1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Storywriting 101

Discussion in 'Arts & Entertainment' started by Kyriakos, Feb 18, 2012.

1. Kyriakos

Kyriakos Alien spiral maker

Possibly this is not a very good idea, but i thought that maybe a few people would be interested in such a thread. As a professional ( well, published at least :( ) writer, i could give some insight to prospective writers. I am by no means an expert, and in reality i end up practicing usually a number of motifs myself, but i can answer most general questions and a few more specific ones on the art.

So, ask away if you feel like it :)

2. Tahuti

Tahuti Writing Deity

Do you write plot-outlines before you actually start writing, or are plots devised on the fly? I actually asked this question to a friend (and fellow writer) and we both concluded that we usually preferred the latter.

3. Kyriakos

I only write short stories now days (and almost never wrote anything larger). If possible (90% of the time) i finish them in one go. For that i have the general idea in my head, along with the ending and beginning. After than i just sink inside the world of the story and see where it takes me. :)

4. Antilogic

Antilogic --

If you are writing scifi/fantasy/some other atypical setting, do you prefer having expository chapters that establish whatever rules you have created for your world, a dummy who keeps asking questions to give you an excuse to write about said rules, or do you prefer all-out immersion and letting the readers figure it out as they go along?

5. Kyriakos