1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Scenario: Turkish War of Independance

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario Creation' started by #1 Person, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    Turkish War of Independence



    The year is 1919, and the Allies have just agreed on the partitioning of the Ottoman Empire. However, Turkish Nationals, lead by Mustafa Kemal, with the support of the Turkish People, have begun to resist the encroaching armies. In the West, the Greeks have landed at Izmir and have begun the advance into Lydia. In the East, Wilsonian Armenia is beginning to take shape. The Ottoman Government has become merely puppets of the British. Will the Turks be able to overcome almost overwhelming odds and beat the imposing empires?

    Introduction :

    I have always been a big fan of both Civ 2 and of Middle Eastern History. I hope this will be the first of many scenarios focusing on this interesting and historically important region of the world. Much of the information for this comes from source materials (a.k.a. period maps), as well as contemporary sources, both Turkish and English.

    Nations
    (I had to combine some nations as there is a limit of 7 and barbarians would have added some balance issues) :

    Britain (including the Ottoman Empire)
    France
    Italy (and Albania
    Greece
    Turkey
    Soviet Union (including Bulgaria and Georgia)
    Armenia

    Notes
    :

    This is still a relatively rough scenario, and I have only done a little bit of play testing. If anybody wants to help me by investing some time to try it out and give me your opinion, that would be greatly appreciated!

    Do expect to do a lot of pressing the ENTER bar the first turn, particularly while playing as Turkish, my weird way of making the scenario/fine tunning the scenario resulted in some oddities.

    Known Historical Issues (discovered while I was play testing):

    Bursa should be Turkish
    Sivas Conference -> Sivas Congress

    Download

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/32617/1919aug.zip
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/32617/RULES.zip
     
  2. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    You can attach zipped folders of up to 300 KB. If your scenario is over 300 KB when zipped try splitting it up into several folders and posting them sepeartely (EG Files 1 Documents / Files 2 Graphics / File 3 Sounds).

    I would be very interested in looking at this scenario. I am a bit Ataturk fan and love this period and subject matter. I have an almost complete Balkan Wars 1912-13 scenario waiting to be finished. Maybe some of the graphics would be useful for your game!?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    Sweet, thanks a lot man! I am glad someone still plays this game...
     
  4. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    There are a lot of people still playing CivII. Check out Apolyton scenario creation thread! There are about 40 regulars there, mostly scenario designers as well as lots of people dropping in to comment.

    http://apolyton.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=29

    To be honest there are not that many people still posting in this forum and you are unlikely to get a huge amount of feedback :(
     
  5. Boco

    Boco Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Ah McMonkey/Werd, I'm glad you saw this! I almost posted a reference to this thread over at Scenario League to get your attention.

    There're some real whizzes that occasionally pop by here, but for day-to-day feedback, you may have better luck at Poly. Can't hurt to try both forums.

    This is a great topic for a scenario! A true phoenix role for the Turks, with lots of varied antagonists.
     
  6. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
  7. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/32617/1919aug.zip

    I am not completely familiar with modding. I used the built in scenario editer to change some values as well as names of buildings (specifically wonders, to give almost civ-specific traits), is all that stuff in the scenario file, or will i have to upload something different?
     
  8. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    You will need to upload the rules file, the event file if there is one and the various graphics files. Without these the game reverts back to the original vanilla files.

    Took a quick look. I like the choice of map, good scale. Did you make it yourself or use someone else's? City choice and placement looks good. Can't really say much more as the game is chaos due to lack of rules file.

    Are you interested in developing this scenario? If so I will be happy to give you some pointers. Try looking up some of the scenario creation guides here and at Scenario League and Cradle of Civilization. They helped me a lot when I began building scenarios.

    Look forward to seeing what this is like with rules and graphics!
     
  9. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
  10. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    I would recommend downloading Civ City 1.3 from Mercators site:

    http://www.civgaming.net/mercator/mapedit/downloads.html

    Its a brilliant scenario design tool and you can sort out some of the problems with it. IE Cities building improvements that are already build, disorder etc...

    I see that you have included a lot of Rail Roads. This often gives the human player a huge advantage over the AI. Most scenarios nowadays have done away with them as they unbalance the scenario too much. I would have to playtest a bit before I can really comment on this scenario though.

    I made some cities/flags for my playtest. Don't know if they would be useful?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    You could also have many more unit types. If you need specific graphics just let me know. I'm sure I can find everything you need for this period and then some!

    Have you looked at events at all?
     
  12. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    Oh so many options not explored... and those cities are SO COOL, thanks :)
     
  13. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    The cities are by Jamestout. I just put them into a city gif.

    This scenario could be expanded quite a lot. It looks like it has a good basis in the map and concept. Depends on how much time and effort you want to put in. If you need any more advice, graphics, technical help or feedback then I am more than willing to help as I am sure the other contributors here are :)

    I had a look through your NES thingy in your signature. Is that a CivIII scenario? Looks like an interesting game!
     
  14. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    Not really, it is a weird thing, made by weird people such as myself... I really don't understand why it has any connection to this site.

    I have been looking around for a guide to this "event" concept you speak of, but cannot find one... perhaps you might easily know a link?

    Also, how do I make the cities match their respective nations? They all seem to be Catholic... :(
     
  15. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
    You should be able to swap city styles using CivTweak from Mercator's site.

    Other useful links:

    Civ Fanatics (see Reference section): http://www.civfanatics.com/civ2/downloads/

    Scenario League (see Reference section): http://sleague.apolyton.net/index.php?title=Home

    Cradle of Civilization (aimed more at Test of Time but there may be useful stuff): http://coc.apolyton.net/

    Tecumseh's Village (If you have a copy of Test of Time some of the best scenarios can be found here!): http://www.tecumseh.150m.com/

    Spanish Apolyton (Good scenario collection): http://spanish.apolyton.net/navigation.shtml

    I would also recommend downloading other peoples work and seeing how they have made/used events. I think you can create events using the Fantastic Worlds editor (If you have FW) but the easiest way to create events and modify the rules is to do so directly in the rulas and events notepad files. Try copy and pasting someone elses events into your own file and renaming the tribe and units to fit your game!
     
  16. McMonkey

    McMonkey ----Evertonian---- SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,887
    Location:
    Cardiff
  17. Gelion

    Gelion Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,278
    Location:
    Earth Dome
    Person, I am currently working on a few Civ2 scenarios myself and would be glad to help if you got any questions.

    I've tried out what you've made so far and I am impressed by the scale of the game.
    So I would only correct Vladikavkoz to Vladikavkaz and Novorossiyak to Novorossiysk.
    Also, there are some Soviet cities I am not familiar with... Sup'sa, K'ut'asia (Kutaisi?), Gori (is Tbilisi?) and Akhlawatever. IIRC Rustavy was called that later than 1919.

    Looking forward to the day you release v2 :)
     
  18. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    Most likely a lot of the names are Turkish or even Armenian, as I used some period primary source maps.
     
  19. #1 Person

    #1 Person The Cow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,954
    Location:
    In a grassy knoll with internet
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/uploads/32617/TurkV2.zip

    Version 2! The way i did the flavor units most certainly does not work as well as they could have, and it is effectively decided to not have research in this perticular scenario, I am sure someone can help me fix that though :)

    Edit: I just remembered I forgot to fix those mis-spellings or historical innacuracies, but, whatever :p

    Also I did not address how to get the buildings to look right for each civ.
     
  20. Gelion

    Gelion Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,278
    Location:
    Earth Dome
    Few comments straight away. First put AI value for "NOT techs" as 0 or the Italians would continue to offer me "NOT Turkey" at the very first turn. Then it would be a lot more interesting to start the scenario if all production messages were not there. It is tedious to click over 30 times Enter at the very beginning of the scenario (simple matter of assigning different goals at the beginning). Lastly, I cannot build Turkish Units!!! (except for those who did already produce them). I also got Soviet, Greek, British and other units at the beginning.... I think they are lost.
     

Share This Page