1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes - After the 16th of May

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, May 15, 2013.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Please report all single player bugs and crashes from the 16th of May 2013 (release v30 = SVN ????) - I was away when the release happened so this does not quite line up with the release:(

    To assist us in fixing the problem please include the following in your report:-
    The version of c2C you are playing. this would be "the download version" or the "SVN version xxxx". (Note: SVN is the beta version for more information on how to use the SVN version see here.

    If the bug involved a repeatable "Crash to Desktop" (CTD) or similar please include
    • a save and description of how to reproduce the crash
    • the MiniDump.dmp file. It is found in your Beyond the Sword folder that contains the Mods file containing Caveman2Cosmos. IE the folder that contains the BeyondTheSword.exe file.

    If the bug includes error messages then the Python.Err file in the logs folder would be useful also. It can be found in the same location as the the Saves folder containing your save games.

    A screen shot.

    Basically as much information as you can that will help us find the problem​

    If you saw the AI doing something stupid/unoptimal/otherwise bad make sure your BBAI logging is set to 3 in the BUG options. Then, post a savegame exhibing the behavior as well as the BBAI log, found in the Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/Logs folder.

    How to turn on logging.

    In the Civ 4 INI file, located in Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword, there are some logging options. Make sure they look like this.
    Code:
    ; Enable the logging system
    LoggingEnabled = 1
    
    ; Enable synchronization logging
    SynchLog = 1
    
    ; Overwrite old network and message logs
    OverwriteLogs = 1
    
    ; Enable rand event logging
    RandLog = 0 
    
    ; Enable message logging
    MessageLog = 1
    Note: You only need to have RandLogs on if you are playing Multiplayer, otherwise just leave that off (thx Cyrusfan)


    How to turn on the AI logging.

    The AI logging is turned on in the BUG options screens. It is the BBAI log mentioned on the Logs page. It writes to the same folder as the other logs creating a BBAI.log file there.
     
  2. Jozef

    Jozef Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    israel
    Good day.

    I am playing version 30, downloaded in main section.

    The mod is great! I do not play anything else, except C2C.

    I mean, version 30 is wonderful, better then ever. First time I am losing on emperor difficulty and computer opponents are just smarter then ever.

    But there is a bug -

    Charismatic trait allows infinite units production in a single turn.

    I am able to produce 30 elephant riders in a single turn in one city.

    How can I fix it and limit a bonus to military unit production for charismatic?
    (in Sevopedia is written, that Charismatic gives a bonus for military production of 1631580%)
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,463
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    צריך משחק שמור, screenie בבקשה, תודה.
     
  4. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Looks fine to me - that's about the number I usually find myself putting in towns of that size to keep crime down.
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    That's on the Focused Traits version if I'm not mistaken. (Known bug)

    AFAIK the trick should be to simply go into the xml for the Focused Traits version of Charismatic (assets/modules/ls612/promotions/promotioninfos.xml) and remove the military production modifier tag entirely as in SOME cases having a tag listed but a value not defined will cause an overflow like this. I'll look that up myself later and correct if for the SVN if needbe. I'd noticed the problem reported but was leaving it to ls612 to address - perhaps I should've pm'd him on it eh? Sorry...
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,323
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    In normal BtS when a building gives a free specialist it stays as that specialist and you can't move it. In C2C free specialists can be moved between specialists defeating the point of the buildings. Except in C2C a building can give a general free specialist also. I suspect this is the source of the problem since all are named (Free Specialist).

    So if a building gives a free engineer it should not be possible to move that specialist to an artist.
     
  7. chmoosi

    chmoosi Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Hello,

    I'm playing the latest SVN (rev5414) and I'm experiencing crashes to desktop. I have attached two saves in which the crash happens at the end of turn. With the first I tried it two times with the same result. I managed to continue the game by loading it one turn before the crashing. Maybe this is happening also with someone else?

    J
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    I have reproduced this. A fix will be posted to the SVN later today (check the SVN thread to see when it has been done).

    It's a bug in the code ported over from the Ladies Ogre's mod with the respawn capability (which I think come from promotions). If a barbarian unit gets these promotions and wins its respawn roll the crash results.
     
  9. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    V30

    Either the Spartan culture is unobtainable (and I'll note Leo is now attached to that culture), or the pedia is missing the text requirements to obtain the culture.
     
  10. charlesb96

    charlesb96 King

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Upper left corner of the Map
    Playing downloaded V30. Look at the city, it is barbarian but has the culture Iroquois. Now attack and capture the city from the barbarians and it loses the culture.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,134
    Location:
    Norway
    Lately I have experienced a MAF issue with viewport (80,50) and incidentally I have been playing with a second monitor with windows task manager monitoring C2C memory usage all along due to curiosity of viewport inpact.

    Example: at 930 BC on enormous map with around 20 civs, the memory usage is typically 1.5 GB. The thing is that whenever I load an autosave the memory usage usually increases by 500MB-ish, which is a lot.
    I think there is a memory leak when loading a save from a running game, seems like the data from the old game does not clean itself up properly.

    to reproduce: start a game take a couple of turns and load the autosaves 5-10 times(depends on map size), in the end the game will MAF during load.

    Are you aware of this problem?

    I have windows 7 64bit with 8 GB RAM & 3GB VRAM which I have not monitored the usage of. Though strangely enough the game always get MAF on around 3,3 GB memory usage.
    I can play without MAF with my game settings as long as I never load during game play.



    On another note the autosaves does not get the right year in its name, think its one turn off showing the year from the turn previous to the turn the save is for.
     
  12. martinuzz

    martinuzz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I tried to find 'charismatic' in that xml, but the search function did not come up with anything.
    What exactly should I change in the xml to get rid of the bugged unit production modifier? Also, will this still affect my current savegame?
    I just noticed some of my neigbor minor civs grabbing the charismatic trait o_0
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I presume you're playing on the SVN right? Please update and recalc and let me know if the problem still exists. To my knowledge I was able to fix it last night.
     
  14. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Using the SVN of today I suffer a repeatable CTD at the end of the turn.

    Really liked to continue the game^^ :eekdance::groucho::please::yumyum:

    EDIT
    : I forgot to mention that I disabled animal teleportation in the "a new dawn global.xml" but I don't think that's the reason for the CTD.
     
  15. martinuzz

    martinuzz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Erm, no, I'm playing the originally downloaded v30
    I'm not a programmer, I'm just a social worker :p
    The whole SVN thing confuses me
     
  16. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Exact SVN rev and minidump?
     
  17. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany


    SVN 5146 and regarding the minidump I can't find it :confused: although I enabled logging in the INI and in BUG and found the archived BBAI 3 logs from the my documents/bts folder, here they are, hope it helps you
     
  18. martinuzz

    martinuzz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I can't find anything that would even remotely make sense to influence focussed traits in promotioninfos.xml

    However, looking in the ls612/traits/ls612_CIV4TraitInfos.xml, I do find this entry for Charismatic trait. Is there something in that file I can modify, to remove the charismatic unit production bug, so I can play again?

    Spoiler :
    Code:
    <TraitInfo>
    			<Type>TRAIT_CHARISMATIC</Type>
    			<ReplacementID>TRAIT_LS612_CHARISMATIC</ReplacementID>
    			<Description>TXT_KEY_TRAIT_CHARISMATIC</Description>
    			<ShortDescription>TXT_KEY_TRAIT_CHARISMATIC_SHORT</ShortDescription>
    			<Button>ART/Buttons/Traits/TraitCharismatic.dds</Button>
    			<PromotionLine>PROMOTIONLINE_CHARISMATIC</PromotionLine>
    			<iLinePriority>0</iLinePriority>
    			<bNegativeTrait>0</bNegativeTrait>
    			<bImpurePromotions>0</bImpurePromotions>
    			<bImpurePropertyManipulators>0</bImpurePropertyManipulators>
    			<Flavors>
    				<Flavor>
    					<FlavorType>FLAVOR_GROWTH</FlavorType>
    					<iFlavor>2</iFlavor>
    				</Flavor>
    				<Flavor>
    					<FlavorType>FLAVOR_PRODUCTION</FlavorType>
    					<iFlavor>-1</iFlavor>
    				</Flavor>
    				<Flavor>
    					<FlavorType>FLAVOR_MILITARY</FlavorType>
    					<iFlavor>7</iFlavor>
    				</Flavor>
    				<Flavor>
    					<FlavorType>FLAVOR_ESPIONAGE</FlavorType>
    					<iFlavor>1</iFlavor>
    				</Flavor>
    			</Flavors>
    			<iHealth>0</iHealth>
    			<iHappiness>1</iHappiness>
    			<iMaxAnarchy>-1</iMaxAnarchy>
    			<iUpkeepModifier>0</iUpkeepModifier>
    			<iLevelExperienceModifier>-15</iLevelExperienceModifier>
    			<iGreatPeopleRateModifier>0</iGreatPeopleRateModifier>
    			<iGreatGeneralRateModifier>0</iGreatGeneralRateModifier>
    			<iDomesticGreatGeneralRateModifier>0</iDomesticGreatGeneralRateModifier>
    			<iMaxGlobalBuildingProductionModifier>0</iMaxGlobalBuildingProductionModifier>
    			<iMaxTeamBuildingProductionModifier>0</iMaxTeamBuildingProductionModifier>
    			<iMaxPlayerBuildingProductionModifier>0</iMaxPlayerBuildingProductionModifier>
    			<!-- Revolution Trait Effects Begin -->
    			<iRevIdxLocal>0</iRevIdxLocal>
    			<iRevIdxNational>-5</iRevIdxNational>
    			<iRevIdxHolyCityGood>0</iRevIdxHolyCityGood>
    			<iRevIdxHolyCityBad>0</iRevIdxHolyCityBad>
    			<fRevIdxNationalityMod>0</fRevIdxNationalityMod>
    			<fRevIdxBadReligionMod>0</fRevIdxBadReligionMod>
    			<fRevIdxGoodReligionMod>0</fRevIdxGoodReligionMod>
    			<iRevIdxDistanceModifier>0</iRevIdxDistanceModifier>
    			<bNonStateReligionCommerce>0</bNonStateReligionCommerce>
    			<bUpgradeAnywhere>0</bUpgradeAnywhere>
    			<!-- Revolution Trait Effects End -->
    			<ExtraYieldThresholds/>
    			<TradeYieldModifiers/>
    			<CommerceChanges/>
    			<CommerceModifiers/>
    			<BuildingProductionModifierTypes>
    				<BuildingProductionModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_RECRUITMENT_OFFICE</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingProductionModifier>100</iBuildingProductionModifier>
    				</BuildingProductionModifierType>
    			</BuildingProductionModifierTypes>
    			<BuildingHappinessModifierTypes>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_BROADCAST_TOWER</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_COMMUNICATION_TOWER</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_STATUE_OF_CHAMPION</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_DICTATOR_MONUMENT</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_ROYAL_MONUMENT</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_PRESIDENTIAL_MONUMENT</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_RADIOPLEX</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_NETWORK_NODE</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_NATIVE_AMERICA_TOTEM</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_OBELISK</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_EGYPTIAN_OBELISK</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    				<BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    					<BuildingType>BUILDING_ABYSSINIA_STELE</BuildingType>
    					<iBuildingHappinessModifier>1</iBuildingHappinessModifier>
    				</BuildingHappinessModifierType>
    			</BuildingHappinessModifierTypes>
    			<iAttitudeModifier>2</iAttitudeModifier>
    			<ReplacementCondition>
    				<And>
    					<Has>
    						<GOMType>GOM_OPTION</GOMType>
    						<ID>GAMEOPTION_LS612_TRAITS</ID>
    					</Has>
    					<Not>
    						<GOMType>GOM_OPTION</GOMType>
    						<ID>GAMEOPTION_LEADERHEAD_LEVELUPS</ID>
    					</Not>
    				</And>
    			</ReplacementCondition>
    		</TraitInfo>


    EDIT: looking in ls612\traits\ls612_CIV4_CivilizationsSchema.xml, I do find this line: <ElementType name="iMilitaryProductionModifier" content="textOnly" dt:type="int"/>
    Is that the line you were referring to maybe, that needs deletion?

    EDIT2: Same file also has this line: <element type="iMilitaryProductionModifier" minOccurs="0"/>
     
  19. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    For future reference, the minidump will be in the folder containing the BeyondTheSword.exe file (typically in the 'Beyond the Sword' folder, a couple of levels up from the mod folder). However I have reproduced it from your save, so don't worry this time.
     
  20. DRJ

    DRJ Hedonist

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Thank you so much!




    • :goodjob::thumbsup::bowdown::clap::smoke::):yeah: :yup: [pimp]:old::sheep::banana::eekdance:
     

Share This Page