1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Starting Bias

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by bcaiko, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. bcaiko

    bcaiko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I know the Starting Bias causes certain Civs to begin near certain terrain types (i.e., Iroquois near forest), but does it also currently cause Civs to be biased to be near other certain Civs (like Asian Civs more likely to be near each other)?

    I'm sure this has already been answered, but I couldn't find a thread using search. Thanks in advance for humoring me.
     
  2. Rowzdower

    Rowzdower Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    good question but I dont think certain civs are more likely to be placed next to certain civs. Unless someone more knowledgable knows more than I.
     
  3. Brichals

    Brichals Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Berlin, D
    Is there a button like "Allow culturally linked starts"? That is what you are referring to, and it was possible in Civ3 and/or Civ4. I think it might be possible in Civ5, but it's not start bias I think, it should be another check box.
     
  4. vexing

    vexing knows

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,668
    nope.

    england, ottoman, polynesia: ocean
    arabia: desert
    aztec: jungle
    india: grass
    iroquois: forest
    russia: tundra
    mongol: plains
     
  5. Oohforf

    Oohforf Praise loud, blame soft.

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    In that corrupted Ontario south.
    Umm, I don't think this is the case with civs themselves.

    I once had China and Japan across the world from each other, but in one game I had them literally right beside each other.
     
  6. Keejus

    Keejus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Denmark
    Also,

    Denmark: Ocean
    Inca: Hills
    Egypt: Non-forest/Jungle
     
  7. The Judgemental

    The Judgemental Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Perth
    What is rome's start bias, i've seen them start near desert quite a bit
     
  8. Misterboy

    Misterboy Modern Major General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    My last Iroquoi game, my capital didn't have a single forest tile in it's entire radius, even after fully expanding. There was quite a bit of forest in the general area. But I only built a longhouse in 2 cities. Hrmph. Still won on Emperor with the new patch, so I guess I shouldn't complain.

    I just wonder how much the start bias is ...well... biased.
     
  9. Keejus

    Keejus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Denmark
    Not all civs have a start bias. I think all of them were mentioned; America used to have a river bias, but it was removed in the patch.

    To my knowledge, when a world is generated, it's split into regions. Some are hilly, some are plains, etcetera. I don't know the specifics of a region, but it doesn't mean that all the tiles in the region are of the specific type, which mostly shows with Aztec, Iroquois and especially Russia in my experience, who may not start near any of their tiles, though there will be some close by. If a map is created without your specific region, you will just start near one of the appropriate tiles.

    Ocean bias just puts you on a coast, though you may get stuck on an inland sea, I think.
     
  10. dayfax

    dayfax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    California
    I've wondered about this too. I've started standard and large earth maps as England and been placed in the center of Europe/Asia (basically, where Moscow is in the real world). On these maps, that's about as far as an ocean as you can get.
     
  11. Lose

    Lose King

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    does anyone know the starting bias of each civ? they dont have them listed in the game -_-

    Moderator Action: Merged into existing thread.
     
  12. vexing

    vexing knows

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,668
    there are notes in the map generation lua script about this... basically it looks to see if there's a feasible spot for each leader in the map, and if not it tries to get something similar. also there's something in the handicaps xml about starting locations, i'm not sure what, but for the player it gets lower as difficulty increases. i'm not sure if this makes it less likely the players start bias will be hit or something else.
     
  13. bcaiko

    bcaiko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Is England not biased for Ocean? That'd be very silly, considering their unique ability.

    So, it sounds like the Starting Bias does not bias you toward being placed near certain Civs?
     
  14. Keejus

    Keejus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's in addition to vexing's list. England, Denmark, Polynesia and Ottomans all have the ocean bias.
     
  15. fmlizard2

    fmlizard2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    424
    Anecdotally I can say that Spain tends to have a Ocean bias, Siam tends to bias toward Jungle, and Babylon tends toward Desert. I've seen all of those rules break, but it seems to happen more often than not.
     
  16. Keejus

    Keejus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Denmark
    The actual biases are somewhere in the xmls, though, and only a few civs have them.

    EDIT: Oh. Conveniently, someone bumped an old topic on the matter, and it seems I was mistaken. Spain does indeed have an ocean bias, and Siam has a non-forest bias.

    Additionally, Songhai has a non-tundra bias.

    That should be all of them, though
     

Share This Page