Steam Offline Mode

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Charybdis, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. Charybdis

    Charybdis Scion Doomgiver

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Australia
    Looking for a bit of help as hopefully someone has some experience with this.

    Last couple of days I've had some net outages in my area due to fans blowing up in the exchange (yay summer), so I went to play some civ5 to pass the time.

    I went to steam and set it to offline mode, then tried to run civ, but no dice. Steam seized and I had to try to restart it, but everytime I did it would alert that it was running in offline mode, then fail to load due to an inability to connect to the net.

    When I rebooted my PC same issue.

    Now am I missing a step somewhere so that if my net does go down I can continue to play civ5, or am I just plain getting screwed?
     
  2. Fariic

    Fariic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Redownload steam.
    The game should run just fine with steam in offline. If steam freezes when you try then it sounds like something wrong with your copy of steam.

    You could also check that you have steam updated. Valve releases updates to steam on a pretty regular basis.
     
  3. mattavich

    mattavich Civ5 Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    England
    this happened to me recently.

    From what i know, you need to select "offline" before going offline to make it work :/
     
  4. cman2010

    cman2010 King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    this should fix the problem.
     
  5. Selous

    Selous King

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    aussi
    correct and confirmed ... sometimes u will get lucky if u are cut off, but basically u need to be able to get online to set it up for offline (10 sec and u are done ... :sad: )
     
  6. duckmanbro

    duckmanbro Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Sydney, Aus
    Having just moved to a new house, I am having similar issues, as I have yet to connect any type of internet service.

    What happens to me is if Steam cannot detect a network connection, it will ask you to launch in "Offline Mode", after about a few minutes or so. I didn't try to launch Steam as it seemed to freak out a little...
     
  7. Selous

    Selous King

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    aussi
    nothing terrible will happen if you try to launch steam, but there is a chance u cant play till u get some net (at least to set steam up in offline mode)

    another way to play your games (last time i tried this it worked fine) is to launch your game from the directory ... goto program files/steam/steamapps/common/game you want to play

    something to keep in mind before you go traveling and may not have net, to put steam into offline mode
     
  8. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    You don't need to put Steam into offline mode first while you still have internet, you just need to go into settings and tell ti to remember your log in stuff and then once it finishes checking for (and failing to find) a connection click launch in offline mode and viola, there are your games.
     
  9. Selous

    Selous King

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    aussi
    this does not always work ... i travel around with work and get caught out without net far to often, have been caught out without being able to play any of my games for weeks on end
     
  10. Anthropoid

    Anthropoid Grognard fantome

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Location:
    USA
    Does not sound very convenient or predictable. Part of why I refuse to patronize Steam.
     
  11. cman2010

    cman2010 King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    740
    This is why so many people dislike steam, I personaly have not run into any problems but I hear alot of complaints about steam in general.
     
  12. Selous

    Selous King

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    aussi
    i applaud your stand! i am making one myself in regard to ubisoft drm, the extra services that steam (and to a lesser extent "impulse") provide, are a good tradeoff to run their software ... imo off course :)
     
  13. Samuil

    Samuil Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Macedonia
    I was out of internet last week for a few days, I managed to play in offline mode with no problem :confused:
     
  14. Anthropoid

    Anthropoid Grognard fantome

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    821
    Location:
    USA
    It is not like it heroic or something. There are plenty of games to play that do not require Steam. Indeed, there are distributors that seem to offer most of the main consumer advantages without the intrusive inconvenience. Gamersgate for example. When I run out of Steamless options and am feeling an unscratchable itch, I might then consider buying a Steam (or other DRM game). But until then, my reservations about their services and business practices win out and I do not buy their games, including ones that I would have otherwise happily have bought (Fallout NV; Civ5). Yes, despite Civ's rocky launch, I still would've bought it simply as an act of support to the series. Making it Steam only was the straw.
     
  15. code9

    code9 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    I was also unable to get steam to work in offline mode, but i didn't try connecting, then choosing offline, then disconnecting. Thanks for the tip, i will try it out.
     
  16. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,237
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    If you're expecting to suddenly play offline then the most important thing is that you tick the box that saves your user/pass so you login automatically. It saves fiddling at the start of play and also coincidentally readies you for offline mode without needing to go online.
     
  17. Truthy

    Truthy Chatbot

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,199
    Go into "offline mode".
     

Share This Page