Spain

noto2

Emperor
So I just tried out the Spanish. I got a decent start in that I found 2 natural wonders before turn 25, for 1000 gold in the early game. I used that gold to rush purchase workers, settlers, and units to expand rapidly, and went up the liberty tree as well. I ended up with 8 cities by 0 AD, twice as many as everyone else. I then, of course, ran into happiness and money problems and tried to solve these problems by building wonders, and lost basically every single wonder race, and then fought a losing war.

So then I got thinking... the Spanish UA is like the liberty tree, you get tons of gold in the early game that can be used to rush out expansion. So... what if instead I had gone tradition? Then it would be like getting the best of both worlds. I'd have the capital boosting and wonder building ability of tradition, and the expansionary ability of liberty. I could have expanded at a decent rate AND built wonders at the same time.

I'm new to Civ5 and not yet used to the harsh penalties on expansion. In Civ4 it was much easier to expand rapidly in the early game if you knew what you were doing. I'm thinking going liberty AND rush-buying settlers at the same time was a bad idea...
thoughts?

Liberty is a good tree for early warfare. Otherwise, tradition is Uber power.

With 1000 gold, you can have an early 2 cities NC, then extend to 4. Limited factor is, in this case, hitting Philosophy fast.
Monarchy ensure you enough gold to sustain early expansion. Then as you growth your cities and connect them with a road, you'll have gold.

Civ V is a tall game. Wide is not really good unless you master all concepts and feel you'll have advantage with Liberty. On low level or if you have one or two cultural CS allies, you can try Mix Liberty/Tradition. Open tradition, then Liberty to collective rules, then end tradition (oracle help a lot).