Specialists settings

skyline5k

Warlord
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
110
Location
Shanghai, the Middle Kingdom
Been playing Civ 4 for quite sometime, and only recently have I noticed that on the city screen, you can select a specialist, and set it "up" or "down". The thing is, I have no idea what the setting means. Is that for automated populations, i.e. I let the city do as it pleases, but if I definitely want to keep two great scientists where they are, then I set them "down"?

Or is it nothing?
 

Tristan_C

Emperor
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
1,719
The + and - buttons? They force specialists when you're using the citizen governor. The citizen governor is definitely the least offensive of all Civ's automated features you can run, but you'll usually want to force specialists when you're beating tracks for a GP.

Play around with it in caste system or a big city to see how it works.
 

TCMIV

Barış Manço
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
314
Location
Oregon
I'm going to take a guess that you don't really know much about specialists in general, if this isn't true you can ignore this.

I took an example city and some screenshots to show how specialists work.

Here's a city in your empire (hypothetically):

Spoiler :


As you can see, it has a population of 7 and is working the 7 tiles outlined in white. Your citizens in the city are being automated currently. Now some of these tiles are unimproved, so you aren't getting much from them yet.

You may want to de-select these tiles in favor of running specialists with some of your population.


If you click on the tiles you don't want to work, it pops up citizen specialists on the right hand side of your city screen.

In this screenshot, I've taken 2 of your citizens off of the unimproved grassland tiles and turned them in to citizen specialists, which give +1 hammer to your city, each. You can see these guys in their white hats and shirts.

Spoiler :


Now you have these 2 citizen specialists, but they're not doing much good at 1 hammer each. Instead you may want to instead turn them in to another kind of specialist.

You can do this by clicking the [+] symbol next to another kind of specialist above the citizen specialists. Each time you click the [+] symbol on another kind of specialist, it will remove a citizen specialist and turn him in to the specialist you have chosen. If you press it more than 2 times in this case, it will also start removing citizens from the worked tiles in your city and turning them in to that specialist as well.

In this screenshot you can see I've turned the 2 regular citizen specialists in to scientist specialists.

Spoiler :


These scientists give you extra research as well as great scientist points, which will eventually generate a great person (always a scientist unless you have other factors adding great person points in this city, such as a world or natural wonder).

You can run more specialists if you have the buildings to do so (library allows the 2 scientists very early in the game), or if you're in the caste system civic, which allows you to turn as many citizens as you want in to merchants, scientists, and artists. Just remember that your specialists need 2 food each just like any other citizen, so if you select 2 scientists you are losing 4 food, which could starve your city if you don't have a surplus.

As you can see in my example, the city growth goes to "stagnant" because I had exactly 4 extra food, just enough to work 2 specialists without starving.

Hope this helps in some way :)
 

peppe1

Warlord
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
222
I think he is talking about the emphasize great people button where the other governor/automation buttons are.

With that down the governor will work tiles that let the city grow, but will prioritize working specialists vs most other tiles. The net effect is more specialists being assigned by the governor.

Emphasize great people and science and it should put mostly science specialists to work. Though it does have a little love affair with spy specialists :p
 

mail2345

Chieftain
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
26
Umm. I really hope that post is due to an awful browser hiding the above post, or a lack of "show posts posted before you post"(eg, person B posts while person A is typing up his, person A is told of B's post)
 

skyline5k

Warlord
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
110
Location
Shanghai, the Middle Kingdom
What I mean is on the city screen, if you turn a citizen into a scientist, and you click DIRECTLY on the scientist, (the head/shoulder guy icon itself, not the +/-) it "shrugs". Click it again, it "stands". All you see is the scientist's head/shoulders, but you can set him "up" or "down".

This is what I want to know. All I can think is that maybe with citizen automation turned on, it will keep those specialists no matter what the city chooses to do with the rest of the citizenry.
 
Top Bottom