1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SCENARIO: Age of Imperialism; 1895-1924, Deluxe Version

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by El Justo, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    doh!

    wrong thread bud!
     
  2. Klyden

    Klyden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Bah.. sorry about that..
     
  3. Metacomet

    Metacomet King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    El Justo,

    I’m enjoying my game with Brazil a lot, after I created an economic power in South America I was ready to go to war. I had a MPP with British and allies, after a few turns Venezuela was in war with GB, that was my opportunity to have my own oil. Venezuela only had defensive units inside their cities, 12 in Caracas, and the conquest was really hard.

    Now I will move against Ecuador and Maybe Paraguay and Argentina.

    El Justo I can say that now Brazil is perfect, I’m thinking to start playing another country, just to give you a million of new ways to improve that country and create a realistic country. I’m thinking that maybe my next country will be Mexico, what do you think about Mexico?
     
  4. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Metacomet,

    that's all very good news.

    the lack of any type of 'game breaker' offensive unit in this scenario is perhaps AoI's most unique feature. this is why conquest is so tough i s'pose.

    mexico would be tough for certain but still worth a shot.

    i look forward to any other type of report...
     
  5. bogdanSUPERIUS

    bogdanSUPERIUS Go Philly Go

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Nokialand, far away from you...
    Now I'm playing as Ottomans, it's very intresting most of my cities are over 20 and many close to 40.. Now I'm in 33th week of 1905 in war with German but now I'm quite strong so they not threat me anyhow.. Also some countries, Brazil, Mexico, Japan are in war with them.. Japan are in war with British Alliance.. Soon I'll start to conquere first Persia, then Romania, Serbia and Italy after that, if I'll sucseed, look out Austria-Hungary..
     
  6. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    bogdanSUPERIUS,

    thanks for the report...i don't think we've had any Ottoman reports before either so keep 'em comin'!
     
  7. Imperialist

    Imperialist Subjugator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Hello, I am new to civfanatics (as this is my first post) and this scenario is EXACTLY what I've been looking for. I dled it and tried to start it (through Civ-Content) but I get an error message saying:

    Load Error
    Missing entry in "text\Pedialcons.txt" ICON_BLDG_Stadium

    Then the game exits.

    I don't know if someone else has already encountered this problem and if a solution has been posted, but the 38 pages on this thread are rather daunting, so if you can help me out, then I would really appreciate it. Can't wait to play.

    - Imperialist
     
  8. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Imperialist,

    okay...let's see

    - the large DL folder needs to go in your "Scenarios" folder of C3C as well as the biq file
    - load AoI through the "Civ-Content" button

    it should load right up.

    let me know b/c you should be able to get it running
     
  9. Imperialist

    Imperialist Subjugator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Hey,

    I did exactly as you said (although when I unzipped, there was only one file present, the AoI2.1 file, about 1,110kb) and then loaded it again through civ-content, and it didn't work again. (NB: I followed your instructions on your first post when I first tried.) The same error message came up. Any thoughts?

    Thanks.
     
  10. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Imperialist,

    i see...it seems that you need to DL the large file also.

    heres a link: http://www.civfanatics.net/downloads/civ3/scenarios/AoI.rar

    this folder needs to be in the "Scenarios" folder of your main "Conquests" folder. the AoI2.1 (biq) file also needs to be in the same folder.

    now, when you click "Civ-Content", it should work ;)
     
  11. Imperialist

    Imperialist Subjugator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    It worked, thank you very much. Great scenario.
     
  12. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  13. krazydude

    krazydude Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Portugal
    very nice scenario, i played with mexico, and altough it is not one of the "great powers" i enjoyed it a lot. i think the scenario is well balanced, fast and fun!

    what else can we ask for? good job :)
     
  14. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    krazydude,

    thanks. i'm glad that you enjoyed it.

    i may update this scenario in the future. nothing significant. just some gfx additions that i'm waiting for to be made.
     
  15. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
    Played for a while with Brazil (again haha). Its hard to build up much of an army at first, but its easy to produce hospitals and workers, and then factories, and if you have about 30-40 workers it only takes a few turns to get multiple cities producing a rifleman a turn... and then it snowballs ;p

    America went nuts and wiped out Central America. I have been careful to suck up to them and have used them to counterbalance the British (who were burned out of three or four Canadian cities).

    No bugs! Looking good! Are you perhaps going to add in a few new ships?
     
  16. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Aeon221,

    nice ;)

    yeah, the bugs have been exterminated. thank God.

    one thing i remember about the latest update was that i assigned too many +HP to the "Early Destryoer" unit. i forget what the setting is but i do recall that it was too much.

    as for new units, i hadn't thought of new ships but i'm waiting on a Gatling Gun unit that Hikaro Takayama is making.
     
  17. Ciceronian

    Ciceronian Latin Scholar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Germany
    First of all, a late but hearty happy birthday El Justo! :bday: Thankyou for your industriousness and supplying us civfans with some great scenarios! :goodjob: I downloaded your scenario and started playing it, and I quite like it up to now. Loading time was bearable aswell. But somehow the number of different ressources struck me as slightly overdone and resulting in great confusion! The pedia entries also don't really make the picture clearer. I think it might be a good idea to remove a few resources. Geographical placement isn't bad but some discrepancies in Central Europe, i.e. Berlin lies on the Weichsel river were in fact Warsaw schould lie. Aside from that it's good, units are nicely balanced, the civs represent the political situation fairly accurately. Thanks for the scenario! :thanx:
     
  18. bogdanSUPERIUS

    bogdanSUPERIUS Go Philly Go

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Nokialand, far away from you...
    When I was conquering Romania, African Infantry was in defending of Bucharest.. Is it bug coz Serbia can buld also African Infantry?
     
  19. silver 2039

    silver 2039 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    16,208
    For me it crashes on the third turn when I choose what to build next. No matter what I choose to build either.
     
  20. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,948
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ciceronian,

    thanks for the b-day shout-out!

    yes, the resources are a little overdone. i was going to change them in the last version but i did not. the map issues, too. maybe in a future update...
     

Share This Page