1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

*Sigh* Images On (Homemade) Webpages

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by cgannon64, May 21, 2003.

  1. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    I've been spending the afternoon trying to create a webpage for a cartoon I've been playing around with. (See the Drawing thread in OT.) I have it all set up, except for one problem: THE ACTUAL CARTOONS! I've been doing it in Notepad. I put in:

    <img src="PLH_Fox News.gif">

    And that didn't work. I tried

    <img src="PLH_Fox News.bmp>

    And that didn't work. I tried

    <img src="PLH_Fox News.jpg>

    And that didn't work. They all came up as Red Xs. What's going on?

    (BTW, I tried all of these in IE.)
     
  2. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,397
    Location:
    Canada
    edit: Oops, bad advice, disregard this post. :)
     
  3. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    I added the slash at the end, and still nothing. Tell me, is this the proper code:

    <img src="PLH_Fox News.gif"/>

    That still pulled up nothing.

    Oh, and...I barely know any HTML at all, asking me to code it to W3C standards is, well...impossible!
     
  4. col

    col Old Fart Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Sunny Scarborough
    Some sites have problems if there is a space in the name of the file. Try changing the reference to "PLHFoxNews" with no underline and no space. Obviously you'll need to rename the file too.

    Er - you have uploaded the file to the same directory as the page, havent you?
     
  5. Pillager

    Pillager League of Empire Loyalist

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,696
    Location:
    The Mother Country
    <img src="Myfile.jpg"> is what you need. Check that the picture is in the same directory as the webpage that you're saving, and not in, for example, an "images" subdirectory. That would be <img src="images/Myfile.jpg">

    Get rid of the space, too. Using spaces is just more trouble than it's worth - some times it's ok, others it's not.

    Also, check the case of the filename. Use all lower case when saving the file and when writing the page, to ensure that you don't get confused. On some servers, the case is important. <img src="Myfile.jpg"> is not the same as <img src=myfile.jpg"> or even <img src="Myfile.JPG". That last example has got me a few times - you have to be careful the paint programme you use doesn't automatically attach UPPERCASE EXTENSIONS!
     
  6. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    :wallbash: I haven't uploaded anything yet. I'll try uploading the comics and the page now.

    EDIT: You're right, Geocites doesn't support spaces. Time to change that too.
     
  7. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    Thanks for all the help, its working now. Just have to edit the links and typos and stuff, and then its sig-worthy. :D
     
  8. Sodapop

    Sodapop Teh pop in teh can

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    The geeky town of Lévis, Québec
    space = %20 (at least if the server is running apache, don't know for IIS)

    And if you have problems with paths, ./ is the currenty directory... That might solve the problem in some situation... :)
     
  9. col

    col Old Fart Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Sunny Scarborough

    Hehe - we've all been there and done that.

    It took me a long time to explain to my wife why the images had to sit on the same server as her webpages. Then how to use ftp.
     
  10. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    Why? Doesn't it work to upload it to another server and just give the whole path to the picture. I think a friend used two accounts for a page with many pictures.:)
     
  11. Jamesds

    Jamesds Great Scientist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Location:
    Highlands, Scotland Uni: St Andrews
    Why don't you use a WYSIWYG program? A lot easier!! You can learn HTML through that too, if you want to.
     
  12. Sirp

    Sirp Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Texas
    @funxus: You *can* put the images on another server, but in 99% of cases it's convenient to have them on the same server. The main point is that the images do have to be on an Internet-accessible webserver somewhere, rather than sitting on your typical client machine at home or work.

    -Sirp.
     
  13. col

    col Old Fart Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Sunny Scarborough
    Yeah - and if they sit in the same directory as the webpage then any references can be relative. It means that you can move the whole lot to somewhere else and it will still work. I dont like using absolute references on principle.
     

Share This Page