Start from Play Now testing phase

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
Yeah, the new update didn't come over clean. Even down to dynamicnames_england has a red mark.
1) This is unrelated to what we are talking about.
2) Did you manually edit this file?
 

BigSchwartzzz

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 15, 2019
Messages
55
I didn't do anything out of ordinary. Git pull and that's it. Only thing I can think of is delete all the problematic individual entities and repull it. Figured if he had a problem with the newest-patch and I had a different problem altogether but with the same newest-patch there might be some sort of relationship or overlap between the two issues. I have no idea if that would be the case but figured it'd be worth mentioning as a possible clue to his issue.
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
If you make local changes, there will be conflicts when pulling from git.
 

BigSchwartzzz

Chieftain
Joined
Jun 15, 2019
Messages
55
The only thing I ever touch in the code is hiding python exceptions and that's far outside the RFCD folder. And the newest pull lit that folder up like a Christmas Tree.
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
I cannot remote diagnose how you made that happen. If you are not familiar with git, the easiest way to recover from your error is to clone the repository again.
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
That's no bueno either, with the MapParser.py change or not. Is the problem exclusive to the Steam version?
Had a different idea that might work if you don't mind trying. What happens if you open the RFC_3000BC.txt file with Notepad++, use Edit -> EOL conversion -> Windows, and then try to load the 3000 BC scenario?
 

black213

Emperor
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
1,678
Had a different idea that might work if you don't mind trying. What happens if you open the RFC_3000BC.txt file with Notepad++, use Edit -> EOL conversion -> Windows, and then try to load the 3000 BC scenario?
3000BC file was already in Windows format. I tried it for the 600AD one but it made no difference, still just closes the game.
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
:/
 

borhap88

Prince
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
554
Location
Italy
I've had the same issues (All 3000BC games start with some python exceptions and generate a flat map of grassland. Starting 600AD instead just closes the game) with Windows 10 as well. I give up for now, I'll try in the near future.
I'm on Windows 11 and playing the Steam version of Civ4 (rolled back to a prior version which was recommended somewhere here on the DoC forums).
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
How did you get the files from git? Using a git client, or by downloading a zip file? (Question for both of you)
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
Interesting. I will see what happens when I do this on my end.

If you're open to it, you can try the git client. This one is pretty easy to install on windows: https://git-scm.com/download/win
 

Leoreth

Vampire of the Blue Moon
Moderator
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
35,992
Location
Paris
That's great to know! Narrows the number of possible explanations, and hopefully will not affect the eventual installer. I would still like to keep the option to download via zip available, so I am going to look into this some more.
 
Top Bottom