1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[SDKMOD] Nuke Anywhere

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by Sevo, Jul 17, 2006.

  1. Sevo

    Sevo Leaf on the Wind

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Nuke Anywhere SDK Mod

    A few straightforward changes to allow targeting of nukes anywhere, not just enemy territory.

    Release: 1.0
    Files changed: CvUnit.cpp
    Specifics:

    -Allows nukes to be targeted at any square on the map, regardless of whose territory it is and whose units are sitting in it.
    -Any team with territory or units hit by the nuke will declare war on you.
    -Your own teammates will not declare war (the first test-run resulted with me declaring war on myself...I couldn't figure out how to make peace...)

    The only file included is the CvUnit.cpp, as this is really meant to be used in other SDK applications. All modified code blocks are demarcated with "//Sevomod ..." for easy identification.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TheLopez

    TheLopez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,525
    Location:
    Oregon
    Very cool Sevo :goodjob:

    Care if I integrate this into the next version of my M.A.D. Nukes Mod?
     
  3. Jeckel

    Jeckel Great Reverend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Sweet, nukes are finnally getting back to what they should be. :)
     
  4. Sevo

    Sevo Leaf on the Wind

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Not at all. They'd work well together. Let me know if you want a DLL version, but the single file is all you'll need if you want to compile yourself with other stuff.


    I agree. I hated not being able to nuke anywhere I wanted. Sometimes you just want to nuke one of your own cities. You know. To keep the others in line...

    I'm looking into an option wherein the nukes will also wipe out the land they hit much more; to the tune of a random chance to turn them into desert/tundra and possibly wiping out resources, too. Nukes should be devestating and everyone should have some fear of the power of a nuclear strike.
     
  5. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    Nice to see your getting into the SDK Sevo, might I sugjest you include some kind of toggle switch for your Mod such as a new Global Define "Real Nukes" or such which when set produces all of the various changes. Its more work but its good practice, gives users more control and is needed to get included in the CCP (ofcorse we can always add it, its just more work)
     
  6. dh_epic

    dh_epic Cold War Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Seasonal Residences
    I'm interested to see how this one interacts with the MAD mod. Should be a cool experiment!
     
  7. Sevo

    Sevo Leaf on the Wind

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    But I don't want my users to be able to turn it off. :)

    I can add it in if it will help you guys, but I won't need the on/off functionality the CCCP is aiming to achieve for my purposes. I'll post an update in a day or two when I come back around to the code.
     
  8. Thorn

    Thorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    806
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    :goodjob: And when might the next version of M.A.D. Nukes Mod be???
     
  9. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    this is going into second revolution II
    good work and thank you
     
  10. Tarkhan

    Tarkhan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Oooh, I feel like Dr. Evil now....

    thanks for the mod, always wanted to declare war with a bang :)
     
  11. saleg37

    saleg37 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Oooooh...

    Now when a nuclear power is invaded, they can launch in a "last ditch effort" to control the invasion. Will bring a lot of strategy back to the modern day, especially when it's included into the MAD mod.

    :Runs off to check on the MAD nukes mod:
     
  12. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
    how did you declare peace
    :rotfl:
     
  13. LittleRedPoint

    LittleRedPoint Slaver

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Estonia (EU)
    Alpha Centaury has interrestin nuke "Planet buster" wiped out entire city and left huge crater. Somebodi did it in this forum who can't remember..
     
  14. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    is this warlords compatible yet?????? i want this one!
     
  15. ichiro51

    ichiro51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    littleredpoint r u white
     
  16. Elit3

    Elit3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    your own teammates wont declare war on you? do you mean people you have a mutual protection pact with? (not even sure if you can do that in this game. Im new to civ4) and if so... you can just nuke the hell out of your friends? info plz.
     
  17. 50caliber

    50caliber Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    will this mod work with warlords 2.08?
     

Share This Page