1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Settler Lense

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Carazycool, Oct 23, 2016.

  1. Carazycool

    Carazycool Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    MA
    Does anyone else find the automatic settler lense very annoying and distracting? There's much more to deciding city placement than fresh water alone. Also, it's very difficult to see which enemy units are where when the settler lense is on. I want to be able to see the regular map when moving my settler unit.

    The settler lense should be an option and not a requirement when a settler unit is selected.
     
  2. Atwork

    Atwork Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA.
    Yes
     
  3. Infiltrator

    Infiltrator Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    I just know where I'm settling before the settler is built let alone selected. Then just move him there ignoring the lenses. They are just active while he's selected anyway.
     
  4. Our_DeCay

    Our_DeCay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Very annoying indeed.
    I always link my settler to a military unit. I work around the lens by selecting the linked unit instead of the settler. But it's the opposite of useful:crazyeye:
     
  5. mazz0

    mazz0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Trouble is when you're clicking to move him it can be hard to tell where the square you liked was! Or if there are baddies nearby.
     
  6. bcaiko

    bcaiko Emperor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,412
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The game seems to do a bad job of letting you know when baddies are nearby in general. Almost makes me pine for paranoid Civ5 workers that stopped when you killed a barb 3 tiles away.
     
  7. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Ruritania
    Yes, I agree, it is annoying. It's helpful as an option, but as a default setting it's very disruptive.
     
    Carazycool likes this.
  8. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    Settler lens doesn't bother me much. The religious one when a faith unit is active drives me absolutely nuts. I can't see through all that cruft, and it gives no meaningful information, other than the limited info from the wheel around the cities (when they exist). The colors do nothing but obscure terrain.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
    RaidandTrade and mice like this.
  9. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Nothing wrong with Settler lense. The most important thing it gives you is marking red terrain that can not be settled due to being close to other cities.

    As for remaining fresh water info, it is useful. Areas with just coastal or no water are just much less productive. Heck, you would instantly hit growth limit with no fresh water at all.

    Of course, you can take Aquaduct into account and settle a bit further from the water, if it gives some benefits. One thing missing here is effect of Mountains, since those can be used as fresh water source for Aquaducts.
     
  10. Hpuk

    Hpuk Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Yes, both settler and religious automatic lenses are very annoying.
     
  11. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,574
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Use a map pin to mark your intended destination.
     
    Ramalhão, mice, Montov and 1 other person like this.
  12. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,312
    Extremely annoying. I have trouble looking over the resources on my spots due to that overlay. Its the opposite of helpful.
     
  13. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,527
    VERY annoying. I have been scrounging through xmls and other files seeing if I can mod it out. So far I have half of the tooltips delays modded to be reasonable, but this game's UI- UGH!
     
    mice likes this.
  14. mazz0

    mazz0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    I actually like the UI on the whole! Just not that part.
     
  15. Mr.WorldWide

    Mr.WorldWide Smugly Inferior

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Central USA
    I don't have an issue with it but I wish when you have a settler selected it would show you the initial city area when mousing over potential settling sites using the move to command. Kinda like how civ 4 worked in that regard.
     

Share This Page