Should I take desert Oil?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Acidrain, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Acidrain

    Acidrain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    http://www.upload.ee/image/1405862/hmmz.png

    Should I build city to take this Oil? This map has very little Oil. I dont really need it right now, but I might need it when I go to war with China and Germany in the future.

    What you guys think.
     
  2. kamex

    kamex Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    Its not an optimal location, but if you need the oil, settle 1 West of the Iron. you can still pick up the oil, though you may need to buy the tiles. that way you get the iron, deer and wheat also.
     
  3. Acidrain

    Acidrain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Thanks, seems reasonable. Although I have won that game already, unless they start spamming nukes, the bad spot doesn't really gimp a lot.
    This is emperor game, should move one difficulty up... I have 40 unit army near Japan border, ready to roll over them, but I belive I get the Oil first, so I can upgrade cavarly into tanks.
     
  4. King_Course

    King_Course Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Why not settle 2 tiles Southwest of the Barringer crater. You'll still need to buy your way through the mountain range, but you'll have a good cityspot with riverbed and Observatory.
     
  5. CYZ

    CYZ Toileteer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,376
    Got a great artist coming up anytime soon? Has the louvre been build yet?

    I'd use a culture bomb to get the oil.
     
  6. Mallow

    Mallow Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Estonia
    You need the oil only for tanks, planes and battleship. I wouldn't worry at all about the oil or settling a new city there. I'd use mech. infantry and artillery.
     
  7. duxup

    duxup Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    You seem pretty dominant already. Hard to imagine that oil being critical and being that big you should be able to buddy up to CSs with oil.

    Edit: Also what is with the awesome overlay civ scores on the right? Is that an option I've missed? I like it.
     
  8. Acidrain

    Acidrain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    You can enable it from the game options.
     
  9. kamex

    kamex Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    Thats cool. Better suggestion than mine. I get a bit obsessed with coastal cities! :blush:

    I didn't know you could bomb out a cities work radius... or is it expansion radius?

    You can work 3 rings but expand to five through culture, but only buy the first three. Is that right? Can you culture bomb tiles 'out of range' of the three or even five? :confused:
     
  10. TPQ

    TPQ Cogito Ergo Civ

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    If it were me, I'd just boost the culture in Athens to get the border to pop on the oil. Athens should already be targeting the oil for the next border pop, so, if you can get the cash, just speed it up with a temple/opera house/museum.

    That, or use a great artist to culture bomb, although that would be a little over-kill.
     
  11. CYZ

    CYZ Toileteer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,376
    Yes you can expand your culture as much as you want via Culture Bomb.

    I'd probably bomb the oil in the East. So indeed Athens can get to the other deposit naturally.

    If oil is truly scarce you should use the amount you have to your advantage. Sell it to your enemy if he doesn't have it. Then declare war and fight his 50% strength units.
     
  12. Acidrain

    Acidrain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    There are 4 Oil spots on the whole map. :crazyeye:
    One is that desert Oil, one is inside a CS border (on water), who I am ally with, but he has not built a Oil platform on it. One has China and one has Germany.

    Hmm can I build a Oil platform inside CS borders myself?

    and for the luls http://www.upload.ee/image/1406498/war_prep.png

    Gonna roll over Japan soon. Thinking to make a naval invasion over water to China from left part of the map. (China is first place at army score in demographs, I am second)
     
  13. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    Dont settle but focus on getting a great artist and get the oil by this one great artis will do!!!!!
     
  14. Mallow

    Mallow Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Estonia
    Well.. that army is massive :) You need no oil at all.
     
  15. Deau

    Deau Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Quebec, Can
    No, the CS will do it by itself...probably by the time you get alluminium rolling


    I personally hardly ever worry about oil unless I play epic/marathon. Oil units get outdated too fast. Obviously if you have lots of gold and little hammers it's nice to use upgrade paths but really, unless you play a naval heavy game, just try to tech alluminium early enough to aim @ appropriate spots while your mech infs+artillery get the job done.
     
  16. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    Athens will get the oil soon enough. You can buy tiles to speed it up if you want.
     
  17. fmlizard2

    fmlizard2 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    424
    You really can't just buy the tile outright now? That will be one sad, barren, starving city if you settle there, just draining on your cultural growth.
     
  18. Deau

    Deau Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Quebec, Can
    The tile is 4 away from Athens. Can't purchase it. You could, on the other hand, culture bomb is as someone mentioned which would save you the hassle of a crippled city and the increase in SP costs following from it. I still stand by that if you play standard speed, oil is almost irrelevant...wtb more aluminium
     
  19. Acidrain

    Acidrain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    This is on epic speed. Standard can't have that many turns at this tech status I belive. Since it's Emperor difficulty.

    Generally yeah I could just destroy the enemies with the units I have now... Maybe throw some nukes if needed, if I get uranium.
     
  20. RD-BH

    RD-BH Human

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Formerly: Missouri, USA
    Buy a CS.
    Gift a workboat.
     

Share This Page