1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Scooby Doo and the Mystery of the Trading Posts

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by anandus, May 12, 2012.

  1. anandus

    anandus Errorist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,855
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    If there's one thing that has struck many people with the new screenshots is that there's an immense lack of trading posts.
    There are hardly any.
    They also seem to be missing from the tech tree.

    In the Pax Demo video there was something that is to be assumed to be a new trading post graphic:

    Although it's not certain.

    The mystery remains:
    What has happened to trading posts?
    Will they work differently? And if so, how will they work?

    Any theories?
     
  2. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    Good idea with the new thread :). My hope is that we see a return back to Civ4 style where you start with the small cottage and they grow to become towns. Im hoping that maybe this might be the first stages of growth where it is just a small cottage or village. I was never too fond of trading posts I've always preferred the civ 4 style of upgrading as they get worked. I also like how they make the map look more populated especially late game. It is true though that if you look through screens or videos you don't really see trading posts at all. They aren't under pottery anymore either so only time will tell i suppose. I watched the video from pax and actually did see the tooltip that says "trading post" but it's obvious there's a change to them.
     
  3. Montov

    Montov King

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    The new graphic for TP is more modern, and it is no longer available in the early game. I think it is at Economics, and gives 2 gold. No need to start at 1.

    After the change to have TP with 1 gold, an later doubled to 2 gold, I hardly build them anyway before that, so it is a logical approach. That should make the pacing of gold more controllable for the devs to balance out.
     
  4. theadder

    theadder Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Addoria
    Assuming that they haven't made a change since the demo that they showed us, my recollection is that this isn't "assumed" but definite; the mouse hovers over the tile and the description displays trading post.

    It's possible that they just aren't painting the tiles as trading posts when they make up the games, but I'd like to think that there's been a more fundamental change regarding them.

    I'd definitely like to see this.
     
  5. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    I'm thinking (hoping) it might be something like trading post--->village---->town or something of that nature. There has to be something else though in my opinion. They can't just do away with trading posts in the early ages completely. The options will be pretty small then. You can basically just build farms, mines and the improvements for resources. That'd kind of disappointing if they disappeared in the early game. It creates another option.
     
  6. theadder

    theadder Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Addoria
    If that's correct, then there might be a bit of a shortage of improvements to build on the non-special [strategic, hills, forest] tiles in the early game. Economics seems to come a bit late for that. That's otherwise a lot of farming going on.

    I'm not sure that they are going to end up doing staged naming; the original game did after all have increasing yields on the tiles with technology, but they never bothered to rename it. Even if we get different improvement graphics, it is presumably always going to be called a trading post.

    Actual growth of the tiles from one type to another doesn't seem like the Civ V style.
     
  7. Hawawaa

    Hawawaa Prime

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Michigan
    Coffee House?...
     
  8. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    Yeah, i'd really hate to see TPs completely disappear in the early game. I like to have options. I know the devolopers said in interviews that they wanted to add more depth into the game which is obvious with religion and espionage. Adding a growth over time tile would add more depth in my opinion. Just a small dose.
     
  9. ShahJahanII

    ShahJahanII Homesick Alien

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,863
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    That is an Austrian building. The icon for it was in color, which is never the case for Unique Improvements.
     
  10. Camikaze

    Camikaze Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27,025
    Location:
    Sydney
    I looked at the German screenshots and the only ones I could see a trading post in (same as the artwork in the OP) were this one (and the same bit of land here) and this one. Should be noted, though, that there was a lack of any improvements in a lot of them. Perhaps it's just that if these are mocked up screenshots, they might think that the terrain is more attractive when it's not cluttered by trading posts (though if they have new artwork, you'd think they'd show it off).
     
  11. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    There's a money tech after Currency for the Middle Ages. I don't know what it is, but it could be there.
     
  12. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    they aren't going to turn around and drop in a Civ 4 mechanic for something that is in Civ 5 (post-launch). Gotta burst that bubble as there's too much 'hoping' for Civ 4 to encroach on Civ 5.

    New graphic + missing at Trapping does suggest something though. If that is a money tech post Currency, then it's likely there, given that if they appear any later in the tech tree, we'd likely be broke (unless trade routes or other gold yields go up to compensate).

    They can improve TPs in other ways though, to make them 'more beneficial later', just like civ 4 (but in a civ 5 way). The +beakers from Rationalism is one way they already do that.
     
  13. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    I suppose they're probably not going to add in the growth over time cottage from Civ4. I'm just curious how much later they'd have trading posts come. That takes out an improvement for my workers to do in the early game. Is that good or bad? I could see it being kinda bad but at the same time honestly not a huge deal.
     
  14. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    You got the right. :) Civ4 used to be my favorite game (just like Civ2 was) but I have learned to accept and adjust to new ways of playing civ. About half of the things from Civ4 were bad ideas to being (but apparently have achieved a mythological status among some) and not only should they have not have been in the early version, they certain are not candidates to be included in later version (e.g., espionage, corporations, health, growing TPs).

    After an earlier patch, we (thankfully) have stopped spamming TPs in our cities but we still do so in every available hex in a puppet city. I wonder if that's going to change and what mechanism would have caused for such a change?
     
  15. Bisqit

    Bisqit Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    U.S.
    I agree with that. I had a hard time adjusting into Civ 5 from Civ 4 but once you accept the differences you can see that Civ 5 is the better game. After some thought it is probably honestly more historically accurate to have trading posts coming in in the later game. A 3000BC trading post doesnt make much sense.
     
  16. yellowdartfrog

    yellowdartfrog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Presumably with Macchu Pichu, which has been moved and is currently missing from the other techs.
     
  17. theadder

    theadder Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Addoria
    I don't think that Civ V is the better game yet, but it is probably coming.

    Ideally, there would be some other improvement added to the game to compensate for the lack of the early trading post. That seems unlikely, though.
     
  18. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    We're not making it up; the tooltip in the PAX video really did say "Trading Post."

     
  19. Diego Havoc

    Diego Havoc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I can't help noticing that those shots are from the Steampunk scenario. Perhaps this new trading post is unique to the scenario? Are there any shots of that tile from a regular game?
     
  20. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,617
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Yes. The shot in the post directly before yours is from the PAX video, in which they were playing the regular game, not a scenario.
     

Share This Page