1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

SSS animation editor

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Utility Programs' started by Steph, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I have released a new version (0.21) of SSS, including the animation editor.

    See it here

    You can also go directly to the website (link in my sig) to download it.

    It is not aimed directly at CivIII, so it is not as usefull as SBB, but you can save the animation into a true color storyboard.

    You can use this tool to resize unit, and reduce the size of FLC, either because it cropped the frames, removing useless bakcground, or because you can remove frames (take 1/2, or 1/3, or select the starting / ending frame).

    Warning : as it crops the frames, they will not be centered! You need to use FLICSTER to edit the X,Y offset in the ini to recenter them
     
  2. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  3. Gogf

    Gogf Indescribable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    10,163
    Location:
    Plane Of Fish Sticks
    So this work with Civ3 unit FLCs?

    Great job Steph!
     
  4. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    not really, you need to export the storyboard as pcx, and then so save it as bitmap.
     
  5. Gogf

    Gogf Indescribable

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    10,163
    Location:
    Plane Of Fish Sticks
    Okay, but we know how to go from bitmap to FLC, so that's okay.

    THANK YOU STEPH!
     
  6. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Open the FLC with FLicster. Export to PCX.
    Open PCX with Paint Shop Pro (or other). Save as bmp (do not change anything else, the bmp MUST remain 256 colors, with the same palette as the PCX).

    Run SSS.exe. Cick on the bottom right bottom

    Double click on the first TextBox, it will open the OpenFile dialog. Select your bmp.

    Now, in the dropdown list, select the correct number of frames. Wait a bit for the processing of the file.

    Don't bother with the centering, its' useless if your goal is to produce a storyboard, it is used only for SSS animation.

    Change the zoom factor to your convenience. You can also change the start / end frame.

    Now, save the storyboard. Note the new width and height

    Open it with PaintShopPro, apply the initial palette (the bmp is true color, but it uses exactly the same colors as the original one).

    Now, go back to flicster, create a new flc, with the new width and height.

    Change the X,Y offset to get the correct centering.

    Remarks:
    - This animation editor crops the frame, so they are smaller, that's why you need to change the centering in Flicster.
    - When producing the storyboard, a background line is automatically added to the right and left, so you should never get the infamous "ghost pixels bug".
     
  7. TETurkhan

    TETurkhan Game Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Canada
    Me Like-ee!!

    Expect a barrage of questions in the coming months for me! :)
     
  8. Eliminator

    Eliminator Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    225
    hmm okee. This what I needed.

    Got a couple of questions.

    - Now, in the dropdown list, select the correct number of frames. Wait a bit for the processing of the file.!

    Dont understand this.....I can select 8 or 16 frames. in the preview u see things change. can u explane?

    - Now, go back to flicster, create a new flc, with the new width and height.

    Done all the previous things.....but this I dont understand. Cant understand how u change the pcx back to a FLC. help!
     
  9. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    It is not possible to know the number of frames from the storyboard only.

    So the program propose you a list of the possible nb of frames (ie (width of frame+1) x nb of frames +1 = width of storyboard. You then have to choose the correct one.

    For the flicster thnig : if you created a new animation with flicster, you can select the width and height of frames, nub of frames. It will generate a blank( or rather magenta) storyboard (pcx file). Replace it by another one (same size, same nb of frames), and you can convert it to FLC int flicster. See the flicster tutorial for more details
     
  10. KayEss

    KayEss Gone to the dogs

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Is this the utility I need in order to change the colours in a FLC or should I be using something else?

    I want to change the colours on some of the units and I guess I just need something that will let me adjust the palette.
     
  11. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Try CyberDreik CivFLc editor
    with this you can export the palette and change it
     
  12. KayEss

    KayEss Gone to the dogs

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Thanks, I'll take a look at it
     

Share This Page