DD's, but once I overrun Perth and hit New Zealand, they will no longer be an issue, either... As a matter of fact, the current British Capitol is the Solomon Islands. :lol:
     
  17. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    yeah, Vuldacon adjusted some stuff for me on the resource sheet. i didn't ask for to make an icon b/c i already asked Hikaro :)

    nice work Hikaro :clap:
     
  18. El Justo

    El Justo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  19. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    Vuldacon already made icons for the Globe resource.... I've included them with my file:

    From top left:

    Row 1: Colonialism, Industrialism, Norway/Sweden, Denmark, German East Africa
    Row 2: Australia, New Zealand, British India, Canada, Egypt
    Row 3: German SW Africa, South Africa.

     

    Attached Files:

  20. DJ Bonebraker

    DJ Bonebraker a.k.a Laura

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,640
    Location:
    Eorzea, Hydaelyn
    Oh, almost forgot, here's the trenches.
     

Share This Page