Should I Go Up A Difficulty Level?

Lexicus

Deity
I have a question, as you may have guessed.

I've been playing on Regent for several months now. I've almost always been able to win, but it took a lot of hardship and blood and toil to do it.

The other day, I turned on my computer. Playing as the Babylonians with a decent start (desert, but lots of rivers and hills,) I have progressed to the modern age in 1788, and have beaten down three Civs so far (out of 11 besides me.) I have the most population and the largest empire by far. I take up about half of the power graph. The Celts are ahead in score, but only because they destroyed and absorbed the Dutch, the Vikings, and the Portuguese before I got to their continent. They have been broken militarily by a Babylon-German alliance. Taking their cities will be easy, but there are so damn many.

I lead in tech by a lot, and have for the entire game. I don't remember that ever happening before--pretty sure it's a side effect of hanging around here. ;)

Now, at last, the question: should I move up to Monarch?

Yes, but you may want to make one run with a std map size and see if you can run away with the score from the start. Large maps favor the human, especially if the map has more water.

I've skipped Regent altogether. The big jump is to Emperor. The step from Regent to Monarch is, like Aabraxan said, not that big.
If Monarch turns out to be a bit challenging, it just means you'll have to be sharp. I lose interest when half of the powergraph is mine, don't you? You learn more if you're playing on a level where your mistakes get punished, because you will learn not to make them!