Seaport vs Train Station

infidel88

Prince
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
478
Location
Yuggoth
There needs to be some adjustment in favor of Train Station. They are mutually exclusive, but with addition of 250HP to Seaport, it's a no-brainer which one to choose.

Seaport: -6:c5gold:; +25%:c5production:; +1:c5production::c5gold: from ocean/coast, +2:c5production::c5gold: from sea resources; +10% supply cap; 1:c5greatperson:GE slot; +250 HP;
Train Station: -5:c5gold:; +25%:c5production:; +10% :c5gold:; 2:c5greatperson:GE slots;

I would give TS +10%:c5food: growth or some other representation how it made people move from villages to cities. And some increase in supply cap as well, after all it somehow made conscription easier.
 

Moi Magnus

Emperor
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
1,867
Could the train station give +1 prod/gold to railroad tiles ?
(an possibly +2 prod/gold to railroad on ressources, if you want even more symmetry between railroads and seaports, but it is probably a bad idea since the AI will have problems to correctly build railroads).

But I don't think they need a big bonus. As said by ElliotS, the bonus to supply is here to make sure that maritiem civs have higher supply cap, since they need more units.
 

Enginseer

Salientia of the Community Patch
Supporter
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
3,230
Location
Somewhere in California
It would be interesting to see it give a +1 Supply Cap Buff versus the Train Station's 10% Supply from Population.
 

Workerspam

Prince
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
329
I think it's fine as is. The 10% gold from the train station makes it my preferred build most times unless a city is working 3 or more sea resources or is an island city. But if I need the extra supply/HP/purchasing of end game ships it's nice to know I have the option available with the seaport.
 

MorphBer

Warlord
Joined
Nov 21, 2017
Messages
186
Seaports for coastal, train stations for inland.

It works fine to me

Same here, I built Sea Port in all the costal cities and Trains Station in the inland cities (ofc - its the only Option). Buffing Trainstation is unnecessary to me cause it would buff inland cities which is not needed.
 

CrazyG

Deity
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
5,768
Location
Beijing
I do think the train station should be better if you have a situation where the city is technically coastal, but actually working very few coast tiles, or on an inland sea, or things like that.

With that said, +10% gold is a pretty good benefit. The extra engineer isn't that relevant because there are so many specialists available by this point
 

DarkZero

Warlord
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
266
Seaports need to be better than trains stations because coastal cities are more exposed, the seaport was buffed to those things a few versions ago exactly because no one was building it, a buff to train stations is never going to happen, its almost way to good already.
 

pineappledan

Deity
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
7,234
Location
Alberta, Canada
I think +1 prod to villages and +10% supply cap would be good from train stations. Keep seaports stronger, but make train stations have some benefit to terrain, same as seaport
 

MorphBer

Warlord
Joined
Nov 21, 2017
Messages
186
I think +1 prod to villages and +10% supply cap would be good from train stations. Keep seaports stronger, but make train stations have some benefit to terrain, same as seaport
The yield increase on the seaport is needed cause coast/ocean tiles are really bad at this point and then there are at least somewhat wotkable (by expansions)
 

jeanoiseau

Chieftain
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
Messages
32
For some reason I have both train station and railway station as option to build in all my citieis….I know the railway station mod comes from the "Additional Modern Buildings" mod but I want to keep that mod and shut off the one with the train station.....can't for the life of me find it. How do I shut off the train station?
 

Moi Magnus

Emperor
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
1,867
For some reason I have both train station and railway station as option to build in all my citieis….I know the railway station mod comes from the "Additional Modern Buildings" mod but I want to keep that mod and shut off the one with the train station.....can't for the life of me find it. How do I shut off the train station?
In "(2) Community Balance Patch\Balance Changes\Buildings\NewBuildings.xml" delete anything about TRAINSTATION. Line 117 to 121 and 936 to 956.
Though from a balance point of view, it might be better to keep both. (Unless railway station is also a building consumming coal)
 
Top Bottom