1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Star Wars: Dreadnaught (1/17/06)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by jobiwan7, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. jobiwan7

    jobiwan7 Jedi Scholar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    A hut on some swampy planet
    Here's another capital ship, used by just about everyone. The Dreadnaught: old, but effective.

    Preview: (the lasers are easier to see in-game)

    Download the Dreadnaught.
     
  2. odintheking

    odintheking Lighting the way...

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,588
    Location:
    Stickin it to the man
    WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *gasp* !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    Looks good.
    Civ coloration is nice. Easy to see without looking out of place.
    Good flicker on the engine glow.
    The size seems good.
    The unit detailing is nice.
    The attack is ok. Suggestion, have the lasers go a little closer to the edge of your frame. Also, the outlined/two-tone lasers look just a bit funny. Maybe go with a brighter single color?
     
  4. jobiwan7

    jobiwan7 Jedi Scholar

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    A hut on some swampy planet
    The lasers look better in-game. The outside color is actually a shadow color, so it gives it a nice, darker "halo." Also, if I would move the target closer to the edges of the frame, I think the ship would be shooting too far, and not at another ship.
     
  5. Quinzy

    Quinzy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    cool. this is a great unit. it does look better in-game :)
     
  6. Deth McBones

    Deth McBones The Inconsistent Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    543
    Location:
    COLLEGE
    :bump:
    Sorry for the bump, but mid-size space ships are hard to come by.This unit doesn't work ingame for me. Is the file corrupted? Or is it a sinister plot? When I try to put it in-game, the whole game freezes before I can see the Dreadnought. I have to ctrl-alt-delete to get out. Actually, the Old Cruiser, also by jobiwan7, does the exact same thing. Why?
     
  7. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias Civ3 Modding Archivist

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,194
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    Jobiwan - Any chance you might be convinced to make a (hopefully small amount of work) conversion of this into a seagoing SEV?

    Best,

    Oz
     
  8. Deth McBones

    Deth McBones The Inconsistent Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    543
    Location:
    COLLEGE
    Hey, sorry to bother anybody, but i just know realized that none of Jobiwan7's ships are working on my compy. They all cause it to crash. Does anyone else have this problem? This is pretty basic, so it's probably something really little. I would really appreciate it, since jobi has some really good capital ships that I could use.
     
  9. Deth McBones

    Deth McBones The Inconsistent Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    543
    Location:
    COLLEGE
    Wait, wait I got it now. Found another of jobiwan7s unit threads, and somebody said that all you had to do was open up all the anims in flicster. Error message comes up, click yes, and Bam! problem solved. May this remain to help anybody else with problems.
     

Share This Page