1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

**SPOILER** Robi D vs Kuningas

Discussion in 'Team Aloha' started by Robi D, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Well this is the Nut House showdown you have all been waiting for. Two of Doughnutia's finest Presidents in a no holds barred 1 on 1 contest to the death! I've attached a screenshot of my starting position which all in all looks good so no complaints. The was a village NW of the city that got popped by the borders which gave me 39g. I've also decided to take advantage of starting with Mystism and am going for an early religion so to boost the border expansion and eliminate the chance of a surprise attack. After that AH will be a high priority so i can use the sheep (insert aussie/kiwi sheep joke here:) ) as will the military techs.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. robboo

    robboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Cajun Country
    do you always start with sheep...:)

    /sorry had to

    You are Saladain and who is kuningas.?

    I am updating teh ladder thread.
     
  3. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm Monte, Kuningas is the Mongols but i'm not sure which Khan
     
  4. robboo

    robboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Cajun Country
    OK man I am blind...

    What terrain mod is that..Yous looks different that n my terrain.
     
  5. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Tiny, pangea, tropical, with high sea level and its always war too.
     
  6. Black_Hole

    Black_Hole Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,424
    I believe he is using a lower graphics setting, which makes terrain look like that
     
  7. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I guess i didn't read the question properly, yes black hole you are right i'm using the minimum graphics setting. I like to play on big maps and my graphics card is on the older side so playing with minimum graphics stops the game slowing down quickly.
     
  8. robboo

    robboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Cajun Country
    Yeah I have to lower my graphics also on huge maps or large terran. But for some reason your loooked different

    I got my eye on a graphics card but I dont think its much of an upgrade..so I am waiting. I just spent all my fun money on a new lathe....my other addiction other than civ.
     
  9. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    Is it a 'quick' game? just you seem to be getting meditation really quickly-even with the flood plains being worked-unless its warlord level tech speed :p
     
  10. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Its on quick speed
     
  11. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Well i got meditation first so i have the extra culture. I went south with my scout who discovered it was a dead end just before a panther had him over for dinner. That left me with east or west as options but kuningas answered to question for me when his scout climbed the hill to my west. I'm nearly got my barracks finished so i'll get a few troops build before going for a second city. Any suggestions for a second city spot, there's a few options available
     

    Attached Files:

  12. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    i'd say you need a new city spot with a resource-horses/copper/iron it doesnt really matter which :)
     
  13. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm doing BW and IW after agriculture. At least with the aztecs i can start cranking jags out without copper or iron. I think an early jag rush will be my best option.
     
  14. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    Yup but you'll need copper to build spears to counter the keshik threat.
     
  15. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    The good thing for me is it will take some time to research horseback riding
     
  16. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    well it depends if he makes a beeline for it or not and he would probably go for it before iron (which takes the same amount of time)
     
  17. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    hmmm... HB still a little longer but i'll leave agriculture and switch to BW just to be sure. If there is copper near by i can go back to agriculture
     
  18. robboo

    robboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Cajun Country
    Too early to see where you shoudl put your city. Is there any food by the stones within a city radius. If there is and some more production tiles it could be good. If you get lucky...thats where copper will be.

    Your other option is to put a city between you and him. on that hill where his scout is. Hill bonus and city defense. Sort of a fort with production.
     
  19. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I found Kuningas, we are not very far apart. I've nearly got the copper hooked up. I haven't seen if kuningas has any. I've only seen warriors but i don't know if thats any indication. If not then it might give me a chance to axe rush him.

    @robboo, you can see how much difference the new graphics card makes:)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. robboo

    robboo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,123
    Location:
    Cajun Country
    dam you guys are close...this one should end quickly.
     

Share This Page