1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes - After the 24th of February 2014

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Please report all single player bugs and crashes from the 24th of February 2014 (v34 = SVN Revision 7080)

    SVN users reminder: If you are using the SVN and something strange happens or something that should have been fixed is still causing a problem try deleting the C2C cache files found in Assets/Cche.

    To assist us in fixing the problem please include the following in your report:-
    The version of C2C you are playing. this would be "the download version" or the "SVN version xxxx". (Note: SVN is the beta version for more information on how to use the SVN version see here.

    If the bug involved a repeatable "Crash to Desktop" (CTD) or similar please include
    • a save and description of how to reproduce the crash
    • if your mods folder is not Caveman2Cosmos please state what it is when posting a save to help the modders and save them time when trying to identify the problem.
    • the MiniDump.dmp file. It is found in your Beyond the Sword folder that contains the Mods file containing Caveman2Cosmos. IE the folder that contains the BeyondTheSword.exe file.

    If the bug includes error messages then the Python.Err file in the logs folder would be useful also. It can be found in the same location as the the Saves folder containing your save games.

    A screen shot.

    Basically as much information as you can that will help us find the problem​

    If you saw the AI doing something stupid/unoptimal/otherwise bad make sure your BBAI logging is set to 3 in the BUG options. Then, post a savegame exhibiting the behavior as well as the BBAI log, found in the Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/Logs folder.

    How to turn on logging.

    In the Civ 4 INI file, located in Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword, there are some logging options. Make sure they look like this.
    Code:
    ; Enable the logging system
    LoggingEnabled = 1
    
    ; Enable synchronization logging
    SynchLog = 1
    
    ; Overwrite old network and message logs
    OverwriteLogs = 1
    
    ; Enable rand event logging
    RandLog = 0 
    
    ; Enable message logging
    MessageLog = 1
    Note: You only need to have RandLogs on if you are playing Multiplayer, otherwise just leave that off (thx Cyrusfan)


    How to turn on the AI logging.

    The AI logging is turned on in the BUG options screens. It is the BBAI log mentioned on the Logs page. It writes to the same folder as the other logs creating a BBAI.log file there.

    Known issues
    Forming a Colony may cause you to declare war on everyone including your other vassals.

    Killing an animal while you or it are in barbarian territory may not result in capture or food or hammers.

    Boats on auto explore will try and heal next to land units that are damaging them. They stay there trying until they sink.

    Signs you place on the map disappear if you save.​
     
  2. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Perhaps someone could help us by compiling a list of the last Bugs and Crashes thread reports and checking off which ones were addressed and which remain outstanding issues or appear to. I'd do this myself but it's a fairly dedicated project that could take a lot of modding and playtesting time out of the equation.
     
  3. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    One of the reasons we should try and start using the SVN bug tracker. If only someone would explain how to use it.
     
  4. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Germany
    We have an issue with automated workers. When we have a resource even in the city vicinity they never build the typical improvement that gives the resource, e.g. Farm on Potatoes. They always build a type of Fort.
     
  5. C2CPlayer

    C2CPlayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    So i started up an old game from november and tried to update the modifiers or whatever it is called to the most recent version, version 7078, and every time i do it, the screen goes black and a popup comes up saying Memory Allocation failure - Exiting program Reason- Bad Allocation, and i mean every single time i try to do it. I cant even do a turn without a CTD, and it is making my game unplayable, and i put over 60 hours on it, any help guys? Here is my log.
     
  6. C2CPlayer

    C2CPlayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Um actually i'm having some trouble with the attachments, it doesn't seem to upload my files saying upload failed, any help for a beginner?
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    You probably need to compress the save file. There is a limit on the size of the various files on these forums.
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Of course... all the added benefits on the fort would be accumulating into a 'better build' because its not considering what's really more a benefit here which is getting the additional workable yields as well. I'd bet a tweak in the value of the yields obtained (AI value that is) would be able to fix that but I'm not sure where that's calculated at the moment - I could take a look.
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There should not be any benefit for forts inside the work area of a city! They do not provide any yields or commerces or at least they should not. I went through and got rid of the last of them. The only benefit is that forts, but not palisades, provide is the resources they are built on. This means they should only be built outside the work radius of a city.
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    They still add new abilities and those new abilities are being calculated into the value equation - like pumping out culture for example.
     
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I am not sure they are pumping out culture. I have had them overwhelmed by the culture of a city on another continent! Anyway adding any culture in the vicinity of a city should not be considered very important since that is the cities job.
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm certainly not saying I disagree... I'm pointing out the flaw in the evaluation mechanism. I'll see if I can do something about the AI on improvement placement that would affect that process.
     
  13. C2CPlayer

    C2CPlayer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    So here is my log, dump, and savegame, hopes this helps!
     

    Attached Files:

    • C2C.rar
      File size:
      3.8 MB
      Views:
      32
  14. Rodnok

    Rodnok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Prague, Holy Roman Empire
    Neanderthals never say die! This one is born when the first civ researched Alphabet, as the screen shows and most of them is past Copper working.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. alberts2

    alberts2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    From the xml it looks like they spawn until the year 10000BC.
     
  16. Rodnok

    Rodnok Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Prague, Holy Roman Empire
    Ah, strategyonly told it is about an era :) OK, thanks, we will find jobs for them in factories by that date.

    edit: and from what I found, they became extinct around 30,000 years ago.
     
  17. darkkhon

    darkkhon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    art error

    rev 7082

    'ART_DEF_UNIT_NATIVE_WARLORD_MEDIEVAL' was not found
     
  18. Hagbard Celine

    Hagbard Celine Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    After updating to SVN 7080 from some other SVN version between v33 and now (not sure which one exactly, was about a month ago I think), I can't load any of my old saves anymore, I just get a CTD without any kind of error report.
    But that's not enough, my old saves are also being completely destroyed. A save file that was supposed to be about 4MB is now only 56 bytes and contains nothing but the mod path.
    If I did this right all logs and the broken save should be in the attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,919
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There is a problem with all map signs. They disappear when a save is done. They use the script data to store the signs. Something has changed in the saving mechanism that is clearing this script data rather than saving it. Has any one on the dll side made changes to the save mechanism that may have caused this?

    The script data is the way Python stores information in the save for use in later sessions. There are many new uses we are going to be making of this data if we get time such as the priority for assigning specialists in cities.

    We either need to get the years right for early techs or we need to change the Spawn system to use game eras rather than years and switch from showing years to showing turns within era on the screen.
     
  20. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Bug reports regarding this started coming in around the time multi-maps were introduced - I'd thought it was a multi-map error. Koshling's looked into it and stated he wasn't sure how it was taking place. You may have just mentioned something he wasn't aware of but I have no idea where this stuff is handled on the dll side myself.
     

Share This Page