Starvation

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by wgene, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. wgene

    wgene Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    In one city i have Starvation and i have no tiles for food. What can i do to stop the starvation considering i have no food tiles in that city.
     
  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    How can you have no food tiles? Why did you found a city there?
     
  3. Smokeybear

    Smokeybear Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    US
    If you founded a city in a spot with no food tiles, do not pass go, retire from game, start over. That's one of the first basics you learn in CiV- don't build a city in a place where it can't support itself.

    Disclaimer: There may be rare situations, once you are much more experienced, when you might build a city in a place with little food for strategic reasons. You aren't there yet.
     
  4. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Where did you found the city?? CiV is probably the easiest game to gather some kind food production together, I thought, seeing that even on a barren piece of land the capital tile always has something to give...

    Even in the middle of a desert, most of the time there are flood plains, oases, or something close enough by to help. Similar goes for tundra tiles.
     
  5. Alchemind

    Alchemind Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    You searched around, found a spot with no food tiles and you said, ... "You know, ... that sounds like a nice spot to settle ..."


    Edit: Hahaha, omg, ... Okay, I make a challenge for you all: Read the entire OP's post out loud and try to smile or laugh. It took me about 3 times.

    Moderator Action: We don't want to have such troll posts around. Please post in a more civil manner.
     
  6. wgene

    wgene Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    The found city isn't a problem and has plenty of food it is another city i am having problems with.
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Another city? That you didn't found with a settler? Where did you get that city? Did you conquer someone else's city?

    Would like to be helpful, but you need to provide more complete details. Screeenshots or a save file would help.
     
  8. wgene

    wgene Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    No i didn't conquer a city it was a city i had setup with a settler. I have about 15 cities.
     
  9. Trik

    Trik Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    You make no sense but whatever. Start producing settlers from the city that is starving, that will stop you from losing pop. Then purchase/build food providing buildings like the granary, watermill or maritime cs's.
     
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    ^ Agree.

    But I'm still confused why you settled a city in a place with no food tiles. Were you trying to grab some scarce strategic resource? When founding a city, access to luxuries and strategics is good reason for founding a city, and defensibility of the city is important, but food is critical. Cities die wthout food. Never lose your focus on food.
     
  11. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    The best spot for no food is right on the north/south edge of the map with ice and snow and most of your city hexes missing because they would be off the edge of the world. :D
     
  12. Alchemind

    Alchemind Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    You're all being trolled.
     
  13. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,497
    Yeah, when i fiund some lands there (and not just ice and water), i like founding a city in such place.
    Then, i gift it to my worst ennemy, i think you can guess what i do next :viking:
     
  14. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,045
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    Considering a city can't starve without having some food to grow in the first place, probably yes.

    However, it's possible OP lost a maritime CS ally.
     
  15. wgene

    wgene Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    I wasn't able to resolve the issue so i started a new game.
     
  16. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,659
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Why? That was uneccessary...

    Could've just built the whole line of Food productionb buildings (Granary).
     
  17. mdl5000

    mdl5000 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    383
    I would've liked to have seen a screenshot. This doesn't make much sense.
     
  18. Denounced

    Denounced Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    London
    I'm in a similar crisis. I conquered the CS Bucharest, then Germany liberated it. I took it again from Germany but strangely I only own the city tile. The rest of its borders still belong to Germany. The city starves, my unit was trapped so I deleted it and the Germans now occupy the borders as a forward operating base. Its very frustrating and I've never seen this happen before. Could it be because I'm playing on a mac and we haven't got the fall patch yet?
     
  19. wgene

    wgene Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    I had all those buildings.
     

Share This Page