1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes - After the 23rd of September 2013

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by strategyonly, Sep 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,599
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Because its up to you to make your own decisions on what needs to be in YOUR game, not us. Hence the file name "User Settings"
     
  2. Shomy035

    Shomy035 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Serbia
    Thanks for the speedy fix alberts2. :)
    Edit: When getting the current version of svn into play i dont have the 'export without versioned files' option.
    Instead i get SVN export versioned items here, SVN export all items here and SVN export changed items here. I go with exporting all items and the game is playable (up untill the ctd's of course :D ). Different version of tortoiseSVN or...?
    Anyways ill try my quicksave now and report if it goes through the turn ok.
     
  3. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Okay, so the Custom Folders that were in there for BUG and REV were never really needed after all?

    Or we just now have to go back and reset Everything, since the Options at Game Start setup have been changed/ Added to, as well as ALL the BUG options inside the game? Hmmm. So will we need to Double Save again after resetting BUG? Or is this fixed?

    JosEPh
     
  4. Shomy035

    Shomy035 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Serbia
    I find that backing up civilizationIV.ini located in documents>My Games>Beyond the sword (in win7) usually saves my user settings intact. Here is an example of my backup file.

    Edit: also my quicksave got through, apparently combat between my cree tracker and a hawk got the game to crash. After recalibrating everything seems to be in order. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. alberts2

    alberts2 Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Good to hear it is fixed but the crash had nothing to do with combat. It happened after a worker finished to build an improvement that removes features from the plot.
     
  6. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,237
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    I have an x64 with 8 GB of RAM but I did get around it by lowering the render quality to medium, it seems the game as become too VRAM intensive on high to be playable anymore.
     
  7. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Ram on the video card (suggested is 1GB or better with at least DDR3) and paging file settings are probably where you need to make adjustments. Your OS and main ram isn't the problem.

    I'm running 2 x64 OSs (win 7 Pro 64 and win XP Pro 64) both with 8GB of main ram and don't have the problems you've posted.

    win 7 comp has a Nvidia Geforce GTX 550 Ti w 2GB ram and the xp pro has an AMD Radeon HD 6450

    But I think the real key is the page file size set up under Performance settings. I've set my page file size to 12285MB under Virtual memory section. And I Do Not let "windows choose what's best for my computer" I use Custom but have also used Adjust for Best Performance in the past.

    I also under Processor Scheduling and Memory Usage have selected Programs in both.

    Maybe these suggestions may help you.

    JosEPh
     
  8. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    My screen shot was confirmantion of the problem/screenshots in the quote.
     
  9. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Sorry, I haven't realized that you changed them to -2 :gold: instead :mischief:
    Yes, I like that way more then :commerce: ! The :commerce: slave should produce :gold: then as well. It's just that we also have a :science: and a :culture: slave, so a :commerce: slave seems redundant. Also, what is the difference between the Military and the Production Slave?
     
  10. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I made one specialist for each type each is supposed to increase that type at the expense of the other. I am not at my modding computer so can't check the XML.

    Nothing because we don't have the tag for reducing military unit cost. I can't get rid of them as that would break saves but I can disable their assignment. Well not for two weeks.
     
  11. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    No, right know they are as you said: they increase one yield by 10 and decrease the other two by 2. Which is fine. The only thing is, that we don't want :commerce: on buildings because it is too generic, so we changed it all to :gold:. So why do we keep :commerce: here? :gold: would make much more sense.

    Ah ok. I thought it was supposed to get +1 XP or something.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It is not a building.
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,039
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    What tag would you need? I did some that allow us to adjust the cost of a unit itself so are you saying for specialists or for the captive unit?

    We keep it as commerce rather than gold because commerce makes more sense. Slaves can represent an impact to Espionage as they are easily led to give away secrets. They can represent an impact to Research because who lets them learn anything? They can represent an impact to Culture because they don't have time for arts and crafts. They are not given the same freedoms that free citizens have to personally develop these things, even 'on the side' from what they normally do. Thus it makes more sense to represent all these 'losses' by a pure loss of commerce. From a game based perspective it comes across a little funny, yes, when you end up with negative commerce and if we change it to a gold penalty for that reason I can understand that but I do think it makes more sense as a commerce penalty.
     
  14. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    In ancient Rome slaves were often the teachers
     
  15. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,799
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah I don't like that rule at all. Buildings can create commerce, thus we should ensure that some do so. Where did the rule come from? Was it debated anywhere?
     
  16. TPEHEP

    TPEHEP Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Ukrain, Kharkiv
    Well I no claim :). Simply noted the problem detected.
     
  17. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,195
    Location:
    Norway
    Commerce is here the nations free resources to budget as they want, this should never be a negative number as it makes no sense to delegate the lack of resources.
    Presidents ask advisor: what should we sabotage today. Answer: We should put our effort and manpower into halting our research master.

    Sorry scientists, we had to take your vital equipment to use it in a theater performance to raise the culture of our nation. Sorry street artist we are selling you as slaves to fund our science.

    Either you have something to budget or you don't.

    All negative modifiers should be towards beakers, coins, culture or espionage; not commerce.
    Commerce is what you as the player use to balance the scales to the best of your abilities.
    If science is negative you might get it positive by adding all your commerce onto it, at the cost of something else, same goes for the other variables.

    Negative commerce can make sense but the sum should never be negative as it would mean that the player/government is fighting itself by actively sabotaging stuff.
     
  18. Necratoid

    Necratoid Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    That's odd thinking... why wouldn't the street performers be conscripted as test subjects?

    Wait... isn't the entire point of the upper left hand beakers, gold, spy points, culture percentage points adjustment tools to control exactly where the government is spending its generic resources? Wouldn't slaves costing commerce mean breaking basic game mechanics?
     
  19. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,799
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It obviously doesn't break game mechanics. It is in fact an ingenious lateral-thinking extension of them.
     
  20. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Slaves were often teachers, as DH said. Also, :science: is not education. Science is more about generating new knowledge. Slaves don't really help by that, but they don't really hold it down. If any, they could speed it up by cleaning the alchimist's glassware for example.
    Why would slaves reduce :culture:? They work on the fields, in the house etc. Basically, they free up your people's time, so these people can be more creative.
    Point for :espionage: is taken, but since they aren't free they can't really run to your enemy. You could even torture them to get informations about your opponent.
    Basically, the only thing they cost is their food (therefore - :food:), clothes tools and accommodation :)gold: and :hammers:). They shouldn't give :commerce: anyway, but therefore either :gold: (iE in a Goldmine), :hammers: (in a Quarry), :food: (on a field), :science: (as a teacher/lab assistant), :culture: (as artist/in a circus) or :espionage: trough torturing. They could furthermore construct buildings, repair stuff, cleaning up stuff or help by training your troops.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page