Smoking & Work

Zeekater

hasn't been using drugs
Recently, Belgian firms have admitted that they prefer non-smokers over smokers when they have to choose. Not hiring someone because he smokes is illegal here, but it can hardly be proven.
English firms write announcements like: "Smokers need not apply".
Dutch firms give smoking employees less vacation.

All these are based on a few things:
* smokers lose time while smoking, those 10 minutes twice a day cost them a lot of time on a yearly basis. (non-smokers of course don't take smoking pauses) :coffee:
* smokers are sick more often.

Do you think this is discrimination? Should firms be allowed to do this in your opinion?
:smoke: :smoke: :smoke: :smoke: :smoke:

It remember me 20 year ago when i went at imperial tobacco as a lab technicien student, i saw about everywhere sign on the wall saying '' thank you for smoking'' lol.

I would say that if i had a job interview i wouldnt smoke, just play the game and once hired, then you can show that you are a smoker. Today getting a job is like submiting yourself to insurence compagny policy and medical investigation ( you know , the one with the latex glove), a racing horse got more respect today then a ''miserable employee''.

I personally do not prefer employees who smoke. In my experience they tend to take longer breaks than non-smoking employees and feel the need to take breaks more often because of their need for a light.

However, a good worker is a good worker, whether he or she smokes or not.

If you really need a job, surely you can refrain from smoking for 8 hours or so. How would they know you smoke unless youre stupid enough to tell them in the interview?

I read somewhere that some smokers can end up being healthier in some aspects, and more alert than their desk-bound colleagues since they get out into the fresh air once in a while and give their brain a chance to think about other things.