Seeking a Mentor for Modding

sawi_13

Chieftain
Hi,
I always like to mod my games, and for this I'm always self taught. The problem is, this way I'm always "late" getting to the point where I can mod effectively (I just recently figured out how to mod Civ IV :rolleyes: ).
The way I used to learn it was by comparing the XML of mods that were made with the original. But starting with CivV and BE the problem I have is, I don't know how to get to the original files. So I guess this time I can't do it on my own, but will need someone (or several someones each just giving me a hint or two) to guide me through it.

Basically here are my first two questions;
1. Is there any database where I can view the original XML and Lua of BE (and CivV while we are at it)? I know these are set up so you cannot directly change them, but as I said, to learn how to change them I need to know what is there to begin with.
2. Is there a way to extract unit graphics from BE and add them to Mods of CivV?

What I hope to do (first) (feel free to give me some hints on what needs to be done for it):
1. A MOD to overhaul the spies in BE: specifically:
a) Change Website Hubs from lowering intrigue level in general to it giving only a one time bonus of lowering the level (but it can rise to full level again), but instead give a bonus to the civ's own spies in detecting/killing foreign spies in this city.
2. Probably as a separate MOD because not everyone will like it: A MOD that allows stealing blueprints of great wonders (and this way allowing you to duplicate already completed wonders)
a) Add a fifth level spy mission "steal blueprints"
b) Add a new national project "protect secrets" that makes the above mission harder (but not impossible)
c) Add a way to duplicate already completed wonders after specific blueprints were successfully stolen. Possibly with a 25-50% penalty to building time, because you do not have access to the original engineers involved in the project.