1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SDK for Second Rev

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Second Revolution' started by Dale, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Hi guys.

    I've opened this thread to move the SDK discussion out of the main discussion thread. :)

    I'll integrate the SDK components you want and compile them for you, no problems at all. I'm assuming this is for Warlords?

    Anyways, what I need is a comprehensive list of all the bits you want that have SDK parts so I can combine them all together into one DLL.

    The SDK List:
    - DCM Ranged Bombardment
    - DCM Missiles
    - The Lopez Snipers

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Original post from main discussion thread:

     
  2. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Fabrysse:

    After working with Firaxis on Civ4/Warlords I know the code pretty well. So if you concentrate on the python I'll do the DLL stuff. That cool?

    Also, since I use the same environment and project settings as Firaxis, I get a cleaner, smaller DLL than code blocks does.
     
  3. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    That's a good new !!! Thanks a lot, Dale.

    Yes, it's for Warlords.
    SDK list : that's it.


    OK. Again, thanks a lot for replacing me with SDK where I can't understand anything.
     
  4. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Dale, I'll wait for your DLL before working on TheLopez Snipers python code. So that I can test my modifications.
     
  5. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    looking really great guys!
     
  6. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    I'll be looking at the sdk stuff this weekend, so hopefully have a dll for you by monday. :)
     
  7. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
  8. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Must apologise for the delay in getting this out. I had thought that TheLopez had already converted snipers into Warlords. Unfortunately he hadn't and I had to cut his code into a clean Warlords SDK base. Also, with the changes to the way some things function inside the SDK in Warlords I had to modify a few things in his code for it to function correctly. When I say modify, I mean things like new function names and #defines.

    Anyways, at this point the sniper code is live. For everyone's benefit at CFC I uploaded that DLL file with snipers only up on the download database. Now to add in ranged bombarding and missiles.

    Dale
     
  9. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    :goodjob:
    Hope it'll go easy, now...
     
  10. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    good luck Dale! you are mighty and strong! Like Bull!
     
  11. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Woot! It's done. :)

    It's clean and shiny and new. There's snipers, ranged bombardment and missiles in this DLL file, none of the other (buggy) components of mine. :)

    http://users.g-node.com.au/thesdale/assets.zip

    BTW, you'll notice in the zip are the required XML changes. Unless you've added your own interface, just copy the interfaces xml file directly in. Also, in the unitmissions xml file only MISSION_BOMBARD has changed. It's important you make the change in the scenarios mission file or ranged bombardment doesn't work. The unit schema has the two xml tags required for bombardment and missiles, but doesn't contain the sniper tags. You'll have to add them in. The last file in the zip is the unit classes xml. It shows how I defined the missile classes. I suggest following that method for yours.

    Finally, in CvUnitInfos.xml if you want a unit to have ranged bombardment, add the tag <iDCMBombRange>value</iDCMBombRange> and the end of the unit. The value is the distance in tiles you want to allow this unit to bomb. If you want a unit to be a missile, then add the tag <bDCMMissile>1</bDCMMissile> to the unit.

    Dale
     
  12. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Great !!!! :goodjob:
    I download right now. I'll have a big nigth with integrating sniper's python, and make it runs... Hope I'll have it tomorrow... Not sure.

    Garret, we have to work together on that, and to know what does each other.
    This evening (and probably a part of the night;) ), I'll have to add these xml elements to the alpha you sent me last week.
    I suppose you added new things since saterday... So it'd be good you upload me a new version of xml files. Thus, I'll add and test sniper elements on the later alpha version.

    Why is it urgent ?
    I'll be online today and tomorrow, I'll be offline on friday 27/10, saterday 28/10, sunday 29/10, online on monday 30/10, offline on tuesday 31/10 and wednesday 01/11 and online after like usual (not by the week-end)...
     
  13. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
  14. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    OK. Downloading now. I'll add the more I can now, at work (don't tell it to my boss ! ;) ) and I'll test tonight.
    Does it crash actually with no missile running or just missile doesn't run ?
     
  15. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    no it doesnt crash, it just has no action button to make the missile "shoot" and i have no idea what kind of unitinfo to give to the cruise missile, the nukemissile is basically a ICBM with the missile tag added.

    the ranged bombard works. the partisan dropped a ****load of people when i captured New York City, so that workds. can you make the damage that is applied to invading forces higher and more consistant?

    hope you like the new menusong!
     
  16. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I can. How much more would you like ?

    Still downloading... It comes through Atlantic swimming, I suppose.:lol:
     
  17. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    i would like to see that every unit that enters the city is bombed on the way through the gates. i want the unit that enters the city to be devastated, even if it was a future tank killing a protester. and i want this to happen every time basically! :D the spoils of war are a cold tart dish.

    well, it must be faster than flying. atlanta to frankfurt takes all day!
     
  18. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    OK, understood. I'll try something like that.

    It's done.

    EDIT : The new menu song is good. Not instrumental, but good.
     
  19. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,013
    Okay the missus let me off the hook as she went to bed. :D

    I'll get the missiles running tonight and upload the changed files. I can do this in my sleep so it's easier for me to do it. :)

    As for sniper, I'll let Fabrysse take that one as he's probably already started it by now.
     
  20. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I have begun. But I'm at work now, so I can't test. I'll test tonight. Hope it'll be good... :badcomp: But I'm not sure to sleep a lot this night !
    Some news tomorrow :sleep:
     

Share This Page