Settling on 2nd turn

Tolian

Chieftain
Apologies if I have missed an FAQ or guide, I have read so much here and I still have questions.

1) Can choosing not to settle on your first turn really make a difference?

The GOTM and similar discussion threads on this site are really interesting to read, particularly the first-turn discussions which can go on forever. As I'm preparing to play on Monarch, I'm trying to get some of the more advanced concepts down.

In the BOTM #20 pre-game discussion for example, one guy posted "I'll move 2N onto the plains hill for the 1 hammer bonus in the center". As I'm not an expert I still wonder if I know the fundamentals of the game, so this comment confused me and now I have some questions.

2) The "+1 hammer bonus", what does that mean, or did I just misunderstand? Is this +1 hammer applied to the city square for being on a plains hill? I was under the assumption that the city tile always gives the same bonuses, regardless of the terrain it's founded on? Am I mistaken?

3) Often you can't even see all the tiles your city would have if you settle one turn away so how are these people making these decisions? Do they have previous knowledge of the map or making educated guesses?

4) How can I make a good judgement about what kind of city my capital should be? I know this question could go on for pages, but as a rule of thumb, can I just assume stuff like hills = production, rivers = commerce or something? I would like to be able to look at a starting area and UNDERSTAND what it means, right now it's still a bit grey.

5) Settling on the second turn, are there any special mechanics I should be aware of, does the AI skip a turn too. Does the AI ever settle on the 2nd turn?

6) I get a "Civ 4 has encountered an error and needs to close"... when trying to use the HOF mod to check out saves and learn something, is this a common bug? My system is normally pretty reliable. Is there a place I can find saves that don't require this mod?