Some ideas for game mechanics

Eusebio

Chieftain
Sorry if I made any spelling or grammatical mistake, english isn't my mother language.
These are some ideas I was wondering if would be good (or even possible) to add for this mod. I'm not really good with programming, so I don't know what is and isn't feasible in Civilization IV. They're basically all about adding new mechanics to the game, and maybe they won't be that interesting in terms of gameplay, as they would add what might be seen as unnecessary challenges to the game (one of them could easily lead to some unfair situations), so this should be taken into account.

1 - Map Exploration Mechanics
This might be nitpicking from me, but I always thought it was weird that a civilization in the Prehistoric Era was able to 'map' it's entire continent before discovering the technologies necessary to do this. I think that, in the ealier Eras, you shouldn't be able to map the lands you discover (for a long time, Europe didn't have a clear idea of how Asia and Africa really were, for example). There are 3 kinds of tiles in terms of exploration: the unexplored ones, the dark spaces you haven't set foot yet; the visible spaces, those tiles inside your units and cities' fields of view, very bright, where you can spot other units; and the explored spaces, those you have seen in the past, but aren't currently being seen by any unit. In my opinion, there should be a mechanic where one given civilization, before discovering some specific techology (maybe "Exploration" in Ancient Era) shouldn't be able to get these explored spaces. Any tile that would become an explored tile should convert back to an unexplored one. You could still send your units to explore the lands if you wish, but given that all tiles will go back to the unexplored state once the units leave it, there's really not much of a point in doing so until your civilization reachs a certain level of development.

2 - Less Fragmented Empires