1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SCENARIO: American Civil War - C3C only

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Misfit_travel, Dec 16, 2003.

  1. Pawel

    Pawel Daimyo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    I think the fact that everybody has experienced that the AI behaviour, both with respect to exploration and war, changes when the AI gets more map info - especially if they have tried to balance a scenario. Even such simple algorithms as pathfinding are dependent on map information. This is why the AI values maps so highly in negotiations! ;) I think the main question is how much effort it would take to optimize the visible map areas to get the desired response...
     
  2. divinci420

    divinci420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Greetings,
    I have the Civ 3 complete set, and when I dl the game, then tried to load it up, I got a :Error Reading File: Missing entry in "text\Pedialcons.txt": ICON_BLDG_CAPITAL.
    What's up?
     
  3. Misfit_travel

    Misfit_travel Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    The ACWC3C folder must be placed inside the CIVIII / Conquests / Scenarios folder. What is happening when you get that error is that it cannot find the appropriate references in the Pediaicons.txt file.

    Sometimes when people extract a ZIP file they don't maintain the original directory structure. You should check that when you extracted the ZIP file that there is a single ACWC3C folder present.

    The other possibility is that you only downloaded the scenario files without the art files. There are two separate downloads required; one for the BIQ files, and one for the art files.

    I hope that helps.
    Misfit
     
  4. divinci420

    divinci420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Greetings,
    Same ole problem. I dl both zip files into the conquest\scenario directory. I then unzip the files. Then I move the biq files into the conquest\scenario directory. My question is where are the art files suppose to be located? Also, I have the civ3 complete set, ie contains civ3, PTW and conquest. Could this be a problem. I appreciate your help, especially when you are replying at 5 in the morning. By the way, I am new to this thread so I am somewhat as a computer retard. Most Thanks!
     
  5. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    Hi, people.

    Sorry about dissappearing into thin air back in Januar. I had a very busy spell at uni back then, and then I've not been feeling well, either physically or psychically. My doctor still hasn't found out what's wrong with me. It looks like I'm going to have to take a break in my studies till the situation is back under control.

    Anyway. I wanted you to know I'm still alive, if not well. I don't see myself taking any active part in the ACW project in the near future; indeed, I'm finding it hard to concentrate on any intellectual task such as civ-playing (or maths; my grades are currently going to hell).
     
  6. Misfit_travel

    Misfit_travel Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    divinci420:

    The art files (by which I'm assuming you mean the ACWC3C folder) goes into the CIV3 / Conquests / Scenarios directory.

    The BIQ files are stored loose in the CIV3 / Conquests / Scenarios directory.

    You then launch the scenario by selecting the CIV-Content option from the main game screen.

    I hope that helps.

    Misfit
     
  7. Misfit_travel

    Misfit_travel Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada

    TLC:

    I'm very sorry to hear about your health problems. I hope that the doctors can find something that will work with you.

    Get well so that your studies can continue.

    Take care my friend.

    Misfit
     
  8. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    Thanks, Misfit. I'm seeing the doctor again tomorrow. We'll see what that leads to.
     
  9. Klyden

    Klyden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Yikes.. hope you get to feeling better soon TLC.
     
  10. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    I'm now diagnosed with depression, and on medication. Hopefully I'll be getting better in a couple of weeks.
     
  11. Misfit_travel

    Misfit_travel Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I've known several people with that particular affliction. Medication can make a very big difference in your life.

    Best wishes on your recovery.

    Misfit
     
  12. surferbob644

    surferbob644 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Hope your medication works and you start feeling better. SB644
     
  13. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    This had sunk deep ...

    Anyway, I'm just checking in to say that while I'm not entirely restored to normalcy, I'm much better now, and am studying at full pace again.
     
  14. Doomwalker

    Doomwalker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    OK, I have gotten the files again. Thought they where updated. The art files it seems are still version 4.0 though, while scenario files are 4.7 I believe.

    Anyway, my problem is that I still have the 1 regiment ARMY unit. I load ONE unit and it gives me 20+ hitpoints. This is all good, but I thought the Army (Corps, in game) was supposed to be a 3 unit UNIT.
     
  15. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    The Corps unit has been rejigged to make the AI use it competently.

    You can only load one unit into each Corps, but, as you've seen, it gets a hefty HP bonus.
     
  16. GlobalOppressor

    GlobalOppressor Imperialist

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    The link to dl the art files at the head of the thread is broken...
    Is there something I'm missing to play the game?
     
  17. Misfit_travel

    Misfit_travel Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    When I accessed the link to the art files in Post #1 it worked fine. Please try it again.

    Misfit
     
  18. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,397
    :confused: I assumed this is no longer true and has been changed with recent versions.

    There are two CSA BIQ files: "CSA" and "CSA FtMonroe". What is the difference between them?

    .
     
  19. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    In the CSA FtMonroe version, Ft Monroe has a land connection to the peninsula (eastern Maryland+Delaware), meaning that i) the Union can more easily reinforce it and ii) whoever controls it has total control of passage between Chesaspeake Bay and the Atlantic.
     
  20. druxus

    druxus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    I have taken a quick look at this scenario and I Like it, Ft. Sumter would be a nice addition but otherwise a great scenario
     

Share This Page