1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

So cheat mode is back — good or bad?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Bluetooth, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. Sub

    Sub in omnia paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    600
    Wow, I didn't know cheat mode was coming back. That just made my day.

    Cheatmode was the only reason I stuck with and got good at Civ 2. I couldn't believe it wasn't in Civ 3.
     
  2. Phoenix_56721

    Phoenix_56721 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    594
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I cant wait to use this for testing, I could care less what the HOF says, personally I have never even looked at mine in Civ3. The ability to use this in-game (option) for testing is going to be great practice for MP games, which is what I will be playing mostly.
     
  3. minger

    minger Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    but you could save, use the cheat mode to see the locations of all other civs, then load , and not have an ugly "CHEAT" on the HOF
     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,078
    I certainly hope that it is fool-proof from a competition perspective. If its (say) just a 'editor used' flag, it might be able to be edited-out. :(

    Something like that could ruin competitions completely...
     
  5. bky1701

    bky1701 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    I definitely think it is a good thing. I am one of the people prone to building my good units (nukes, etc)
    right when the game ends (in my favor), with this I can make use of that nuke!
     
  6. Wardog

    Wardog Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Brazil
    No, I won´t use it. It makes the game boring and easy to win even in the hardest levels.
     
  7. Wardog

    Wardog Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Brazil
    No, I won't use it. It makes the game boring and easy to win even in the hardest levels.
     
  8. Daniel Jackson

    Daniel Jackson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    It doesn't matter for me. I don't use it to cheat since that kills all satisfaction, and don't make scenarios except when really, really bored. Those who do otherwise, though, might like it, and I certainly won't stand in the way of their fun. I just won't use it.
     
  9. mdm

    mdm Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    It's a great thing. The object of the game is to have fun, not to conduct serious business. If you need to alter the map or something to have fun, by all means, if you have fun with restrictions, go for it.

    The more options the better.
     
  10. Milan's Warrior

    Milan's Warrior Peacelord

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    621
    I agree, cheats were the best thing in Civ2 and I sorely missed them in Civ3.
    Any civ that double cross me, beware :p
     
  11. knupp715

    knupp715 King

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Central New York
    I think this is a good thing for mod makers so they can test their mods and for new players so they can learn how the game works. I might be tempted to use it, and I probably will every once and a while, but I like a challenge in my games and I don't think it will be as fun for me when I can just put an iron on a hill right next to my city instead of having a fun war with my neighbor to take the iron from them.

    I think somebody asked in the beginning of this thread if it can be used in multiplayer and no it can't. I'm glad for that.
     
  12. jimkirk

    jimkirk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    brooklyn, n.y.
    cheat mode is bad .. ugh
     
  13. Carver

    Carver King

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    USA
    More options is better than fewer. I think we're all strong enough to fight and win our games honestly, if that's what we want. But the world builder has its place. Of course you can use it as a direct cheat tool, but what if you've reached a certain 'era' and you want to have a massive war without the tedium and lost production of building unit after unit. Maybe you decide to give yourself, and the AIs some (or a lot) of extra units - that could be real fun. :)
     
  14. Roland Ehnström

    Roland Ehnström Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Norrtälje, Sweden
    I don't personally like that there is a cheat mode in the game. Now you'll say "So don't use it!" - and you can be sure that I won't. But just the fact that it is there does affect the immersion of the game slightly. It makes playing civ feel more like what it actually is: Just playing a game.

    But on the other hand, if many people want to be able to cheat the game, then I guess I can live with there being a cheat mode for them to use.

    -- Roland
     
  15. Belboz

    Belboz Necromancer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Interstel Corporate Headquarters
    Will the cheat mode allow us to see secret scenes such as those in Grand Theft Auto? My interest is entirely academic, of course. I really don't approve of that sort of thing.:D
     
  16. Dominus Romae

    Dominus Romae Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    256
    Well, that new cheat mode will be good for beginners. It will be not fun to use it in most of the epic games.
     
  17. osakki

    osakki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    I love the idea, It will be great if trying to recreate real world, It was very annoying to see that france built the pyramids and japan the kremlin when you wanted realism.
     

Share This Page