1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Starting new game - Info

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Game of Democracy III' started by Duke of Marlbrough, Mar 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    The game thread has been started over.

    Please copy any posts you may have made in this thread to the new thread.
     
  2. Octavian X

    Octavian X is not a pipe.

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,428
    Location:
    deceiving people with images
    Double settlers, good... Bronze working, that'll appease military...

    I think, though, that the game's creator has screwed up a few names.

    Well, let this be the start of the glourious Commonwealth of Fanatican Cities! Long Live the Empire! Long Live Empress Jayne! (and don't forget Vice-Emperor Octavian. :p)
     
  3. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    And good luck in this one! :D
     
  4. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Since the 'official' name was too long to be entered into the game, the acronym CFC was used instead; just as it was in the last Demo Game we had. It definately seemed better than 'Commom Fanatican Cities'.
     
  5. Leowind

    Leowind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    And we're off!!:jump: [dance] :jump:

    Umm...shouldn't it be "Empire of CFC" Dictator something-or-other? :confused: Doesn't matter, the game is begun, and an interesting starting position. This is a random map, correct?
     
  6. Andu Indorin

    Andu Indorin Retired Druid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Colorado Spgs, CO
    In about 6000 years or so, I see a major ski resort due north of our starting position. This should give me plenty time to wax the skis for that double diamond run.:goodjob:
     
  7. Elsaak

    Elsaak European und Réunionnais

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Alsace !
    So,.... which displacement would we propose to our Great Empress...?

    go NW W S to the hut for one
    E and look around for founding REGIA FANATICA for the other

    what's yours opinions ?
     
  8. Jayne

    Jayne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,070
    Location:
    Worcs UK
    Greetings loyal subject!!! :queen::lol:

    I plan to play on Saturday (or Friday if we are ready) and I will play 5 turns.

    I need my advisors to gather the following information and post here by Friday evening:

    Shall we pop the hut before settling?
    Shall we build the capital where we are or explore?
    Where shall we move the settlers? Where do we explore first?
    If we build a capital, what do we build?
    What tax rate?
    What research?
    Do we keep the second settler to improve unsupported, or build another town?

    I think we should pop the hut and hopefully get a NONE unit to explore with. I think we should go one square east before settling - we'd still have the fish, but not the swamp. Maybe the settler not hut-popping should build a road where it stands then go east to settle when the hut is popped.
     
  9. CivGeneral

    CivGeneral Valkyrie Cybernetic Grand General

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,489
    Location:
    Solitude, United Systems of Nova Terra
    Excelent, I see we already have Bronze Working :). I strongly recoment settling there. Its much to risky to pop that Goodie Hut. It might hold Barbarians in there. We should use the second settler as a "Worker" unit, building roads Irrugating, and mining.
    And what to build in the city, First we should build two warriors and a Phialinx (sp).
     
  10. Elsaak

    Elsaak European und Réunionnais

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Alsace !
    I prefer try to pop and get a NONE before settling.
    The E location is good for me too, but I would like to see Eastern before...

    For the second settler, after poping (in 3 turns), he may : or coming back to improve land, or go have a look Western if the hut give something else than an unit.
     
  11. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,176
    Location:
    Canada
    You can't get barbarians in the first few turns or if the hut is in the radius of a city, so I think we should go pop the hut and explore a bit to look for a good city spot.

    We should build cities with both settlers so as to get to monarchy ASAP

    edit: Is the game saved in 2.42?
     
  12. DvR

    DvR ½ man, ½ amazing

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Woohoo, we're off :D

    Heil to the Dictator

    And i agree, pop the hut before founding the city
     
  13. Jayne

    Jayne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,070
    Location:
    Worcs UK
    I don't think you get barbs for the first 16 turns so we are quite safe to pop the hut. I'd rather do it before settling so if we get a unit it will be a NONE.

    I think to begin with I'd build a phalanx to defend the city, then a warrior to explore.
     
  14. Shahadet

    Shahadet Naga Guardian

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Naga Akasha
    I think some people are being too careful. We should expand hard and fast! Although I am not an adivisor I belive it is my civil duty to help our glourious leader make the right decisions for a prosperous future. :D

    I recommend settling the city right away, its not that bad a site at all and the swamps can easily be delt with in the middle game. The second settler should move to the shielded grassland and make a road. Then it should continue north or west to search for a new city site. The sooner we have two cities the sooner we can have four. If we did not found a city and went for the hut then we are going to be giving away four turns of research towards our science goal. Four turns of research for something that may not even produce a unit. I have found it to be unneccasary to build phalanxes early on in the game. Instead build one to two warriors for exploration before switching to a settler. A warrior can always be recalled for martial law duties. Thats about all I can suggest at such an early stage.
     
  15. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    How come everyone else seem to have downloaded the game, when I can't even see anything?:confused:
     
  16. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    Sorry, I can see the pics now. Opera must have screwed something up...:)
    Well, we should definitely pop the hut, and preferably before we found our capital.
    Do we know the pattern from the picture? Or is it too little info?

    It depends a bit on what the hut gives us.
    If it's a unit, we'll need one less explorer/defender, if not we'll have to build another explorer/defender in one of our cities.
    I usually just send out one explorer, which end up being more after some huts are popped. One defender is also necessary in each city, especially because of unhappiness. So...

    Hut--> unit: --each city-->one warrior-->settler
    Hut-->no unit: --one city-->one warrior-->settler --other city--> two warriors-->settler

    Any objections?
     
  17. funxus

    funxus Orange Cycloptic Blob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Where you wish to be!
    I found a special/hut-pattern map:


    According to this map, it seems as if the square NW of the hut (in our map) is at least a 3-special and maybe even a 4-special spot.
    That square is also connected to water, so if the terrain is decent, maybe it could be a good place for a capital or a second city?
     
  18. Jayne

    Jayne Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,070
    Location:
    Worcs UK
    Well, if we're going to pop the hut first, when the settler is over there we will have more of an idea if there are any more specials. If there is, then we are in the right place to settle. At the same time, the other settler moving a square or two east may also reveal specials.

    As I said, I plan to move 5 turns, but I could stop at 3 or 4 if I think we find a good city site (or two) so we can discuss/vote on settling :D
     
  19. naervod

    naervod My current user title

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,327
    Location:
    San Francisco
    As the Foreign Affairs Advisor, I think we should pop the hut. As for the city, I really don't know, because I think the File Server is down. If someone could email me the image at XXXbingitz2002@yahoo.comXXX (between x's) that would be good.
     
  20. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    I sent a new game to Jayne with the correct names. I don't think I could stand the game always referring to us as the Romans. Sorry for the mess-up in my haste.

    In addition to that the file server is not working too smoothly right now, so the pictures can't be updated as of yet. We did get another free tech out of starting over though. We now have Bronze working and Alphabet.

    I'll start a new thread once the files can be uploaded.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page