1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Screenshot of the Day #86: Dead Paratroopers

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Thunderfall, Jan 3, 2003.

  1. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
    I was playing in Play the World v. 1.14F and I was at war with the Indians. I landed my paratroopers at their territory, then I chose: "(P)illage Improvement".

    ...and those paratroopers transformed into "dogs" or "monkeys". Can someone explain why those units died? :confused: Thanks to Hawker for the screenshot.

    PS: If you haven't tried it yet, try airdrop a paratrooper into the ocean in the game and see what happens. :satan:

    http://www.civfanatics.com/sotd/sotd86.jpg
     
  2. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    :rotfl: LMAO what are those?? Thats the funniest screenshot I've seen in a while..are those basketballs? :lol:

    CG
     
  3. sabo

    sabo My Ancestors were Vikings

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,104
    Location:
    Minneapolis, City of Lakes
    There must be a bug in the paratroopers TF cuz I sent the exact screenie yesterday, I have invisible paratroopers

    the color disk is there, but there is no paratrooper, I"m fighting ghosts now...
     
  4. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Oh, and the ocean-paratroopers have to be dropped in the fog of war.
     
  5. Civanator

    Civanator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    2,865
    Location:
    Gone
  6. Angmar

    Angmar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Seems as though the "Fortified" animation or something like that is busted for the paratroopers. That goofy something shows up a tile "north" of where the paratrooper is. I had this happen to me during an invasion of Japan that was over a huge mountain rage.
     
  7. hbdragon88

    hbdragon88 haunted by blackness

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,745
    Location:
    somewhere
    It's a bug ;) If there's something wacked that doesn't help you, it must be a bug, one of the things that Firaxis missed ;)

    What happens when you paradrop over the ocean :confused: If you drop them in the ocean... :hm:

    Anyway cool screenshot. Another Snoopy's terrain graphics mod...my, that is popular.
     
  8. efg

    efg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    That's paratroopers?!
     
  9. handyandy

    handyandy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    334
    the same sort of screenshot was posted here
     
  10. farting bob

    farting bob ThEy MaDe Me Do iT.

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,169
    Location:
    UK (sussex)
    hy didn't they copy the codes straight from vanilla civ, they worked fine there. the only reason they would doweird things is because theyve changed the game code.
     
  11. Kevinicus

    Kevinicus 01001011

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Germany
    rofl that's whack. And a damn lot of cities at that <x0~
    Nice paradrop
     
  12. Cimbri

    Cimbri Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,589
    Location:
    Cold Harbor, VA
    That must be the strangest thing I have ever seen in CIV3… any CIV game for that matter. Very odd…
    Btw before any accidents occur, what happens when you paradrop into ocean?
     
  13. Yoda Power

    Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    13,859
    I dont think you can paradrop into ocean.
     
  14. hbdragon88

    hbdragon88 haunted by blackness

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,745
    Location:
    somewhere
    Those are. Paratroopers are almost identical to infantry, except they can paradrop and they have slightly lower stats than infantry. And they don't upgrade.
     
  15. bhiita

    bhiita Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    886
    I posted this awhile back and no one had seen it before. but I figured out what it was doing, It plays the wrong flic! if i move it around then it's ok but fortify/sentry/both bombards all show the first frame of the drop flc if used the following turn after I drop them:) show thread
     
  16. Veera Anlai

    Veera Anlai Southern Belle

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Ye Olde Florida
    The root of the problem is *very* simple. Take a look through your Art folder in the root Civilization 3 directory, then go to Units, then open Paratrooper. They misspelled the name of the .FLC file! Instead of ParatrooperFortify.flc, they have ParatrooperForfity.flc
    Fixing that should solve the problem.
     
  17. bhiita

    bhiita Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    886
    I don't think that matters:) as long as the spelling is the same in the.ini file I don't know about the regular paratrooper though, I've replaced them in my games
     
  18. Sparrowhawk

    Sparrowhawk The Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weimar, Germany
    Yeah, that's the conclusion I came to too. The little ugly ball/monkey/dog/whatever graphic is actually what the first frame of the paratrooper's 'drop' animation - it's a rolled up parachute essentially. I had this same problem in a customized rules set and I thought it was just something I screwed up so I never mentioned it. I had an additional problem with it too - when I fortified a paratrooper, it showed this graphic. Then when I went to attack the next turn, the attack anim didn't work and the game crashed after the battle was over.
     
  19. jpowers

    jpowers Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,491
    Location:
    The Castle Aaaaaaaargh
    I never get to the paratroopers/helicopters stage. Do I need to play on Emperor? My games end immediately after Fission because someone always builds the UN and has the vote.
     
  20. Globetrotter

    Globetrotter ...wherever i may roam...

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    ...where I lay my head is home...
    Or may be these are intentional?

    There was a strong wind, and the parachutes did not open properly, and the troopers crashed on earth, bottom up, with blood spilled (zoom and check the red spots)
    :vampire:
    or they just landed on booby traps, and BANG!


    Nice shot :)
     

Share This Page