1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Steam server is too busy on 26th 8 am GMT

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by V. Soma, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. V. Soma

    V. Soma CFC Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    Hungary
    Yesterday I played civ5 OK (patched to "17")
    Today I can't start...

    OK, I try re-install...
    ...but server is busy...

    eh, I believe I am not alone with problems...?

    But how come Steam is not prepared to hande users?
    It handles major games, I suppose, with LOTS of costumers...

    I am sad and angry, too
     
  2. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you're playing SP, go to off-line mode and only go on-line when a new patch has been confirmed?
     
  3. V. Soma

    V. Soma CFC Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    Hungary
    first I need a working install, which I still can't re-produce... :(
     
  4. Lord Ainsbirth

    Lord Ainsbirth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Farallon del Cuervo
    Hi, I have the same problem... after I installed the game, it doesn't start: I think it's because the Steam servers, as I have passed all the requiriments...
     
  5. BrainEater5000

    BrainEater5000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Texas
    There was a small update that was downloaded yesterday for Civ V for me. I don't know what it was. The server is probably overloaded on Steam.

    To fix this, go to steam's settings and then click on the "downloads + cloud" tab. Then select a different server from the download region drop-down box. It may be best to pick a server in a different time zone than your previous server to avoid peak loads. I hope this helps.
     

Share This Page