Single Player bugs and crashes v39 plus (SVN) - After the 20th of July 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    That would not explain why I get the combat odds when I attack the first unit in a stack but have to click on the terian and then back on the unit to get the combat odds for the next attack.
     
  2. irishhombre

    irishhombre King

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    673
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SSV Normandy SR-2
    Thanks Raxo, fixed the issue. Cold medicine and XML editing do not mix, need to remember that in the future.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  3. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,437
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Okay.
     
  4. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,826
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm almost certain the fix for this is in 11029.

    Will we get notifications here in future when a bug is fixed, or is that no longer the protocol?
     
  5. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    If the person fixing puts it in the description when they commit the fix then it will be in the changelog. You can see the latest changelog here or in the CHANGELOG.md file in the SVN root.
     
  6. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    Since 30-40 turns, ma game CTD every 8-10 turns...
    Last SVN, normal userSettings
     

    Attached Files:

    Esfera and billw2015 like this.
  7. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    I will look now.
     
  8. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    @LumenAngel Please also upload the minidump. You should find these in your Beyond the Sword directory:
    Spoiler :

    upload_2019-9-8_18-15-11.png


    I played 12 turns or so already on your save without problems.
    /edit
    Autoplayed 50 turns or so without a crash on the SVN branch, also manually clicked through a few. Only issue was the Python exception message that came up, but the game didn't crash from it. So I will put in a fix for that, but I need the crashdump to diagnose the problem you are having.

    On an unrelated note, how did you end up with 2000 turns of golden age?
    upload_2019-9-8_19-27-41.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  9. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    I got a python exception on screen which I haven't seen before (running in SVN):

    Code:
    [INFO] Reincarnating dead player
        BarbarianCiv.onBeginGameTurn
    
    18:20:47 TRACE: Error in BeginGameTurn event handler <bound method BarbarianCiv.onBeginGameTurn of <BarbarianCiv.BarbarianCiv instance at 0x6559D7D8>>
    18:20:47 TRACE: local variable 'civs' referenced before assignment
     
  10. Osk21

    Osk21 Barbarian Killer win Peace thru War!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Why is my "what would you like to build next?" not showing all available building and unit options?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    Golden Age when I have a GP + all wonders and traits that increase Golden Age :D it was more an experience than something else ^^'

    I put only the last one. If you want another one, no problem
     

    Attached Files:

  12. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    It is by design, see here.

    Hmm interesting. @JosEPh_II what you think? Seems like not a bug, but maybe an exploit?
     
  13. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,437
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    @billw2015,

    Lumen is playing on a Giant Map 132x88, is on Snail GS (12,000 turns) and has met 17 rivals. Is using flexible difficulty and is now on Deity level. But did not start on Deity. I suspect he started on Noble but he will have to verify that. Has 23 Of the 26 religions, and almost every Wonder that is available.

    I did not do a Re-Calc when I opened his save game. 2nd screen shot shows 1850 GA turns. GAs can be run consecutively, that is they are additive. Don't know How he got all these Wonders, he will need to answer that question. I have seen this before from players that Hoard the Wonders and are playing with Unlimited Wonders. But even Unlimited Wonders has a Limit, 16 per city iirc. Unless it has been modified by player.

    We do need to address this kind of exploitation of the Wonder system.

    @ Lumen Angel,
    You may have exceeded your Computer's capability to run this Big of a game. And since we do not have your Computer specs would you Please provide them?

    EDIT: T-brd's New Complex Traits adds to this particular problem as Lumen alluded to.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,437
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Well I think you broke it for your computer's capabilities.

    What Difficulty level did you atrt this game with? Noble?
     
  15. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    @LumenAngel
    Thanks, the crash is in the graphics driver and there is no usable information other than that in the minidump. Also you are actually one revision behind latest now, I pushed a new build this morning. I am going to try your save on the older revision, however I couldn't repo it on latest so it isn't that relevant.
    You might want to try getting latest revision, turning down graphics settings, monitoring your GPU memory usage.

    /edit
    Okay I had a look again, you are just running out of memory. I can crash your game just be scrolling around the whole map. I am going to start working on memory usage straight away, but I can guarantee any time scale.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  16. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,826
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Another thing that is proven to help (if you're willing to do it) is restarting the game every turn. My game was crashing every end turn, and that was back in Modern. Since restarting every turn, I'm now in Nanotech and have had maybe three (non-repeatable) crashes in that time.
     
  17. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,740
    Location:
    Poland
    There is no limit to wonders, if you play with unlimited wonders.
    This wonder count display always is here though.
     
  18. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,541
    Location:
    Norway
    I will look into it this week.
     
  19. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,740
    Location:
    Poland
    Billw already fixed that
     
  20. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,541
    Location:
    Norway
    Good.
     
    billw2015 likes this.

Share This Page