Should I learn German or French

Aleenik

Deity
I want to learn one of these languages. I have started going over some basics in German and I am having a hard time, but I didn't expect learning a language would be easy. It will take time and patience, I know. If one day I move out of the US, Europe is one of the places on my list of where I would like to move to. So that is definitely a contributing factor for me as far as which language I should learn.

Why not both?

I've always heard that French is easier than German. I have no experience whatsoever with French grammar, but I assume it is easier than German grammar. On the same note, German spelling and pronunciation is much easier than French spelling/pronunciation.

Give both a try and see which one you like better.

If you live in Canada, I'd learn French.

If you live in the US, I'd learn...well...French.

If you live in Europe, I'd learn French.

If............................I'd learn French.

If you want to move to/visit Europe, then German is the more common language there.

but German sounds yuckier

allways fun when somebody who also speaks a Germanic language says that :D

on topic though, I'g go with the movies or books you like to decide the issue. if you already have a preference for either French or German media just go with that one. easiest way to gear up in a language is to either read books or watch shows/movies in that language if you don't have the opportunity to live there. if you do have the opportunity take advantage of the free learning experience as well.

I hate the way French sounds. That said, German's pretty complicated, but you'll get the hang of it.

I'd go with German.... First.

French is not that hard to learn, I'd learn it after learning German.

Speaking French makes me want to throw up. Go with German, unless your career is in 18th century history or something like that.

It all depends on why you want to learn the language.