1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Soren Johnson's Old World

Discussion in 'Old World' started by Casworon, Apr 14, 2020.

  1. Silver Marmot

    Silver Marmot Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    At the start, I use a training family (champions/hunters/riders) to produce units. Their cities start with 10 training instead of 8, which means 6 turns to produce a warrior/slinger (60 training) instead of 8 turns. Champions family seat gets an extra +25% training, which means it starts at 12.5 training (15 with Rome). Once I research military drill I aim to have workers ready to build two barracks in the training city. They each give +2 training so together they boost the city from 10 to 14 training, which means about 4 turns per warrior/slinger.
     
    SammyKhalifa likes this.
  2. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    So, here's how it looks to me: whenever you put something in the build queue, there's a "Cost" requirement which you have to pay to start building, and then a "Build" requirement which reflects how much you have to generate per turn in that city until it's built.

    For a military unit, you have to pay an up-front cost that's some combination of food, metal, or wood, and then you pay Training each turn until it's built. So, to produce military units more quickly, you do things like build barrack and range improvements, or build a garrison so you can assign a governor with high Courage (since that stat yields Training per turn). My best city for military had a governor with +8 Courage. It was nice while it lasted.

    Note that some military building (strongholds, citadels) seem to actually penalize training. Which may make a sort of sense (their defensive capabilities consumes training resources) but it also sort of counter-intuitive in terms of player expectations.

    @Elhoim seems to have a firm handle on things, so perhaps he can confirm.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
    Elhoim likes this.
  3. Soren Johnson

    Soren Johnson Game Designer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    91
    Strongholds reduce Maintenance, not Training.
     
    Elhoim, Roald Amundsen and steveg700 like this.
  4. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    That helps to know. Thanks! I was very hesitant to build Strongholds and Citadels because it appeared that something red was being drained. I associate red with training.

    At least for us visually-impaired folks, it would really help if the default size of fonts and icons were larger, or at least adjustable. I have to play with my eyes inches from the screen sometimes.
     
  5. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    I just played a very unusual game as Babylon. I was kicking ass (by my standards) but I never had a single heir. Game over once I joined my wife in the afterlife.
     
    Roald Amundsen and steveg700 like this.
  6. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    Seems like when you have a spouse not producing heirs, you might need to..."do something" about them. Not sure if there's any way to actively arrange a new marriage with (ideally) a younger, more virile spouse.
     
    tedhebert likes this.
  7. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    There were never any offers. I got one instance of that 'estranged wife' event, and I chose to make time with her. Nothing.
     
  8. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    And you were an only child, or did you have brothers and sisters that didn't step up?
     
  9. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Only child, it was still with my founder. Side question, do you rotate through all your families for each new city? Or do you favor one or two? Thanks.
     
  10. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,039
    I pick families based purely on my short-term needs (which may not be a good strategy), i.e., what immediate benefits they provide.

    I do feel some obligation to rotate but that's because I take family happiness (and city happiness) way too seriously, which I think is attributable to playing Civ for so long. I rotate so as to limit the "Envy" of other families, and "Envy" can definitely climb fast, but should probably relax a little and focus on families I actually need. Esp when you have 150+ legitimacy then who cares.

    P.S. I am loving the subtle improvements they make each week.
     
  11. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    If I have a city that's going to be able to build mounted units, it's cut-and-dried that city is going to be from the militant family. And if that city is going to be enemy-buffering, I'm likewise going to prefer it to belong to a military family.

    What else is map-dependent? Your basic resources all go into a bucket for common use, so that generally won't drive decisions unless you have a family that favor rural specialists ("landowner" famiiles). If you have a merchant-oriented family, then I guess cities with access to luxuries will favor them. Not sure if there's ever a map-related reason to orient a particular city-site towards religion or science, so that leaves them filling in the city-sites that don't favor one of the other families.

    I also take family loyalty seriously, but I don't know how much it really matters. Then again, that's probably the Sim-City/Skylines player in me, trying to build an efficient, logical and farm.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
  12. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    I'm in the same boat. I think it's a holdover from playing Civ as well. What constitutes a family you 'need'? The founding one?

    What makes a city able to build mounted units? I thought any city could make them as long as you have the resources.
     
  13. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    The city has to have the mount in its borders. Can't say if you need them in pastures/camps or not. There's a law that will allow you to build the mounts in any city.
     
  14. Wildmick

    Wildmick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    re: training. I saw in a hint when reloading, its based on the training level, which i assume is increased when you start building barracks, watchtowers, citadels and the like. Its also probably influenced by family, research and laws, such as professional army

    re: ambitions. your primary ambitions are listed on the screen on the top right hand side next to your list of family members. When hovering your mouse over each family members, if they themselves have an ambition, it likewise will be listed, along with other facts (which reminds me i'll have to see if it lists thier fav luxury) I may need to click on the family members to inspect them more deeply

    re: families. I've noticed, that altho you start with a choice of 4 families, you can only ever pick 3 of the 4.. each of the families has a limit to the # of cities, usually a limit of 3, then i would assume extra cites would all be from your main family choice., but i'm not certain about that, as when i got to my 10th city, the other 2 weren't greyed out. However initally it says 0 of 3 in the tooltip.

    re: orders, I've learnt that having 4 scouts out exploring the world totallly kills your ability to have orders to do much of anything else except explore lol. Unfortunately can't go overboard looking for those goodie huts or city sites especially if u want to put a unit there to gaurd it. He can't get there if there are no orders left to move there.! Its a shame your explorers don't go up in level, learning perks such as more efficient order expenditure, or something.
     
  15. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Ah, I see. I thought ALL the resources were pooled.
     
  16. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    Well, their actual yield is an extra +.5 commands, so in that respect it is pooled.

    But the animals themselves don't seem to represent a resource that can be accumulated and traded.

    Speaking of which has anyone figured how or if luxuries can be traded for profit? I know they can be given away for diplomatic bonuses, but that's not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about playing a merchant empire strategy.

    I get that it's largely a moot strategy right now because it's so easy to generate money way in excess of any maintenance costs or, for that matter, things you can spend wealth on (rush-buying is a very gated option).
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
    riddleofsteel likes this.
  17. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Well I mean, if you are going to build the lumbermill/mine boosting city, you should put in the place with lots of woods. IF you build the camps/nets guy, same.
     
  18. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    That's generally what I've been doing, it's just a bummer to be desperately needing wood and not having a city or prospective city site with lots of trees for lumbermills. That means you have to try to multi-specialize your existing cities to make ends meet.
     
  19. steveg700

    steveg700 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,548
    Well, yes, Sammy, it would be tough to have a lumbermill city without woods. I think we can all agree that's rather axiomatic.

    Not sure if you got the context, but we were talking specifically about the factors that influence the choice of family when founding a city. I'm not sure if your reply ties into that in some way.

    Yeah, and without the lumber you may have a devil of a time capturing lumber cities. Cornstalks and rocks make for lousy bows.

    Maybe you can focus on money, then buy the wood. But wood tends to be way more expensive than the other resources.
     
  20. riddleofsteel

    riddleofsteel Office Linebacker

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the pub
    Oh for sure, I've noticed the steep prices! I got really lucky with a city FILLED with trees yesterday, and it made me think of how much of a drag it is to NOT have a city like that at times.
     

Share This Page