1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Scene Image does not appear

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Modding Discussion' started by Syrkres, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    First, well met all, and thanks, been lurking learning how to mod and found lots of great information.

    I have created a Sponsor Mod (Global Sedition) and running into a few issues.

    I loaded the "scene" dds file and when I tested it, it worked/showed up fine. Since then though it doesn't seem to show up? I don't get corrupt file marker - which I got when I had wrong size file, just a blank. My other art assets seem to show up fine (just missing the scene).

    What I have for GS_Scene.xml
    <LeaderScene>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level1" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level2_Purity" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level2_Harmony" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level2_Supremacy" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level3_Purity" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level3_Harmony" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    <FallbackImage ID="Level3_Supremacy" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>

    <Environment ID="Level1" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level2_Purity" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level2_Harmony" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level2_Supremacy" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level3_Purity" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level3_Harmony" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    <Environment ID="Level3_Supremacy" XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    </LeaderScene>


    And GS_Encironment.xml
    <LeaderEnvironment FallbackImage="GlobalSeditionScene.dds">
    </LeaderEnvironment>

    and the image file is named GlobalSeditionScene.dds



    Second question, looking to substitute Leader name (based on who you are playing) into a Text string. I cannot find reference to substitution.
    EDIT: currently attempting :{1_CivName}
    FIXED: Reason I am trying to do this is I want to copy another Sponsor's Personality Trait and it show's their name.
    - Made new Trait copying other.

    Thanks

    PS: I have published the mod - it's still in it's basics and works (except for Scene image above).
    Global Sedition Core
     
  2. Ryika

    Ryika likes cookies and milk.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,657
    Most likely mistake is that you've not set VSF=true for the LeaderScene-XML.
     
  3. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    Thanks for reply,

    In Modbuddy I have GlobalSeditionScene.dds File Properties:
    Import info VFS: True

    Is there another place I have to set it?

    I tried deleting the image and then replacing it (again setting VFS true) but no luck... :(
     
  4. Ryika

    Ryika likes cookies and milk.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,657
    Not only the image, the LeaderScene (GS_Scene.xml, and probably GS_Encironment.xml as well) also needs to have VFS = true.
     
  5. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    Ryika,

    Tried setting property Import into VFS: True on the XML files as well with no luck.

    Also another thing I noticed I am trying to add custom art for the Spacecraft as well. If I use an Art object I pulled from another mod I seem to be able to use it, where as if I try to create my own it fails.

    So I am thinking maybe I'm not properly saving/creating these art assets.

    I am using Gimp 2.8.16 with the DDS plugin. I seem to be able to read dds files fine and re-sized a couple as well, but anything new I try to create seems to fail.

    The scene is a file I copied from another mod, then selected/deleted all content and pasted my own content down. Then saved.

    The icon file seems to like a size of 48 (at least that is one I got working with existing mod art). When I get it to work, I then try to copy the file to another filename create another atlas entry pointing to the new filename, and that fails to load. So again something weird is happening.

    Do I need any special settings when saving that I may be missing?

    Thanks again greatly for your assistance.
     
  6. HandyVac

    HandyVac Gentleman

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The shire where the oxen cross the river. UK.
    The compression setting you use when exporting your dds from GIMP is important. BC3/DXT5 works, but other compression options (including none) may not be readable by the game.
     
  7. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    HV thanks for suggestion,
    I reloaded the image into GIMP and then exported using teh BC3/DXT5 compression on the drop down. Re-added it to the project and set VFS, but no luck.

    But thanks for trying..
     
  8. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    One thing I thought of driving into work this morning to help debug the issue.

    1 Download Mod with Scene Art
    2 Make sure Scene Art works in existing mod (install if it doesn't)
    3 copy Scene Art to temp directory
    4 Rename scene Art to the filename I call my scene art
    5 Copy Scene art into my project (wiring if it doesn't)
    6 Rebuild and Test (my image if it does).

    This will tell me if it's my "wiring" or computer, or image. I'm pretty sure it's going to be image at this point, but this will confirm.

    Will let u know.
     
  9. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    Ok with my testing it seems I have a bad "wiring", so if I can get a pair of eyes to review my wiring, I would appreciate it.

    Element: GS_Scene.xml
    - does this need to be mapped anywhere? It's not.
    Import into VFS: True
    Code:
    <LeaderScene>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level1" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level2_Purity" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level2_Harmony" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level2_Supremacy" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level3_Purity" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level3_Harmony" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    	<FallbackImage ID="Level3_Supremacy" image="GlobalSeditionScene.dds"/>
    
    	<Environment ID="Level1"    XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level2_Purity"    XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level2_Harmony"   XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level2_Supremacy"   XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level3_Purity"   XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level3_Harmony"    XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    	<Environment ID="Level3_Supremacy"    XML="GS_Environment.xml" />
    </LeaderScene>
    Element: GS_Environment.xml
    - Only mapped to GS_Scene.xml
    Import into VFS: True
    Code:
    <LeaderEnvironment  FallbackImage="GlobalSeditionScene.dds">
    </LeaderEnvironment>


    Element: GlobalSeditionScene.dds (copied over from Metal Gear mod -BigBossScene.dds)
    Import into VFS: True
    - Only mapped to GS_Scene.xml
    - This is in an IconAtlas folder under my Art folder, where the 2 above XML files exist.
    - I did just try to move this to same folder as the above two files, no luck...



    Notes:
    1) I noticed both GS_Scene.xml and GS_Environment.xml do not have the normal <GameData> tags around them. Though in checking the Metal Gear Solid mod it's the same way.
    2) GS_Scene.xml and GS_Environment.xml are both added under Actions/OnModActivated

    Thanks for any assistance.
     
  10. Ryika

    Ryika likes cookies and milk.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,657
    The leaderscene must be added as ArtDefineTag in the Leaders-Table. Example:

    Code:
    	<Leaders>
    		<Row>
    			<Type>LEADER_RYIKA_AYURI</Type>
    			<Description>TXT_KEY_LEADER_RYIKA_AYURI</Description>
    			<Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_LEADER_RYIKA_AYURI_PEDIA</Civilopedia>
    			<CivilopediaTag>TXT_KEY_CIVILOPEDIA_LEADER_RYIKA_AYURI</CivilopediaTag>
    	[B]		<ArtDefineTag>RyikaAyuriLeaderScene.xml</ArtDefineTag>[/B]
    			<PortraitIndex>0</PortraitIndex>
    			<IconAtlas>LEADER_ATLAS_RYIKA_AYURI</IconAtlas>
    			<VictoryCompetitiveness>2</VictoryCompetitiveness>
    			<WonderCompetitiveness>2</WonderCompetitiveness>
    			<Boldness>4</Boldness>
    			<DiploBalance>7</DiploBalance>
    			<WarmongerHate>7</WarmongerHate>
    			<CoopWillingness>8</CoopWillingness>
    			<Loyalty>5</Loyalty>
    			<Neediness>8</Neediness>
    			<Forgiveness>6</Forgiveness>
    			<Chattiness>7</Chattiness>
    			<Meanness>2</Meanness>
    			<AffinityDevotion>9</AffinityDevotion>
    			<AntiAlien>3</AntiAlien>
    			<RespectIncreaseModifier>30</RespectIncreaseModifier>
    			<RespectDecreaseModifier>-10</RespectDecreaseModifier>
    		</Row>
    	</Leaders>
     
  11. Syrkres

    Syrkres Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mass
    Well that was it!!! Thanks a TON Ryika!

    I was able to copy over my image and it worked fine...

    Again thanks!
    ... now on to more Moding...
     

Share This Page