1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Starting Bias

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Underdog Ally, Jun 22, 2019.

  1. Underdog Ally

    Underdog Ally Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    I can’t seem to find any information on this other than Civ5 and 6. Does anyone know if there is a geographical starting bias for any civilizations in Civ4 ? I remember to start by tundra often when I play as Russia. I have no idea if this is a coincidence, or if and what other starting biases may be for other civilizations.
     
  2. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    Gender:
    Male
    Not to my knowledge, though if there is I don't think it's enough of a bias to meaningfully influence your starting position over factors like map type and climate. I've personally rolled a lot of maps as Cathy, and temperate Inland Sea maps give me something like a 2:1 ratio of floodplains galore to visible tundra starts.
     
  3. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,529
    Seems to me there is some kind of bias ..at least for standard maps. However, I don't know the code behind any of this and it doesn't always seem standard. For some reason, every time I roll the Greeks they start near tundra. Maybe it has more to do with starting techs that civilization or leader.
     
  4. djdazi180

    djdazi180 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Agree with lymond. If one starts with Hunting, they may start near Hunting resources? Which are ofc mainly generated in cold regions. Although I'm interested to know more if this has substance to it.
     
  5. Windsor

    Windsor Flawless

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Location:
    Norway
    AFAIK there's no starting bias in Civ4. Difficulty level should influence it, nothing else.
     
  6. BornInCantaloup

    BornInCantaloup Agent of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,005
    Location:
    Cantaloupe Island
    I always seem to spawn Montezuma in the jungle. I don't know why, maybe it's the colour.
    There used to be an excellent guide on this topic. Colour analysis of the different civilizations and why Hammurabi should have been green (not purple ! green best civs) and why obv Catherine is the worst backstabber and Ragnar is blue ... but I can't remember where it is :dunno: :help:
     
  7. Kaitzilla

    Kaitzilla Lord Croissant

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,349
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    America!
    As far as I know, every player/AI big capital city (big fat cross) starts with 3 hills (minimum) and a food resource.

    None of the civs get anything special though.
    Russia is just as likely as Aztecs to get jungle or tundra.

    Some map types DO have a geographical starting bias depending on where in the order the civ is placed in the game creation window.
    Oasis is a big offender.
    The human player and odd number civs start in the south (#3, #5, #7 etc.)
    Even number civs start in the north. (#2, #4, #6)
    There are other map types that also have a semi-random bias, but only Civ 4 Hall of Fame people really care.
     
  8. BornInCantaloup

    BornInCantaloup Agent of Chaos

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,005
    Location:
    Cantaloupe Island
    You mean you're not sure, right ? Because I sure seem to have noticed some odd stuff...
    And it would only make sense if the bias present in Civilization 6 and 5 had been preserved in Civilization 4, ain't I right ?
     
    sampsa likes this.

Share This Page